AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Your Favorite?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/01/2004 10:47 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/01/2004 10:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SDB100
Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 01/31/2004

Gah, gotta love doing computer upgrades. You can read reviews and stats all day long, but it really doesnt give you a "true" idea of a particular components performance. In researching my future AMD64 3400+ system, im hitting some roadblocks. Im torn between the ASUS K8V and the MSI K8T Neo boards. Honestly, from all the reviews ive read, they are both good boards. Ive heard that the MSI board has a heat problem on some of its' components. But overall, the board rates pretty good.

On the other hand, the ASUS is rated as a top notch board, but ive read problems with the RLZ 0333 capacitors (which supposedly have been fixed now), some people saying that there is a problem with WinXP not recognizing SATA hard drives. The memory spec says: 3x DIMM for DDR400/333/266(ECC). Not sure if this means the ASUS board requires ECC and/or registered memory or if it will use non ECC/unbuffered memory equally efficiently, or is it saying it requires ECC if using 266Mhz RAM?

Like i said, you can read reviews and tests all day long, but different people find different pros/cons for every board/component that is tested. Just looking for some input on what YOUR experience is with these boards to help me make my decision.

When looking over the memory compatibility for this board on ASUS' site, they listed only a few brands of memory. I was strongly considering Corsair PC3200 or Mushkin P3200 ram, but they weren't listed. Is it always best to go with the motherboard "suggested" or "tested" ram, or will the Corsair/Mushkin ram work just fine in this motherboard? Second choice is, obviously, Kingston (which was on their approved list). Basically, im looking at getting the very best memory, with an affordable price. After building my system up, im not going to have much budget for ram sticks that cost $120 each. The $80-$90 ram chips are more in my price range, and there are a couple Kingston and Mushkin and even Corsair chips that are PC3200 512MB in that price range.
 02/02/2004 12:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SDB100
Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 01/31/2004

ACK...ive been reading over the tech support forums here at AMD. There are ALOT of posts with people having problems with the ASUS K8V motherboard, but have yet to see one problem with the MSI K8T Neo. Im starting to wonder if the ASUS board has some conflicts with the AMD64 cpus and the ram used with them, or if it's all just user error.
 02/02/2004 02:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hydro
Member

Posts: 171
Joined: 12/25/2003

Heh, I got KV8 Asus, and I haven't had a single problem, Asus is one of the best companies that make chipsets, definetly go with them =]

-------------------------

- That's me in the picture during the siege of Qatar
 02/02/2004 02:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

I'm also an ASUS man. Every company runs into problems. As far as I know, ASUS has the capacitor problem resolved.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 02/02/2004 02:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rokken 4 Dokken
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/29/2004

i have an asus k8v deluxe its awesome
 02/02/2004 03:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JBurns
Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 02/01/2004

I just made the same decision you are faced with, and chose the MSI K8T-F2R. That is the entry level version of the FIS2R that has no firewire or southbridge RAID controller, and costs less

Here's a very thorough review (long read, get a hot drink) of 8 diffrent socket 754 mobo's that may help you make your decision, K8V and K8T included:

http://www6.tomshardware.com/m...rd/2...1201/index.html' ">http://www6.tomshardware.com/m...rd/20031201/index.html

As soon as I get my system burned in, I'll let everyone here know how it went.

-------------------------
Athlon64 3000+@800Mhz-2.2Ghz (C.Q. & D.O.) w/Alpha8150 & Tt2 HSF (AS5) | 1x512Mb PC3500 Mushkin Black Lv.1 (2-3-3-11@200-220 Mhz FSB) | Sapphire Radeon 9800pro | 1xWD Raptor 36 gig SATA | MSI K8T-FSR w/Vantec NB HSF (AS5) | Aspire mini-server case w/4x80mm and 1x92mm
 02/02/2004 03:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SDB100
Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 01/31/2004

ive been leaning toward the ASUS board all along, and it's probably the one im going to buy, now I just need to figure out which ram i need. If you buy a 2.5CAS ram, can you set to CAS3 in bios and it will operate at that speed or is the CAS hard coded in the memory chips and will always run at that speed?

