AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Athlon 64 Winchester 90nm Processor - Questons.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/22/2004 06:32 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/22/2004 06:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SoDaR2005
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/22/2004

Hello,

I very recenty purchased an AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Winchester CPU and i have been reading about compatibility issues with this core on some Motherboards. For example, the Abit AV8 will need a BIOS update but will not BOOT with the Winchester to let you do this - hence you need to take it to Abit so they can do an RMA on the BIOS which could take 4 days. Abit is out of the question for me unfortunately, but there are still Asustek, Gigabyte and MSI motherboards to choose from, all good makes im sure.

So onto my question, i was looking at these motherboards and i was sincerely hoping someone here can help me out on this little issue before i buy ONE of them. Here they are:

Asus A8V Deluxe, VIA K8T800Pro, Gbit Lan, USB 2.0, 1394, 8Ch Audio, SATA, Raid, SKT 939;
Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra-939, nForce 3, ATX, DDDR400, Gbit Lan, USB 2.0, 1394, AC'97 Audio, SATA, Raid, SKT 939;
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum, nVIDIA® NF3 , ATX, DDDR400, 2xGbit Lan, USB 2.0, 1394, 7.1Ch Audio, SATA,Raid, SKT 939.

The MSI is supposed to be good BUT i want a board with 2000MHz HTT not 1000MHz which the MSI has but im not entirely sure whether it will pose much difference in games/applications. Anyway, which one of these Motherboards will potentially BOOT first time with the CPU in and 1 stick if memory in so i can then UPDATE the BIOS and use the CPU properly and use Dual DDR Mode properly. Can anyone please help me? Im looking to buy one tonight (UK TIME) and i really need some ... reassurance!

Regards,

SoDaR2005!
 11/22/2004 07:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dan.M
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3796
Joined: 10/23/2003

They all have 2000Mhz HT Link


all boards have a internal HT link of 1000Mhz..


2000Mhz is the effective speed

all 939 boards *support* the 2Ghz HT Link..

even the MSI board support the 2Ghz HT Link..

the 1Ghz u mention is only the internal clock..

ithe Gigabyte board and ASUS board is the same thing

1Ghz Internal HT Link
2Ghz effective




-------------------------
Formerly Known as AzN_Pride
i7-2600|P8P67 Deluxe|HD6970&HD5770|16GB G.Skill RAM|640GB WD Caviar Black|Corsair AX750W|Silverstone Raven 3
 11/22/2004 07:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SoDaR2005
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/22/2004

QUOTE (AzN_Pride @ Nov 22 2004, 04:08 AM) They all have 2000Mhz HT Link


all boards have a internal HT link of 1000Mhz..


2000Mhz is the effective speed

all 939 boards *support* the 2Ghz HT Link..

even the MSI board support the 2Ghz HT Link..

the 1Ghz u mention is only the internal clock..

ithe Gigabyte board and ASUS board is the same thing

1Ghz Internal HT Link
2Ghz effective
Ahh right! I never knew that, the reason i said the MSI did'nt was because my friend has one and in the BIOS the HT Multiplier Option only goes as high as X5 (200*5 = 1000) and i know the MSI boards are fantastic for OC and overall quality. And also on a Computer web-page it says two different things ... for example, it gives the FSB Spec on the MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum as 1000MHz BUT yet on the Asus A8V Deluxe Spec it gives the FSB as 2000MHz. How strange is that?!?!

In fact now that you mention it i think i will get the MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum if you say it does support 2000MHz HTT, BUT just one more question about the HT Multiplier in BIOS ... how do i get it to run at 2000MHz HTT as my friends could only go as high as X5 Multiplier (200*5 = 1000)? Sorry if its a daft question but im very new to this 939 business!
 11/22/2004 11:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

The Hypertransport-link on an Athlon 64 3500+ processor runs at a physical clockspeed of 1000MHz.
Since Hypertransport uses a DDR-(Double Data Rate) technology, it is capable of transferring two packets of data in a single clock-cycle which results in an effective 'clockspeed' of 2000MHz.
Basically, 1000MHz = 2000MHz in this case. ALWAYS, regardless of what motherboard or chipset you're on - they all support it (as long as we're talking about an 939-pin Athlon 64 processor's HT-link, of course ).

It's just like with DDR-memory: While PC3200/DDR400 memory has an effective 'clockspeed' of 400MHz (obviously), it actually runs at a physical clockspeed of only 200MHz.
Due to its DDR-technology, it can transfer as much data per clock-cycle as a (theoretical!! SDR-(Single Data Rate, one packet of data per clock-cycle) SDRAM running at 400MHz - hence the 'effective' clockspeed.

See here' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=11141 for more info if this confuses you.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information