AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W specification
Topic Summary: Will this 3.0GHz CPU work with an Asus A8M2N-LA NodusM3 motherboard?
Created On: 03/06/2008 04:06 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/06/2008 04:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bluetooth
Newbie

Posts: 37
Joined: 03/06/2008

I have a HP m7670 with an Asus A8M2N-LA NodusM3 motherboard. My BIOS is a Phoenix Techonogies LTD version 3.10 and I'm running Windows Visa Home Premium. I'm thinking to upgrade my AMD Athlon 64 x2 4600+ to an AMD athlon 64 x2 6000+ 89W Windsor specification. Does any body know if this will work?

Edited: 10/23/2008 at 04:06 AM by Bluetooth
 03/07/2008 12:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Heffy
Case Modder

Posts: 625
Joined: 03/06/2008

Strangely enough, a friend asked me that same question recently. So, I did some research then, and stumbled upon the answer somewhere on the ASUS forums (can't remember the thread exactly).

So, officially, HP tells maximum supported processor is AMD 5400+. However some guy testifies using a 6400+ (which is 125W, by the way) on this same motherboard. Apparently it works fine, except the BIOS marks the processor as "unknown".

Thus, if an AMD 6400+ works with it, I see no reason for a 6000+ not to. Nonetheless, you may have to flash your BIOS to the latest version.

Anyway, there's three more things you should consider (if you haven't already):

First, from what I see, this motherboard doesn't support DDRII above 533MHz, which means you won't get the most out of this processor.

Secondly, if, in the future, you consider upgrading your motherboard and getting 800MHz DDRII, this processor doesn't fully exploit it, because of its multiplier (15). It'll downgrade 800MHz DDRII to something like 750MHz... The 5600+ and the 6400+ don't have this problem (having respectively a x14 and x16 multiplier).

And, finally, these processors produce massive amounts of heat. At the same time, their maximum operational temperature is lowered to 63 degrees. So, your 4600+ CPU cooler won't be sufficient. Which means upgrading it as well... And getting a ***** good one!

Ah!, and if, eventually, you go for a 125W processor, don't forget to check if your PSU will deliver enough power.

Anyway, keep in mind that as long as HP doesn't explicitly indicate that this processor is officially supported (maybe in a future update), installing it on this motherboard will be "at your own risk".

'Hope I've helped you a bit and wish you good luck.
 03/07/2008 01:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bluetooth
Newbie

Posts: 37
Joined: 03/06/2008

Thanks a lot for the information.

Here is the link for the Asus A8M2N-LA NodusM3 motherboard specification.

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfr...c=en&lc=en&cc=us<br

The best option for this HP proprietarity motherboard is the AMD Athlon 64 x2 5600+ 89W which is supported even by the original BIOS version 3.07. The maximum power consumption for this processor is the same as the AMD Athlon 64 x2 4600+ so the original HP CPU cooler can be in place.

Since the AMD Athlon 64 x2 4600+ and AMD Athlon 64 x2 5600+ processors have a build-in memory controller which supports 800MHz DDR2 memory you can use this memory for best performance. Both processors run the DDR2 memory at 800MHz full speed because the multiplier is not rounded.

The AMD Athlon 64 x2 6400+ and AMD Athlon 64 x2 6000+ are not supported by the current BIOS 3.10 version for this Asus A8M2N-LA motherboard so you will not get the best performance. Maybe in the future HP will do an update of the BIOS, so maybe the AMD Athlon 64 x2 6000+ 89W will be supported. The HP m7670 has a 300W power supply unit. The power hungry versions (125W) of the AMD Athlon 64 x2 6400+ and AMD Athlon 64 x2 6000+ are not an option for the Asus A8M2N-LA NodusM3 motherboard and HP m7670.

