AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Memory requirements Athlon-64 vs Athlon-XP
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/07/2004 01:17 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/07/2004 01:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gomanthak
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/07/2004

I have newbie question on relative memory requirements for an AMD-64 machine versus an AMD-XP machine.

Does a 32-bit application (running on a 32-bit OS) require twice the memory on Athlon-64 machine compared to the memory it requires on Athlon-XP (for doing the exact same computational work)?

For example, let's say, MS Excel running under 32-bit Windows XP on the 32-bit Athlon-XP platform takes 100MB of RAM for opening a document. Now, does MS Excel running under 32-bit Windows XP on the 64-bit Athlon-64 platform need 200MB RAM for opening the exact same document?

(Background: I believe, on many unix machines, the 32-bit compatability mode on a 64-bit machine effectively ignores half the available memory to accommodate a 32-bit app. I am trying to verify if that's the behavior with the 32-bit mode of Athlon-64 or if it can utilize the memory in a better fashion.)

Appreciate any pointers on this.

Thanks. - Dev
 12/07/2004 12:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aelfwyne
Member

Posts: 37
Joined: 12/07/2004

I'm not an expert - but I'm pretty sure this is definitely not the case.

The Athlon-64 fully supports 32 bit mode in the chip, wheras many previous 64 bit processors had to emulate it in software, which could be the cause of the memory issue to which you refer.
 12/07/2004 12:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE Does a 32-bit application (running on a 32-bit OS) require twice the memory on Athlon-64 machine compared to the memory it requires on Athlon-XP (for doing the exact same computational work)?
NO.

Your processor's type does not affect any given application's memory-requirements.
The Athlon 64 processor will natively run 32-bit Operating Systems and applications, just like any other normal 32-bit processor (e.g. Athlon XP, Sempron, Pentium 4).
It is capable of running a 64-bit O/S and apps and it is also capable of addressing more than 4GB of memory, however, using an Athlon 64 processor does NOT require you to use 64-bit software and it does NOT require you to use more memory for existing 32-bit apps either.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information