AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: FSB jumping around on 3400+ C0
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/13/2004 07:09 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/13/2004 07:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CdnAtWork
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/19/2004

I've noticed that my FSB jumps WAY up as i start/shutdown programs. For example, the pic below is a snapshot from just as i shut down 3dmark2001 (didn't actually benchmark, just started and ended the program).

edit: happens EVERY time i start/end 3dmark03...


I've been running everything back at stock so it starts like this...


then jumps to this...



I've noticed that i can no longer overclock even a bit anymore because i get reboots when i try to run programs.

Anyone else having similar problems?
Thanks for any input
Cdn
 06/14/2004 12:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ricky
Senior Member

Posts: 247
Joined: 04/17/2004

Try with Cool N Quiet set to disabled in the BIOS or simply reinstall the AMD XP CPU driver

-------------------------
AN9 32x AM2 4600+ / KV8 MAX3 AMD 64 3400+/ AT7 MAX2 Barton 3800+
 06/14/2004 01:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

This is probably because you have DOT(Dynamic Overclocking Technology) enabled in BIOS - it's a feature that will automatically overclock your processor(by raising its base-clock) once you reach a 100% CPU-load.
However, the '371MHz'-reading you're getting is incorrect for sure...your system would get unstable or crash long before you'd get even remotely close to that value.
I suggest, you disable DOT in BIOS.

EDIT: Could also be a Cool'n'Quiet issue, since your temperatures and fan-speeds seem to be slightly lower in the second screenshot...i'd still recomend you make sure DOT is disabled before trying anything else.

Is your system running stable? Or do you get any crashes/freezes?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information