AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Athlon x2 6000 motherboard
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/18/2009 07:02 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/18/2009 07:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dgreenbluet
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/18/2009

im new to computers but i just ordered a amd athlon x2 6000 and the heatsink that came with it wont work with my motherboard, can someone recommend a new motherboard for me? thanks
 09/19/2009 05:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harr840
Newbie

Posts: 37
Joined: 01/30/2005

I have used Biostar for years. Used socket A, socket 939, and now AM2+.
I've never had an issue with any. I am using the TA770 A2+ now with the
AMD X2 6000+. Runs great. You can use the AMD 7750 Kuma in this board also.
http://www.biostar-usa.com/app.../content.php?S_ID=310

This is the Biostar TA 790GXBE. Check out Newegg for reviews.
http://www.biostar-usa.com/app...roduction.php?S_ID=419

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II x4 965 w/Arctic Cooling Pro 64 heatsink
Biostar TA790GXE 128M
Seasonic 750 watt PSU
Dual Powercolor HD4850 graphics cards
8 Gb G Skill DDR2 1066 ram
Dual Seagate 320Gb SATA HD
Win 7 Home Edition
Liteon DVD-RAM burner
Hauppauge Dgital PVR card
 09/20/2009 11:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Turbogearhead
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/17/2009

There are two AMD X2 6000 CPU's one of course is the Windsor and the other is the Brisbane. I didnt see that either of those was listed as supported by the TA770 A2+.

A possible problem is that one CPU version works and the other doesnt. They both may be fine but I would check furhter before buying.

Dgreenbluet, what CPU and motherboard do you have?
 09/20/2009 06:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harr840
Newbie

Posts: 37
Joined: 01/30/2005

The 6000+ I am using is the windsor. ADX6000CZBOX. I had to contact Biostar tech support to ensure it would work in the TA770 A2+ board.

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II x4 965 w/Arctic Cooling Pro 64 heatsink
Biostar TA790GXE 128M
Seasonic 750 watt PSU
Dual Powercolor HD4850 graphics cards
8 Gb G Skill DDR2 1066 ram
Dual Seagate 320Gb SATA HD
Win 7 Home Edition
Liteon DVD-RAM burner
Hauppauge Dgital PVR card
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information