I have tested the AMD Athlon 64 x2 5600+ and 3072Mb of 800MHz DDR2 Dane-Elec C31 memory 1024 Mb (5-5-5-18-CR2) with Lavalys Everest Ultimate 4.50.1330 and it works very well for the Asus A8M2N-LA NodusM3 motherboard. Keep in mind that the installed single channel memory modules operate at 1.8V

Benchmark results with Everest Utimate Editon V4.50.1330:

Memory Read: 5563 Mb/s
Memory Write: 6042 Mb/s
Memory Copy: 5434 Mb/s
Memory Latency: 50.6 ns


I have checked the idle temperatures of the AMD Athlon 64 x2 5600+ at 20 °C room temperature afther 1 hour start-up with the Core Temp 0.97.1 software.

Temperature Core 0# : 30 °C
Temperature Core 1# : 21 °C

It looks Ok to me .

Edited: 01/29/2009 at 11:29 AM by Bluetooth
 03/07/2008 12:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Heffy
Case Modder

Posts: 625
Joined: 03/06/2008

If the 5600+ is supported and recognized by the BIOS, it's indeed the best solution. You're perfectly right, it's better to play it safe now, than being sorry later. Given the circumstances, I would have chosen that same solution. This processor has also less thermal issues than the 6000+ and 6400+.

However, the cooler doesn't solely depend on the CPU's voltage, its multiplier is a factor too... The faster a processor runs, the more heat it produces.
That said, your CPU cooler may still do, but I advise you to install temp monitoring software after you upgrade. And preferably one that can interrupt operations at overheat warnings. I use PC Probe II, but that's ASUS specific, I guess (but, your motherboard being manufactured by ASUS, it may still work). I use Core Temp (freeware) as well, for both core temps.
Keep a close eye on the readings. If it stays under 70°C at higher load (a game, for example), that'll be some bucks for you to spend on something else. But if it interrupts heavy applications with "CPU overheating" warnings, you'd better get another cooler.

Well, yes, I know these processors have that build-in memory, but some motherboards don't support 800MHz very well, due to construction or chipset issues.
Nonetheless, taking a closer look at the motherboard's specs, I spot it has an Nvidia MCP51 chipset, which indeed natively supports DDRII 800MHz. I don't know why HP states that supported speed is PC2-4200 MB/sec (533MHz)... Just to make sure, I'd check the actual speed it runs it (in Everest, for example), just to be certain it hasn't downgraded it to 533MHz. But given the chipset model, it should be able to run it at 800MHz without a problem.

Concerning the BIOS, I'd update it to the latest version anyway (which is 5.07, I think). It's advisable when upgrading, since some features may be better supported with newer versions. Some functionalities may have been added as well.
However, this operation isn't 100% risk-free, so do it only if you are absolutely sure how to proceed.

Congrats form your new system and i wish you a happy upgrading.
 03/11/2008 10:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bluetooth
Newbie

Posts: 37
Joined: 03/06/2008

I got confused by The HP BIOS software versions for this A8M2N-LA NodusM3 motherboard. When I bought my HP m7670 it had a Phoenix Technologies LTD 3.07 BIOS version for Windows XP. I have upgraded my PC to Windows Vista Home Premium and now it works fine with version 3.10. However the HP m7770, same computer as the HP m7670, but with Windows Vista for the A8M2N-LA motherboard has a Phoenix Technologies LTD 5.07 BIOS. I tried to update my BIOS to version 5.07 but the HP software does not allow me to do this. Any Idea what the differences are between these two BIOS software versions?

Edited: 08/07/2008 at 08:14 PM by Bluetooth
 03/12/2008 05:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bluetooth
Newbie

Posts: 37
Joined: 03/06/2008

I have the answer for the two BIOS versions. The Phoenix Technologies BIOS 3.10 works with Windows XP and Windows Vista. The Phoenix Technologies BIOS 5.07 is only intended for Windows Vista. I hope that HP will support future AMD Athlon 64 x2 processors for this Asus A8M2N-LA NodusM3 motherboard.

Edited: 08/07/2008 at 08:15 PM by Bluetooth
 07/04/2008 10:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
davesnake
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 07/04/2008

You could probably do a BIOS update to fix any compatibility issues.

