AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Which 939 cpus supported?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/17/2006 02:28 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/17/2006 02:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZZTOPP
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/17/2006

I have just purchased a ECS K8T890-A motherboard, 939 pin. The pdf file states that it supports K8 AMD
cpus, but which ones? Single or dual core? It will support 64 FX, but what about other dual core 939 cpus?
This will be my first build, so I'm a noob at this. I don't plan on any extreme gaming, beyond EA's "Generals"
and the like. Mostly music, movies and photos. Extensive web-surfing. Any help?
 10/17/2006 02:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ltator
Member

Posts: 38
Joined: 10/03/2006

CPU Support list by Model
Model: K8T890-A
Chipset: VIA® K8T890 & VT8237R
PCB Version: V1.0A

BIOS Version: V1.x

Processor Processor info.
(Cache, System Bus*, Pkg) Status
AMD Athlon 64 FX FX-60 (Rev.E6) 2600MHz (2MB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 FX FX-57 (Rev.E4) 2800MHz (1MB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 FX FX-55 (Rev.E4) 2600Mhz (1MB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 FX FX-55 (Rev.CG) 2600MHz (1M,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 FX FX-53 2400Mhz (1M,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800+ (E6) 2400MHz (2MB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4600+ (E4) 2400MHz (1MB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4400+ (E6) 2200MHz (2MB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4200+ (E4) 2200MHz (1MB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 3800+ (E4) 2000MHz (1MB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 4000+ (Rev.E6) 2400MHz (1MB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 4000+ (Rev.E4) 4000+ (1MB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 4000+ (Rev.CG) 4000+ (1MB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (Rev.E3) 3800+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (Rev.CG) 3800+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ (Rev.E6) 2200MHz (1MB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ (Rev.E4 ) 3700+ (1MB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Rev.E6) 3500+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Rev.E4) 2200MHz (512KB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Rev.E3) 3500+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Rev.D0) 3500+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Rev.CG) 3500+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3400+ (Rev.CG) 3400+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (Rev.E6) 3200+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (Rev.E4) 2000MHz (512KB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (Rev.E3) 3200+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (Rev.D0) 3200+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (Rev.CG) 3200+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Rev.E6) 3000+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Rev.E3) 3000+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Rev.D0) 3000+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Rev.CG) 3000+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Sempron 3400+ 64bit (Rev.E6) 3400+ (256KB,,Socket 939) YES
AMD Sempron 3200+ 64bit (Rev.E6) 3200+ (256KB,,Socket 939) YES
AMD Sempron 3200+ (Rev.E3) 3200+ (256KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Sempron 3000+ (Rev.E3) 3000+ (128KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
 10/17/2006 03:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZZTOPP
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/17/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Ltator
CPU Support list by Model
Model: K8T890-A
Chipset: VIA® K8T890 & VT8237R
PCB Version: V1.0A

BIOS Version: V1.x

Processor Processor info.
(Cache, System Bus*, Pkg) Status
AMD Athlon 64 FX FX-60 (Rev.E6) 2600MHz (2MB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 FX FX-57 (Rev.E4) 2800MHz (1MB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 FX FX-55 (Rev.E4) 2600Mhz (1MB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 FX FX-55 (Rev.CG) 2600MHz (1M,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 FX FX-53 2400Mhz (1M,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800+ (E6) 2400MHz (2MB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4600+ (E4) 2400MHz (1MB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4400+ (E6) 2200MHz (2MB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4200+ (E4) 2200MHz (1MB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 3800+ (E4) 2000MHz (1MB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 4000+ (Rev.E6) 2400MHz (1MB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 4000+ (Rev.E4) 4000+ (1MB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 4000+ (Rev.CG) 4000+ (1MB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (Rev.E3) 3800+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (Rev.CG) 3800+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ (Rev.E6) 2200MHz (1MB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ (Rev.E4 ) 3700+ (1MB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Rev.E6) 3500+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Rev.E4) 2200MHz (512KB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Rev.E3) 3500+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Rev.D0) 3500+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Rev.CG) 3500+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3400+ (Rev.CG) 3400+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (Rev.E6) 3200+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (Rev.E4) 2000MHz (512KB,2000,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (Rev.E3) 3200+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (Rev.D0) 3200+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (Rev.CG) 3200+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Rev.E6) 3000+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Rev.E3) 3000+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Rev.D0) 3000+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Rev.CG) 3000+ (512KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Sempron 3400+ 64bit (Rev.E6) 3400+ (256KB,,Socket 939) YES
AMD Sempron 3200+ 64bit (Rev.E6) 3200+ (256KB,,Socket 939) YES
AMD Sempron 3200+ (Rev.E3) 3200+ (256KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES
AMD Sempron 3000+ (Rev.E3) 3000+ (128KB,1000 MHz,Socket 939) YES



Thanks!!! I contacted ECS support and got no response at all. This has been extremely helpful, as I won't have to worry about buying an un-supported cpu.
 10/20/2006 07:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
varianiv
Senior Member

Posts: 1254
Joined: 11/22/2004

Simply put, a socket 939 motherboard will support ANY socket 939 CPU.

