AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: dual channel
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/08/2004 11:38 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/08/2004 11:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
peenuts220
Senior Member

Posts: 971
Joined: 06/24/2004

this may sound stupid but does the asus k8v se deluxe and a 754 cpu for that matter support dual channel memory

-------------------------
Athlon X2 3800+ @ 2400mhz
Asus A8N Sli Deluxe | Crucial Ballistix 1gig PC4000
eVGA 6600GT PCIe @ 561/1070 | Hitachi Deskstar 160 gig SATA II
Thermaltake Tsunami | Epower Puma II
Westinghouse 17" widescreen lcd
Macbook (black) 2.0ghz core duo, 1 gig ram, 80 gig hd, superdrive
 08/08/2004 11:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

No. Socket 754 processors are single-channel only.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 08/09/2004 04:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

Remember that the Athlon 64 processor has an on-die(i.e. it's integrated right into the processor itself) Memory-controller.
Consequently, it depends on the processor itself, NOT the motherboard what type or configuration, i.e. 64 or 128-bit(or single channel/'dual-channel' if you prefer) of memory is supported - on an Athlon 64-platform, the motherboard or chipset is completely irrelevant regarding this question.

Like Ardrid said, ALL Socket 754 processors(including mobile parts and Socket 754 Semprons) have a 64-bit, single-channel memory-controller.

A 128-bit, 'dual-channel' memory-controller is available on Socket 939(Athlon 64/Athlon 64 FX) and Socket 940(Athlon 64 FX/Opteron) processors - Socket 940 processors require registered memory.

Refer to the Athlon 64 Product datasheet' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/asset...nd_tech_docs/24659.PDF for a quick overview or the Functional datasheet' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/asset...nd_tech_docs/31410.pdf for the 754-pin package, section 2.4.2, for more detailed info

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information