AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Memory for Asus K8V Deluxe
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/13/2004 08:36 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/13/2004 08:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
:::====={XX}
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 01/07/2004

What type of memory do I need for the Asus K8V Deluxe mb
Does it have to be SDRAM I was thingking of getting TWINX 1024-3200LLPRO is this what I need or somthing else like what do you guys use for your AMD 64 Asus K8V mb?????
 01/13/2004 09:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

The most recommended, and probably used, memory for the K8V is DDR400. The brand typically tends to be Corsair's XMS LL series. Basically, you're picking the right stuff

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 01/14/2004 01:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jtb
Member

Posts: 41
Joined: 01/04/2004

I have Corsair XMS 3200LLPT Twin X (DDR400)

-------------------------
AMD 64 3200+
Asus K8V Deluxe
1.5 GB of Cosair XMS DDR 400 3200LLPT
2x WD SATA Raptor 36GB
ATI 9800 Pro 128MB
SB Audigy 2 ZS
Lian-li 65
550w Antec True Power
XP Pro
 01/14/2004 04:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zx6r
Member

Posts: 32
Joined: 12/15/2003

me also
 01/15/2004 05:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
infiltrator
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4334
Joined: 10/08/2003

same here - although I got another mobo As long as it's PC3200, Low Latency and CL2 (and a popular brand) - you should have no probs running it on any Athlon 64 mobo.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 01/16/2004 03:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jackalope29
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/10/2004

What does CL2, CL2.5, CL3 etc mean? I live in Japan and cannot find the same brands of memory but I do see the CL2-3 spec next to memory.

I am about to upgrade to the 64 with the ASUS K8V Deluxe MB and am wondering about RAM myself.

Cheers
 01/16/2004 03:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

CL refers to the CAS latency of the memory. The lower the better. That's obviously the simplest definition. If you're looking for something with a bit more depth, you can check this out:

http://www.mushkin.com/mushkin/pop-up/latencies.htm' ">http://www.mushkin.com/mushkin/pop-up/latencies.htm
http://www.lostcircuits.com/memory/dimms3.shtml' ">http://www.lostcircuits.com/memory/dimms3.shtml

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 01/16/2004 08:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brian128
Senior Member

Posts: 2644
Joined: 11/06/2003

I have 1GB of Mushkin black level 2 PC3500 memory, works great after bumping the voltage up some. Been running flawlessly

-------------------------
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information