AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: "AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+" vs "motherboard"
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/30/2006 10:27 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/30/2006 10:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
prashanthvs
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/30/2006

Hai.

This is prashanth here. I am in Singapore.

I am going to purchase AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ and need a motherboard compatible to this. Basically i need a motherboard which supports DDR2.

Can "Asus M2N32 WS Professional" support this processor (http://sg.asus.com/products.as...=1207&modelmenu=1).

Please help.

Thanks and regards,
V.S.Prashanth
 08/30/2006 10:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bvchurch
Senior Member

Posts: 8655
Joined: 06/24/2004

Welcome to the forums.

Anyways, pretty much if you are going to purchase an Athlon 64 X2 4800 make sure you get one that is socket AM2...it must be socket AM2. NOT, I repeat, NOT socket 939. Anyways as long as you find a socket AM2 board it should support the dual core X2 processor naturally.

Hope this helps.
 08/30/2006 11:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EdG
Senior Member

Posts: 1592
Joined: 10/07/2003

quote:

Originally posted by: prashanthvs
Hai.

This is prashanth here. I am in Singapore.

I am going to purchase AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ and need a motherboard compatible to this. Basically i need a motherboard which supports DDR2.

Can "Asus M2N32 WS Professional" support this processor (http://sg.asus.com/products.as...=1207&modelmenu=1).

Please help.

Thanks and regards,
V.S.Prashanth

Asus shows two 4800+ AM2 supportted for that board.
Athlon 64 X2 4800+ (CS),1MBx2,65W,rev.F2, Socket AM2 (Since BIOS 0304)
Athlon 64 X2 4800+ (CS),1MBx2,rev.F2,Socket AM2 (Since BIOS 0110)
Asus CPU support (English)
 08/31/2006 03:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
prashanthvs
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/30/2006

Do u mean that AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ comes with both Socket 939 and also with AM2. So while purchasing i need to ask for AM2 socket processor.

So with "Asus M2N32SLI Delux" motherboard i can install "AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+". Right?
 08/31/2006 08:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
1337rice
Senior Member

Posts: 661
Joined: 08/26/2006

well...according to newegg.com, they still have their 4800+ in socket 939. it depends where you purchase it. If you're purchasing from a store, they most likely won't have it anymore. So you should just ask if its AM2 or not. and yes, ANY AM2 socket motherboard will be compatible with an AM2 AMD CPU

-------------------------
AMD Athlon X2 3800+ s.939 @2.0ghz **non-overclockable...no clue why...**
Foxconn Winfast NF4K8AC mobo
450W Okia PSU
512mb X 2 DDR 400 Dual Channel Buffalo + 512mb X 2 DDR 400 Dual Channel OCZ Premier
256mb/512mb BFG Geforce 7300GS
40GB IDE Western Digital + 250GB SATA W.D + 100GB SATA MAXTOR
Stock CPU Fan + *new*120mm SilverStone case fan on side + *n
 08/31/2006 09:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vsingh
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3919
Joined: 10/15/2005

get a socket am2 4600 for that motherboard, as amd discontinued production of 4800's and 4400's for socket am2 (The extra cache on those cpu's just doesn't make a noticeable difference in performance thats why)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information