also, will the stock hs/f be efficient enough at heat dissipation or do I need to order something a bit stronger from an outside source? From what AMD says, thermal compound (such as Artic silver) is not suggested (though ive used it in the past 3 computers) i guess i'll go with the thermal pad this time.
 02/02/2004 03:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

You can, but it's recommended that you go with CAS 2 memory for the Athlon 64. The Athlon 64 doesn't like high latencies. As far as the stock HSF is concerned, if you're not overclocking it's more than adequate. And for the Athlon 64, AMD actually recommends thermal grease. Pads/phase change material are recommended for the Athlon XP.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 02/02/2004 11:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SDB100
Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 01/31/2004

So, AMD64 likes the CAS2 ram. *the plot thickens--chuckle*. On the Approved RAM list for the ASUS K8V, it lists the kingston 512 modules.....which are CAS3. Ive not seen a CAS2 module yet, the closest i've seen is the CAS2.5.

*grumble*

So, memory choices go back to:

Micron
Infineon
Kingston
Samsung
Hynix
Mushkin
Crucial
 02/02/2004 12:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
infiltrator
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4334
Joined: 10/08/2003

I agree with Ardrid, every mobo company has it's problem. MSI had problems (which they fixed asap with v1.1 of BIOS) - but that was a BIOS problem. ASUS has always been good - but I think the capacitor and BIOS problems I've been reading here for the last 2/3 months make the ASUS one of those 'wait a bit and see' choice (esp with problems - counted 3 peeps with probs so far in Athlon 64 troubleshooting section). They HAVE had good products in the past, but this is pretty serious 'problem', but supposedly ASUS are not the only ones with these capacitor problems. Before the incident I though ASUS was very good, a top class mobo vendor. Unfortunately 1 mistake can be very damaging to a vendor.

MSI made a stuff up on their KT4V range and luckily recovered and I'm sure ASUS will get out of this. To me it's good if a company stuffs up and makes it through - cause we get better products cause it drives them more

I think it's down to how reliable they have been for those who use them - Some people would support them through this (which is noble) and perhaps they are lucky enough to have no problems with their systems.

I'm a MSI fan, because I have used them for a while. I don't look for what an overclocker looks for - and I think people look for different things.

If I wanted serious overclocking ASUS/ABIT/NFI would be my choice
For features, I would go MSI (and NFI seems to be good here too - although only recently been reading up on these).

As far as reliaility goes, BOTH are good - no one is better than the other.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/02/2004 12:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brian128
Senior Member

Posts: 2644
Joined: 11/06/2003

I have an asus K8V deluxe and its working pretty nice.. it definately has memory it likes and memory it hates. but other than that its a nice board.

-------------------------
 02/07/2004 12:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JBurns
Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 02/01/2004

Just got my system built, and the MSI K8T mobo is pretty good, although a bit lacking for me because I went with a third party HSF combo (Alpha/Vantec thermally controlled 80mm).

The cool & quiet / dynamic overclocking only works with the AMD stock HSF. Too bad because that was one of the main reasons for this purchase. Still, I'm running 215 FSB stable with some overhead, so all is not lost. I just need to get a fixed high flow CPU fan now.

-------------------------
Athlon64 3000+@800Mhz-2.2Ghz (C.Q. & D.O.) w/Alpha8150 & Tt2 HSF (AS5) | 1x512Mb PC3500 Mushkin Black Lv.1 (2-3-3-11@200-220 Mhz FSB) | Sapphire Radeon 9800pro | 1xWD Raptor 36 gig SATA | MSI K8T-FSR w/Vantec NB HSF (AS5) | Aspire mini-server case w/4x80mm and 1x92mm
 02/07/2004 01:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cypher
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 11/10/2003

Definitely Asus.

-------------------------
AMD64 Platform - “True innovation makes the greatest possible technology available to the widest possible audience.
True innovation is not just bigger and better, but is measured by its availability and relevance to end users.”


[嵐] AMD.com' ">http://www.amd.com/ [嵐]
 02/07/2004 02:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jsgolfman
Member

Posts: 130
Joined: 01/28/2004

MSI.

-------------------------
May the road rise up to meet you,
May the wind be always at your back,
May the sun shine warm upon your face,
And the rains fall soft upon your fields.
And, until we meet again,
May God hold you in the palm of his hand.

 02/08/2004 08:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sake
Member

Posts: 83
Joined: 10/06/2003

No experience with Asus K8V.