-------------------------
No advertising. Do not use this site as a redirector or gateway to another site for the purpose of collecting click income or advertising.
 07/07/2008 06:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
thecrazyninja
B1FF

Posts: 129
Joined: 07/07/2008

I'm not too knowledgeable on motherboards, but i am running an AMD 6000+ and am in love with it. I haven't heard of any thermal issues with it. If your motherboard can run it than definitely get this processer.

-------------------------
---------NEW-------ooh-------ahhh
AMD 64 x2 6000+
HIS IceQ4 4850 1GB @ 625Mhz core- 993 Memory- boo-ya
4GB 400Mhz DDR2 Ram
500 GB Hard Drive@ 7200RPM
DVD SuperMulti Drive with Lightscribe
ASrock A780 FullDisplayPort
Windows 7 64-bit

 07/09/2008 08:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bluetooth
Newbie

Posts: 37
Joined: 03/06/2008

The reason why a BIOS needs to recognize the processor is for the core voltage - frequency power profile specified by AMD. The AMD Athlon 64 x2 ADX6000 (125W) and ADA6000 (89W) have different power profiles for the maximum frequency. The core voltage for the ADX6000 is 1.350 - 1.400V at 3000 MHz and for the ADA6000 the core voltage is 1.300 - 1.350V at 3000 MHz. The BIOS version 3.10 will probably select the power settings of the AMD Athlon 64 x2 5600+ if the processor is not recognized. Maximum core voltage 1.300 - 1.350V at full speed. The power settings for the ADA6000 (89W) will likely be the same as for the ADA5600 (89W). Maybe you are lucky if you have an AMD Athlon 64 x2 6000+ 89W specification for this Asus A8M2N-LA NodusM3 motherboard. Always use the latest BIOS version in your HP computer.

If Windows does not recognize the processor what processor profiles are loaded in the configuration setup menu? Is it then undefined? I think with the BIOS 3.10 version the AMD Athlon 64 x2 5600+ is the best processor for this Asus A8M2N-LA NodusM3 motherboard.

Edited: 08/07/2008 at 07:56 PM by Bluetooth
 07/15/2008 11:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ransoman
Member

Posts: 45
Joined: 10/31/2007

I used to have one of these machines (compaq sr1909) with that exact motherboard.

I can confirm that a 130w athlon 6000+ works perfectly with no issues at all, Bios reports it as "processor model unknown" but it runs at full speed. Even the latest BIOS which was released only recently cannot recognise this CPU.

Word of warning though, this motherboard does not support CPU's with an unlocked multiplier. Sorry, no black editions here.
 07/15/2008 06:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bluetooth
Newbie

Posts: 37
Joined: 03/06/2008

The reason why the voltage core setting is critical has to do with propagation delays. Higher core voltage means lower propagation delays and thus higher speed. The penalty is high power consuption. If the core voltage settings are not correct for the maximum speed, the processor runs out of timing and then will crash. This occurs at full load and high crystal temperature.

If the AMD ADX6000 (125W) version runs at full speed the voltage core setting should be between 1.350 - 1.400V? at 3000MHz. You can test this with the cpu-z program. The ADA6000 (89W) is a selected version with better timing specifications and can run on a lower core voltage at 3000MHz than the ADX6000.

Edited: 07/16/2008 at 12:00 PM by Bluetooth
 08/05/2008 07:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bluetooth
Newbie

Posts: 37
Joined: 03/06/2008

From information from other users I did find out that the BIOS version 5.07 for Windows Vista supports the AMD Athlon 64 x2 6000+ 125W for the Asus A8M2N-LA motherboard. I'm not sure that the AMD Athlon 64 x2 6000+ 89W is also supported by this 5.07 BIOS version.

Verdict:

The BIOS version 3.10 does not support the AMD Athlon 64 x2 6000+ 125W and 89W version for the Asus A8M2N-LA motherboard. So the best option for this Asus motherboard is the AMD Athlon x2 5600+ which is also capable to run the DDR2 memory at 800MHz full speed.

