AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: HELP MY A64 3200+ ISN'T WORKING RIGHT!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/07/2003 08:48 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/07/2003 08:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xUNREALNEOx
Member

Posts: 149
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (Lombers @ Oct 7 2003, 04:02 PM) QUOTE (riotcity76 @ Oct 7 2003, 02:36 PM) jason is that o/c really only from 1.65v?
Apparantly the A64 and FX chips don't like really high voltages. Most of the bigger overclocks with watercooling and promms seem be doing it with only a slight increase in voltage. Considering the die size, it's not inconceivable to think that perhaps higher voltage introduces more cross talk hence causing instability. That's why I can't wait to see A64 and the FX core tweaked and developed, as it is still rather immature. Some optimisations within the core design may yield even higher clockspeeds at the current manufacturing process, and then wait till AMD move to 0.09u!!! There are going to be some insane overclocks

Excellent work Jason, keep it up
think of a A64 with 256kb L2 cache on .09 process!

can you say 3.5GHz?

-------------------------

14,434 9600Pro' ">http://wijzr.url.cjb.net/ 12,415 Ti200' ">http://batey.url.cjb.net/ 4,029 9600Pro' ">http://mgzue.url.cjb.net/
.:Team cpucity:.' ">http://www.cpucity.co.uk
:: MadOnion
 10/07/2003 08:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tarik_4
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/07/2003

Bah...better get used to Jason, he'll make everybody jealous with his #1 score in the world for 3dmark 2001, and just now by saying his kick a$$ system isn't working right.

-------------------------

3dmark2001 19,255' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7272649 | 3dmark03 6,431' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=1488010
 10/07/2003 08:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HomeBrew
Member

Posts: 100
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (jason57570 @ Oct 7 2003, 08:27 AM) QUOTE lol,

what about the cooling ?

260 Mhz is not supposed to be a nominal FSB

na 200x10 is stock I just pushed it up 30%

cooling is prommy MACH II
Well.... J, you have to consider that this is pretty much a first run of the sillicon. I am sure the oc factor will get better in the upcoming batches. You did get a lot out of it though. Hey, just think... Maybe in time, you'll look back at this and think of it as a "bum" chip. lol
 10/07/2003 08:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sandorski
Member

Posts: 22
Joined: 10/06/2003

ROFL!

-------------------------
Wowza' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=262
 10/07/2003 09:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
riotcity76
Member

Posts: 39
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE (Lombers @ Oct 7 2003, 04:02 PM)QUOTE (riotcity76 @ Oct 7 2003, 02:36 PM) jason is that o/c really only from 1.65v?
Apparantly the A64 and FX chips don't like really high voltages. Most of the bigger overclocks with watercooling and promms seem be doing it with only a slight increase in voltage. Considering the die size, it's not inconceivable to think that perhaps higher voltage introduces more cross talk hence causing instability. That's why I can't wait to see A64 and the FX core tweaked and developed, as it is still rather immature. Some optimisations within the core design may yield even higher clockspeeds at the current manufacturing process, and then wait till AMD move to 0.09u!!! There are going to be some insane overclocks

Excellent work Jason, keep it up
Thanks for the info I can't wait for the 939 pin 64s.

-------------------------


=-=MadOnion=-=
 10/08/2003 02:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brian
Member

Posts: 98
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (xUNREALNEOx @ Oct 8 2003, 08:09 AM) Apparantly the A64 and FX chips don't like really high voltages. Most of the bigger overclocks with watercooling and promms seem be doing it with only a slight increase in voltage. Considering the die size, it's not inconceivable to think that perhaps higher voltage introduces more cross talk hence causing instability. That's why I can't wait to see A64 and the FX core tweaked and developed, as it is still rather immature. Some optimisations within the core design may yield even higher clockspeeds at the current manufacturing process, and then wait till AMD move to 0.09u!!! There are going to be some insane overclocks

Excellent work Jason, keep it up [/QUOTE]
think of a A64 with 256kb L2 cache on .09 process!

can you say 3.5GHz?
i thought there's one being planned on 0.13 micron codenamed Paris?

-------------------------
Folding For Team AnandTech Distributed Computing' ">http://forums.anandtech.com/categories.cfm?catid=39

My Humble Forums' ">http://forums.hellstormraiders.com
 10/08/2003 05:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lpenix
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 10/06/2003

LPenix<--------leans back in his chair and smacks jason on the back of the head, dont play games with my head or i will sneak in your house and change out your computer with a presc@#k.....lol

-------------------------
[COLOR=purple][FONT=Arial]
 10/08/2003 08:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lombers
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE (Brian @ Oct 8 2003, 04:24 PM) i thought there's one being planned on 0.13 micron codenamed Paris?
There will be a 256kb L2 version of A64 on 0.13u as the transition to 0.09u most likely won't happen till next year. I hope AMD significantly play with the design of the CPU tho, as I feel they could reduce the die size by cutting out the Opteron features it doesn't use. ATM it seems that all CPU's come off the same manufacturing line using the same die, with small changes done to disable / enable certain features. Whilst this is cost effective (as they don't need another manufacturing line), they might well consider tweaking the die of A64 to reduce the size and hence lower the manufacturing costs whilst increasing the number of dies per wafer.

It is easier said than done, and I'm sure AMD's engineers know the best way to do things, so I'll leave it in their hands

-------------------------
You must always push the limits. Because if you never fail, you will never succeed.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information