AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: amd athlon 3200+ or amd athlon 4200+ x2 what one is better for hard core gameing
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/30/2006 07:48 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/30/2006 07:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cocoapuffing
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/30/2006

i am wondering if the 4200 x2 well make that much of a differentness cuss cuss i here the x2 are just for more tasks can some one help me ty
 11/30/2006 08:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alexfort93
Elite

Posts: 2150
Joined: 10/09/2006

yeah i also have that same question either dual core or A64 4000+ because i heard some games don't even use both cores...

-------------------------
MSI 790GX-G65| Phenom II X4 810 2.6GHz | Asetek 550LC | 4GB (2x2GB) Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1333 | Asus 4870 | Seagate 640GB | WD 500GB | VX450 | Antec P180 | Windows 7 Premium 64-bit
 11/30/2006 11:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

Depends on a few things.

IF you oclock. Cause then the lower mhz of dc at = cost wont matter.
IF you ever do multi task.
IF you plan on a os like vista that really uses both cores fully. Vista is supposed to shower stronger gains from DC but its still just hearsay.

IF you use your pc for mroe then just games.

There are games out that use both cores but the numbers are against it. very limited number. But if you can afford a x2 at 2.4ghz per core or better its all good IMO. Game will move more towards DC but Id predict only once DC is mroe mainstream. With Intel bringing DC to the table as well its gonna get the ball moving even faster (top 2 are running it now).

ME I went for bang per buck. Which at time was $109 for a 3800+ single core. I couldnt justify the nearly x2 cost for the few fps gained in the handfull of games it used both cores in. Second once DC gaming is everywhere DC cpu's much faster and a better mhz per $ ratio will be around making buying one now a moot point.

Those are of course just my opinions. DC isnt a cut and dry answer kinda subject really.
 12/01/2006 06:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alexfort93
Elite

Posts: 2150
Joined: 10/09/2006

hmm I see. I also have a question about Vista, how is that working? Am I going to have to buy a new OS next year?

-------------------------
MSI 790GX-G65| Phenom II X4 810 2.6GHz | Asetek 550LC | 4GB (2x2GB) Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1333 | Asus 4870 | Seagate 640GB | WD 500GB | VX450 | Antec P180 | Windows 7 Premium 64-bit
 12/01/2006 04:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

How is it working? It needs a good bit of mem. Id say for a responsivbe system MINIMAL is 1gig ddr400 (yes speed matters). 2gig will be the new optimal amount. Vista is mem hungry even inits newly trimmed version. They have been trying to tweak the mem handling and its gotten alot better already.

DX10, requires Vista. So thats is when youll have to get vista. When there is a dx10 only game (you got a while) then youll need vista and a dx10 card.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information