AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: CAN YOU EXPLAIN?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/28/2004 09:41 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/28/2004 09:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zx6r
Member

Posts: 32
Joined: 12/15/2003

hi there got my new rig up and running new mobo ram and cpu fitted and alls well ( new asus xt9800 on way ).
i have set the fsb to 218 and its running great even with my old card still in it a ti 4600 i can see a big difference in 3d mark 03 .
I have also set the cas setting to 2 in the bios but i am not sure what to set the other settings under cas to (they are currently on auto ) can someone plz tell me what is the best settings to set them at or should i leave well alone ?
i am running a 1Gbyte twinX matched pair of corsair XMS 1024-3200c2pt
on a asus sk8v board and a FX 51 cpu .
cheers zx
 01/29/2004 12:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pro Kid
Senior Member

Posts: 5241
Joined: 10/08/2003

With your corsair you should be able to run it at 2-2-2-5 stock. At your current speed I'm not too sure though. This may help you out a little.
http://corsairmicro.com/corsai...ts/t...ch/trg-cas.html' ">http://corsairmicro.com/corsai...ucts/tech/trg-cas.html

-------------------------
Life is hard you know this $hit gets taxin,
Thats why when ya find me Ima be relaxin...
 01/29/2004 06:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ricjax99
Senior Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (Pro Kid @ Jan 28 2004, 09:19 PM) With your corsair you should be able to run it at 2-2-2-5 stock. At your current speed I'm not too sure though. This may help you out a little.
http://corsairmicro.com/corsai...ts/t...ch/trg-cas.html' ">http://corsairmicro.com/corsai...ucts/tech/trg-cas.html
ONLY if its says v1.1 somewhere on the hologram otherwise its 2-3-3-6

Is the system running how you want it in terms of performance?

If the answer is yes it brings me to the expression, "if it ain't broke don't fix it"

-------------------------
...regards teh' ricjax99
' ">http://tinyurl.com/25lp4
[Team CPUCITY | Air Cooled] 3DMark 2001 SE = 22299' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7793456 | AM3 = <a href=
 01/30/2004 03:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pro Kid
Senior Member

Posts: 5241
Joined: 10/08/2003

As far as I know corsair can easily do 2-2-2-5 at DDR400. 2-3-3-6 is just its conservative SPD settings.

-------------------------
Life is hard you know this $hit gets taxin,
Thats why when ya find me Ima be relaxin...
 01/30/2004 03:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

Corsair's XMS LL DDR400 is actually rated to work at 2-3-2-6. The only company I've seen show 2-2-2-5 out of the box is Mushkin and they even manage to do that with PC3500.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 01/30/2004 10:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zx6r
Member

Posts: 32
Joined: 12/15/2003

hi can u give an example of fast memory setting compared to a slow setting and explain what these settings mean ?
 01/30/2004 11:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ricjax99
Senior Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (Pro Kid @ Jan 30 2004, 12:05 AM) As far as I know corsair can easily do 2-2-2-5 at DDR400.  2-3-3-6 is just its conservative SPD settings.
Pro kid your lack of experience on this is clear.

Corsair based their XMS3200 on various different IC modules.

BH-5: rated at 400 MHz 2-2-2-6 @2.5/2.6V (v1.1 XMS / TWINX)
CH-5: rated at 400 MHz 2-3-2-6 @2.5/2.6V (v1.2+ TWINX LL)
CH-6: rated at 400 MHz 2-3-3-6 @2.5/2.6V (v1.2+ XMS C2)

BH5 IC's are no longer in production and corsairs supply has now dried up. Thier last BH-5 IC's were used up in thier XMS3500C2 memory. Which now no longer has BH-5 chips.

There are new modules named BH-6 on the market at the moment rated at 400 MHz 2-2-2-6 @2.5/2.6V, however i have no idea whether corsair are using them. I know mushkin are however.

The problem with CH-5 and CH-6 is they can't run stable with a RAS-to-CAS of 2 and henceforth have to resort to 3. This doesn't have a massive impact on performance but it's obviously not as good as 2.

You can get it to run at 2-2-2-6 but you would have to give CH-5 over 3.0V to achieve it with day to day stability.

Hope that clears things up

-------------------------
...regards teh' ricjax99
' ">http://tinyurl.com/25lp4
[Team CPUCITY | Air Cooled] 3DMark 2001 SE = 22299' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7793456 | AM3 = <a href=
 01/30/2004 03:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zx6r
Member

Posts: 32
Joined: 12/15/2003

cheers 99
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information