Hope all this helps.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165 CCBBE (2.7GHz @ 1.35v)
DFI CFX3200-DR (07/28)
Kingston HyperX DDR500 (3-3-3-8-1T)
Asus Dark Knight Radeon 4870 1GB
Audigy 2
2x 74GB Western Digital Raptors in RAID0
500GB SATA-300 WD Drive
CoolerMaster RealPowerPro 850W
NZXT Zero full-tower case
Windows XP Pro SP2
 10/20/2006 03:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bruneauinfo
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2823
Joined: 08/27/2004

if it's a new board then you have nothing to worry about. the only problem i've heard with dual core support is on old socket 940 Opty boards with the K8T800 like the ASUS SK8V. i'm not sure why - but it's probably just a bios thing, and they may have even fixed that.



-------------------------
asus P6T Del V2 w/i7 920 6g ddr3 1600
Sapphire HD5770
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
Smilodon case is STILL the best ever, ever, ever!!!
 10/21/2006 06:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
varianiv
Senior Member

Posts: 1254
Joined: 11/22/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: Bruneauinfo
if it's a new board then you have nothing to worry about. the only problem i've heard with dual core support is on old socket 940 Opty boards with the K8T800 like the ASUS SK8V. i'm not sure why - but it's probably just a bios thing, and they may have even fixed that.


Actually, that is the whole difference netween socket support for different motherboards. A socket 939 processor will only fit in a 939 board, and only a 940 processor will fit in a 940 board. As far as the actual processors supported by each respective board is concerned, unless a board has been out for a good while and does not have a new BIOS version since it came out, then you will have support for most processors that are currently on the market. Matter of fact, almost every non-OEM 939 board nowadays is up to date enough to support every 939 processor on the market.

Just check your motherboard manufacturer's website for a BIOS update and you will have support for all the latest processors.

Hope all this helps.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165 CCBBE (2.7GHz @ 1.35v)
DFI CFX3200-DR (07/28)
Kingston HyperX DDR500 (3-3-3-8-1T)
Asus Dark Knight Radeon 4870 1GB
Audigy 2
2x 74GB Western Digital Raptors in RAID0
500GB SATA-300 WD Drive
CoolerMaster RealPowerPro 850W
NZXT Zero full-tower case
Windows XP Pro SP2
 10/21/2006 07:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Spengo
Senior Member

Posts: 313
Joined: 06/20/2006

Well all the above apart from the fact that quite a few early 939 M-boards could only operate on a 1600 HT link - enough for the single core processors - but the dual cores need a 2000 HT link so i can see a problem there...

-------------------------
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
 10/21/2006 03:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bruneauinfo
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2823
Joined: 08/27/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: Spengo
Well all the above apart from the fact that quite a few early 939 M-boards could only operate on a 1600 HT link - enough for the single core processors - but the dual cores need a 2000 HT link so i can see a problem there...


they do not need 2000 HT. they can make use of either, and some mobos set the default to 1600 even when 2000 is available - and things work just fine.

-------------------------
asus P6T Del V2 w/i7 920 6g ddr3 1600
Sapphire HD5770
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
Smilodon case is STILL the best ever, ever, ever!!!
 10/21/2006 05:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CBI Elite
Senior Member

Posts: 1089
Joined: 06/23/2005

Huh, don't remind me. When I frist got my Asus A8N-SLi, it didn't recognize my A64 3200+ Venice core (it was new at the time). Flashing BIOS did the trick, but man, at what cost...

-------------------------

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ E3 @ 2.6GHz/1.44V | Asus A8N-SLi V1014
eVGA 7900 GS @ 525MHz/1,450MHz | <a href="http://ww
 10/24/2006 03:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
varianiv
Senior Member

Posts: 1254
Joined: 11/22/2004

Heh, the need to flash my BIOS is what got me in this forum as well, back when I first put this system together with only a single hard drive and a 3400. TigerDirect really screwed up on that one, offering a CPU/mobo combo where the motherboard didn't support the CPU yet /rolleyes.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":rolleyes:" border="0" alt="rolleyes.gif" />

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165 CCBBE (2.7GHz @ 1.35v)
DFI CFX3200-DR (07/28)
Kingston HyperX DDR500 (3-3-3-8-1T)
Asus Dark Knight Radeon 4870 1GB
Audigy 2
2x 74GB Western Digital Raptors in RAID0
500GB SATA-300 WD Drive
CoolerMaster RealPowerPro 850W
NZXT Zero full-tower case
Windows XP Pro SP2
 10/25/2006 10:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bruneauinfo
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2823
Joined: 08/27/2004

i remember when they had that deal. the thread for that topic was gigantic wasn't it? or am i remembering a different thread?

-------------------------
asus P6T Del V2 w/i7 920 6g ddr3 1600
Sapphire HD5770
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
Smilodon case is STILL the best ever, ever, ever!!!
 10/30/2006 08:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
varianiv
Senior Member

Posts: 1254
Joined: 11/22/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: Bruneauinfo
i remember when they had that deal. the thread for that topic was gigantic wasn't it? or am i remembering a different thread?


No, you remember correctly. That thread probably had over a thousand posts by the time everyone who needed help had either found it or given up hope. Thank god the guy who knew what he was talking about in there finally made a sticky or linked to one of his threads or whatever it was that he did to stop everyone from trying to get individual attention in the matter. It was impossible to keep up with any one person's posts by the time the thread had died

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165 CCBBE (2.7GHz @ 1.35v)
DFI CFX3200-DR (07/28)
Kingston HyperX DDR500 (3-3-3-8-1T)
Asus Dark Knight Radeon 4870 1GB
Audigy 2
2x 74GB Western Digital Raptors in RAID0
500GB SATA-300 WD Drive
CoolerMaster RealPowerPro 850W
NZXT Zero full-tower case
Windows XP Pro SP2
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information