AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Is it worth it?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/04/2004 10:46 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/04/2004 10:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
`ki11im
Member

Posts: 71
Joined: 12/03/2004

Hi, im about to order a AMD64 3500 s939. My question is, do you guys think its really worth the extra 50 or 60 bucks to the the winchester core over the new castle? Would it be a noticeable difference or just a few points on some benchmark? Also, will i need to get an aftermarker heatsink and fan because ive heard the stock ones do pretty good at keeping it cool. Im not going to be over clocking, i just want a good machine thats gonna last me a loong while. Thanks..

-------------------------
DFI LanParty UT Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Platinum El Rev-2
GIGABYTE 7800GT
Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000SWA
Viewsonic vx924
SB Audigy 2 ZS Gamer
(now) 80gb wd80gb ide
(was) 80gb maxtor 80gb ide
 12/04/2004 10:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ninjastyle
Senior Member

Posts: 15287
Joined: 03/26/2004

I'd get the Winchester without a second thought. The AMD heatsink is fine for stock speeds or small-ish overclocks. And overclocking is where the Winchester core shines -- lower temps = better OC's. If that's no use to you, stick with the retail heatsink, it works well. You may as well use the pre-attached thermal pad too (rather than adding your own thermal compound), then you won't void your warranty. About the difference -- I can guarantee you won't see any visual difference between a game running on a Newcastle and a Winchester.
 12/04/2004 11:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bvchurch
Senior Member

Posts: 8655
Joined: 06/24/2004

If you dont want to spend $300 for the Winchester core of the 3500 you can spend $ 200, thats right two hundred, on a Winchester core 3200.
 12/04/2004 11:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DonRamon
Member

Posts: 168
Joined: 10/06/2003

I just ordered yesterday a winchester 3200+(retail)/Msi K8N Neo2Plat/1gig(512x2) crucial ddr pc4000.. I will let you how well it overclocks on tuesday or so
 12/04/2004 11:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zaxon
Senior Member

Posts: 598
Joined: 10/29/2004

QUOTE (`ki11im @ Dec 4 2004, 07:46 AM)My question is, do you guys think its really worth the extra 50 or 60 bucks to the the winchester core over the new castle? Would it be a noticeable difference or just a few points on some benchmark?
The diffs are too small, maybe 5%, but I say worths the money for future upgrade ability.

-------------------------
Athlon64 3400+ 2.43GHz(754)Newcastle-(BigTyphoon4000/AS5)-MSI K8N Neo Platinum nForce3
KingstonValueRam 2x512MB DDR400 CL3-3-3-8(1T)-------------------------------------~3070MB/s
Sapphire X1950Pro 512MB AGPx8 core624MHz mem1404MHz--Cat.v7.2-3DMrk05/06 9026/4367
Seagate Barracuda 2x250GB 8MB SATAII(RAID-0)-------Maxtor 2x80GB 8MB SATA150(RAID 0)
Creative SB Audigy2 ZS 7.1-----------------------------------Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 92W RMS
 12/04/2004 12:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ninjastyle
Senior Member

Posts: 15287
Joined: 03/26/2004

What difference does upgradability make when both cores are for socket 939?

 12/04/2004 12:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

I say get the winchester core, because there is a slight improvement clock per clock over the newcastle. Not much...but still...more bang for the buck. It runs cooler....sucks up less power, so if you have other parts that are stressful, and require more power...they will have it. And, they overclock easier than newcastles. Thats not saying Newcastles are bad overclockers. They are great overclockers. But, on my Stock HSF, my 3200+ Winchester reached 2.56ghz Overclock. From a stock 2.0ghz. On a stock AMD cooler. If that aint sweet.....what is?

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 12/04/2004 12:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SLaY3r
Senior Member

Posts: 3793
Joined: 03/17/2004

QUOTE (LVSeminole @ Dec 4 2004, 11:24 AM) If that aint sweet.....what is?


A 3200 Winchester w/ ATI X800 XT PE

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of AMD, OCZ, or ATI
"bv, if Mormons were real, you'd be one" - SDA
 12/04/2004 12:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DonRamon
Member

Posts: 168
Joined: 10/06/2003

LVS did you use the standard stuff that came with the heatsink being thermalpad or paste? I didn't order a new HS for mine.. I just picked up some as5 for it.
 12/04/2004 12:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

Don, just the normal stuff. Gonna wait a bit before I put some AS5 and another HSF on it.

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 12/04/2004 12:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ninjastyle
Senior Member

Posts: 15287
Joined: 03/26/2004

Wow LVS, that's an impressive OC on the stock HS/F and thermal pad!

 12/04/2004 12:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QuakindudeASWP
Senior Member

Posts: 303
Joined: 05/25/2004

I had my Winchester core 3500 at 2430mhz on the stock HSF. Temps never rose above 52c. I did use AS5 though. I can push the CPU higher, but have yet to figure out all the settings for everything. Still experimenting. This Neo2 board has so many features and options for O/C'ing, I have to get used to it.

-------------------------
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
AMD A64 X2 4800+ w/ Zalman CNPS9500LED 46C max temps at 100% load.
Corsair XMS 2Gb Ram
eVGA 7800GS CO 256MB and 20.1" VP201B LCD
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Gamer w/ Logitech Z5300 Spkrs
2xWD SATA 16mg cache 7200rpm 250gig Hard Drives in RAID 0
1xMaxtor ATA133 8mg cache 7200rpm 80 gig Hard Drive
Lite-On 16X DVD Dual Drive w/ Lightscribe, Lite-On 52X32X52X16
Enermax Chakra case w/ Ultra X-Connect 500w P/S
 12/04/2004 02:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nwo
Senior Member

Posts: 2510
Joined: 11/06/2004

I vote for winchester because it's 90nm so it runs cooler, faster, and overclocks better
 12/04/2004 02:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sambjo
Senior Member

Posts: 1905
Joined: 03/31/2004

Winchester would be the better option if you can afford the extra cash for it.

-------------------------
General discussion on IRC @ irc.protium.org / #forums.amd.irc ::: Folding for 34106

A64 2800 @ 2.2GHz | eVGA 6800 - NVS5 | VNF3-250 | TG-480 | ThermalTake Tsunami | Hitachi 7K250 | WD800JB
 12/04/2004 03:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DonRamon
Member

Posts: 168
Joined: 10/06/2003

meh.. I just wanna hit 2.5ghz stable and I will be set for 2years.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information