My MSI K8T NEO has been fast and 100% stable
WinXP32 / WinXP64 / Longhorn 64

-------------------------
AMD Athlon64 X2 Dual-Core and AMD Turion Mobile Technology entered the building
 02/08/2004 01:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MG37221
Senior Member

Posts: 232
Joined: 02/08/2004

I'm on my second Asus A7NX8 Deluxe MB. XP-3200 and remain disappointed with quality and stability. I've had better luck with MSI and have an MSI K8T with a A64-3200 on order as I write thie. I suspect that going from an XP3200 to an A64-3200 probably won't enhance my performance too noticeably in 32-bit but my stability should increase tremendously. MSI & A64 here I come!

Present system:
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
AXP-3200 on air with Thermalright SLK-800 & Vantec Tornado
1GB Corsair (1 512MB + 2 256MB) PC-3500C2
ATI 9700Pro AIW
2 Seagate 120 SATA
1 WD 200 IDE
1 MSI CDR/RW
1 NED DVD
1 250 Zip
Lian Li 65-B
Antec True Power 550

I'll be glad to get back to MSI.
 02/08/2004 06:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
infiltrator
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4334
Joined: 10/08/2003

QUOTE (JBurns @ Feb 7 2004, 05:42 AM) Just got my system built, and the MSI K8T mobo is pretty good, although a bit lacking for me because I went with a third party HSF combo (Alpha/Vantec thermally controlled 80mm).

The cool & quiet / dynamic overclocking only works with the AMD stock HSF. Too bad because that was one of the main reasons for this purchase. Still, I'm running 215 FSB stable with some overhead, so all is not lost. I just need to get a fixed high flow CPU fan now.
Cool and Quiet works with my MSI and Zalman Cooler My drive speeds seemed funny at times so I'm leaving it off to see if its better. I don't think the Cool and Quiet feature is stock HSF specific. As long as it has the 3 pin white Fan connector - it should be fine

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/08/2004 10:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JBurns
Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 02/01/2004

Yeah, I just got mine fixed today, I stupidly had the CPU fan power connected to the powersource instead of the mobo. I thought the single yellow (RPM sensing) wire from the fan was enough to change the RPMs, but realized that if the mobo is to change the current for the fan, it needs to supply the power as well (red/black wires).

All is well, I love MSI again.

edit-

Forgot to mention I bought a Thermaltake SmartfanII, and that changes RPM automatically scaling to the CPU frequency (Vantecs fan did not). Although it does work, you won't want a rheostat or a thermal diode connected to the fan as those can throw off the RPM (too much input).

-------------------------
Athlon64 3000+@800Mhz-2.2Ghz (C.Q. & D.O.) w/Alpha8150 & Tt2 HSF (AS5) | 1x512Mb PC3500 Mushkin Black Lv.1 (2-3-3-11@200-220 Mhz FSB) | Sapphire Radeon 9800pro | 1xWD Raptor 36 gig SATA | MSI K8T-FSR w/Vantec NB HSF (AS5) | Aspire mini-server case w/4x80mm and 1x92mm
 02/09/2004 01:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Flash
Member

Posts: 51
Joined: 12/21/2003

Hello, My experience with Asus. Got all my stuff togeather assembled and got message" System failed CPU test". So I RMA'ed the CPU and bought Asus approved ram. Got it all back togeather and same message. I took the board out and it would run on a card board box. So I put it back in with insulationg washers.
It ran for a while and then simply rebooting I got the "system failed CPU test". I had read abought the bad capacitors on line and they were the ones my board had. I RMA'ed the board and just last week got a replacement. The new one works perfect. I'm very happy with it. But I'm still a bit peeved by all the hassles I went through.
 02/09/2004 06:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xgoon
Member

Posts: 42
Joined: 01/18/2004

I slept with my computer last night guys(I love it) ....................................JUST KIDDING,LOL!!!

-------------------------
amd 64 3000+
msi k8t neo fis2r
1x512mb corsair xms pc-3200c2pt(2-3-3-6)
evga geforce fx 5900se
maxtor 40 gig 7200 rpm 2 meg cache
antec super lanboy with antec 350 smartpower
pioneer 16x dvd-rom
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information