Topic Title: Your Favorite?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/01/2004 10:47 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/09/2004 01:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HomeBoy

I can definitely say that I have had many more problems with MSI boards than with ASUS. I have been building PCs in one capacity or another for nearly 20 years. Over that period of time I have done the usual reading of the reviews, buying and experimenting, building for business use, building for home use etc. I would gladly spend more money for an ASUS board because I have consistently been impressed with their boards. I am not saying ASUS is perfect but as fas as reliability is concerned, they have been the best by far. I have also tried other boards during my time and there are only a couple that I would never buy again (at least at this point in my career

MSI is one that I refuse to buy ever again. Problems that have caused me to think this way? More frequent BIOS related issues, inferior hardware design (I have had more MSI boards blow capacitors than any other board I have bought), poor documentation (multiple times where I have had a series of boards that were shipped with absolutely wrong information in the documentation) just to name a few.

I am sure that there are others who may feel differently. This is just my opinion based on personal experience. ASUS has been the best board manufacturer I have used over the years. :-)
 02/09/2004 05:35 PM

Author Icon
xgoon

the msi k8t neo is definately a exception,it is truly a wonderful motherboard.

-------------------------
amd 64 3000+
msi k8t neo fis2r
1x512mb corsair xms pc-3200c2pt(2-3-3-6)
evga geforce fx 5900se
maxtor 40 gig 7200 rpm 2 meg cache
antec super lanboy with antec 350 smartpower
pioneer 16x dvd-rom
 02/10/2004 05:14 AM