AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: HHt set at x5 but HTT only 204.3mhz in cpuz
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/20/2004 07:37 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/20/2004 07:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
damolee
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/20/2004

hi peeps, i'm new here so go easy on me :-)

Decided i'd give CPU Z a shot the other day, see whats ticking along in my 3400+ (newcastle) running on a KV8 Pro 1.1 , using x2 sticks of PC3200 512MB!

Problem I have , the HTT under Cpu-Z is showing as 204.3 mhz ...shouldn't it be more like 300Mhz if HTT is at X5 in the bios, or is this limited by RAM?

Had few crashing issues when doing small overclocks, could it be that having HTT at x5 in the bios isnt compatiable with my ram, therefore likely to crash on any overclock?

my agp/pci are fixed btw!

Any help appreciated! Cheers - D -
 10/20/2004 08:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Glassmaster
Senior Member

Posts: 3773
Joined: 08/18/2004

Your HTT should be running at 200Mhz if your running the system at stock speed.

Glassmaster.

-------------------------
Power Supply Guide' ">http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=792566 Memtest86' ">http://www.memtest.org/#downiso Prime95' ">http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft.htm SuperPI' ">http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=36 3dmark05' ">http://www.futuremark.com/download/?3dmark05.shtml CPU-Z' ">http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php#download <
 10/20/2004 08:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dan.M
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3796
Joined: 10/23/2003

QUOTE (damolee @ Oct 20 2004, 03:37 PM) hi peeps, i'm new here so go easy on me :-)

Decided i'd give CPU Z a shot the other day, see whats ticking along in my 3400+ (newcastle) running on a KV8 Pro 1.1 , using x2 sticks of PC3200 512MB!

Problem I have , the HTT under Cpu-Z is showing as 204.3 mhz ...shouldn't it be more like 300Mhz if HTT is at X5 in the bios, or is this limited by RAM?

Had few crashing issues when doing small overclocks, could it be that having HTT at x5 in the bios isnt compatiable with my ram, therefore likely to crash on any overclock?

my agp/pci are fixed btw!

Any help appreciated! Cheers - D -
HyperTransport Operates @ 1600Mhz.. or 1.6Ghz A64s
HT = Internal Bus Speed x DDR x HT Multiplier
stock would be
200 x 2 x 4 = 1600Mhz

when u set it to 5
200 x 2 x 5 = 2000Mhz

it wouldnt be reporting it as 300Mhz as u did not raise the bus speed to 300Mhz in the first place

all u did was increased the HT Multipler Value up by 1.. which should increase the speed by approx 2-3% which wouldnt be much of an improvement

-------------------------
Formerly Known as AzN_Pride
i7-2600|P8P67 Deluxe|HD6970&HD5770|16GB G.Skill RAM|640GB WD Caviar Black|Corsair AX750W|Silverstone Raven 3
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information