Edited: 04/22/2010 at 02:21 AM by Bluetooth
 04/21/2010 09:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bluetooth
Newbie

Posts: 37
Joined: 03/06/2008

I have upgraded my operating system to Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bits and now the processor subscore for the Windows Experience Index is 5.9 with the AMD Athlon 64 x2 5600+. In Windows Vista Home Premium 64 bits the processor subscore was 5.3. So you get a 11% processor boost just by upgrading to Windows 7 . With the AMD Athlon 64 x2 6000+ the Windows Experience Index subscore is 6.1 (Windows 7).

Edited: 04/22/2010 at 03:44 PM by Bluetooth
 06/14/2010 11:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wallso
Newbie

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/14/2010

I've been reading the forum and have a quick question. I have a hp a1600n with a ADM 64 x2 3800+ cpu and a A8M2N-LA (NODUSM3-GL8E) MOBO (Bios version 3.07), I have just purchased a ADO5600IAA5DO -- AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+ 2.9GHz 2x512KB Socket AM2 Dual-Core
CPU.

I was wondering if I will be able to just drop in the new 5600 cpu without updating the BIOS and have it just work or will I have update to the newest BIOS which is 3.10. I am very nervous about updating the BIOS and bricking my pc. If anyone knows the answer, it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
 06/15/2010 01:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

If you already have the CPU, you can just try it without updating BIOS. Should not be any harm. Sidenote, the hp/compaq bios update procedures are usually quite safe compared to a few other vendor's.

-------------------------
 06/15/2010 08:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wallso
Newbie

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/14/2010

Thanks for the heads up go_for, I ordered the cpu a few days ago all confident about updating the BIOS and then I started reading more and more about how it can brick your pc and I lost my nerve a bit. I'm debating on if i should try the cpu or just ship it back and just get a new video card.

Would i see a more significant performance boost from a new cpu or video card currently I have a amd 3800+ cpu and a 8600 gts.Thanks for any thoughts and opinions on the matter. Well i'm off to see what geeks.com return policy is.
 06/15/2010 08:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Keep the X2 5600+. You can always upgrade the VGA card later if necessary. Here a link to compare different GPUs, on a hardware level spec.

http://www.gpureview.com/show_...hp?card1=512&card2=616

-------------------------
 06/16/2010 12:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wallso
Newbie

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/14/2010

Thanks, I should be receiving my new cpu soon and I'll post to let you know how it goes and I'm looking to get the Radeon HD 5750 video card, again thanks for the help.
 07/19/2010 04:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Left C
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/18/2010

Hello

I too have a HP Pavilion a1600n with the Asus A8M2N-LA NodusM3 motherboard and the 64 x2 3800+ CPU. Also, my BIOS is the 3.10 up from 3.07. I have been running this BIOS update for 3 years now w/o problems using XP Media Center and 3.4 GHz of RAM.

I have purchased two CPU's to 'test drive.' One is a new 5600+ ADA5600IAA6CZ 89W Windsor. I don't have a fan/heat sink for it. I know that the 3800+ CPU are available in 35w, 65w and 89w versions. What is the stock 3800+'s wattage that you are finding and what is the CPU's part number? I'd like to find out beforehand if my stock fan/heat sink will work or I need to get one.

My other CPU is an year old used 6400+ ADX6400IAA6CZ 125w Windsor with its stock fan/heat sink.

If I may, I have a few questions:
    As asked above, what is the stock CPU and its wattage that you are finding? If it is 89w, I won't need to get a fan/heat sink for it. Here are the four of the possible Windsor AM2 3800+'s that I found listed:
    - ADA3800IAA5CU 89w
    - ADO3800IAA5CU 65w
    - ADD3800IAA5CU 35w
    - ADO3800IAA5CZ 65w

    Do you think that both my 5600+ and 6400+ CPU's will work with my 3.10 BIOS?

    If I upgrade to the 64-bit Windows 7, will I use the Vista BIOS 5.07 update?

    The motherboard supports DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) memory. Will I be able use this type of memory with both or either of these processors?


Thanks a bunch for any help that you can help me with. This is all new to me.

Left C

Edited: 07/19/2010 at 05:56 AM by Left C
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information