AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Athlon 64 3000+ memory controlling problem
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/29/2004 04:25 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/29/2004 04:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[SS]Fenris
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/29/2004

Hey there.

My 1st post is about my CPU (3000+: ADA3000AEP4AX 1.5V (DH7 CG rev, FC0h) NewCastle, 512 KB L2, 2.0 GHz, x10) and its ability to run 2 PCS of Corsair platinum DDR 500Mhz sticks at 400mhz or above.

When i insert 1 ram stick it boots up nicely and sets speed to 400Mhz, i add another stick and speed goes down to 333Mhz.
When i manually try to set it to 400Mhz the whole system hangs up, and doesnt boot at all.

Motherboard is Gigabyte K8NSpro with the lastes BIOS.

These ramsticks are able to run 270 on other motherboard that has been tested ok with many other DDR brands.

So whats the problem here?

Is it the AMD 3000+´s poor memorey controller as i have been told or what?


Should i RMA this CPU ?

Its insane cause this CPU is like 6 months old and motherboard is brand new, i´ve spend total 800$ on these (mobo 158$, CPU 178$ and DDR´s 478$ and they work poorly, the whole system is slower than my overclocked AXP-M 2400+

I gotta tell you that this is really eating my faith on AMD products, everything has worked fine this far but if this is CPU memory controller issue and my wholesaler refuses to RMA it because it works on other setups......im outta here!

thanks for advance

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
Gigabyte K8NSpro s754 (F8 BIOS)
Corsair Twinx 1024 PC-4000LLPT (2x512MB)
2 x 160GB SATA Samsung SP80
Sapphire Radeon 9800XT
Everything cools on Air
 12/29/2004 06:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ample_python0
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 12/29/2004

It may be because of the other memory sticks in ure cpu... are these the ONLY ones put in your mboard when everything freezes?
 12/29/2004 06:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[SS]Fenris
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/29/2004

Hey there.

I have to say i didnt quite get what you were saying there, but i´ll reply as i understood...


Yes, i use only these 2 sticks.

Doesnt matter if i place them into dimms 1+2, 1+3 or 2+3 the outcome is the same, DRAM speed drops down to 333Mhz with 2 sticks and doesnt come up no matter what.


SS

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
Gigabyte K8NSpro s754 (F8 BIOS)
Corsair Twinx 1024 PC-4000LLPT (2x512MB)
2 x 160GB SATA Samsung SP80
Sapphire Radeon 9800XT
Everything cools on Air
 12/29/2004 06:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gl1973
Member

Posts: 83
Joined: 11/12/2004

you need to check the meemory timings. i believe that they may be off. mm or glass would be best to tell you what to set them for because it seems like the voltages and times are not correct. have you tried running memtest86 or any other diagnostics on them also. if it is running fine with one at a time i would still think that it would be a timing/ voltage problem
 12/29/2004 06:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[SS]Fenris
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/29/2004

Hey there.

Yeah, i´ve checked the timings to match what i used to to have on Amd XP rig.

On this K8NSpro i have them set up as 3-4-4-8 and toggled with 1T/2T

Same conclusion, with one stick im able to run it at 400Mhz, and memtest86+ to the end of the time without errors. (i usually just loop test #5 like 50 times)

When i throw in another Corsair stick....BOOM....down goes DDR speed (to 333Mhz) and it stays there.

Having these really expensive rams running under their SDP is pissing me off big time:/

anyways, incase someone could/would throw me some mem settings (i have some parts set as AUTO) id really appreciate it.


SS

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
Gigabyte K8NSpro s754 (F8 BIOS)
Corsair Twinx 1024 PC-4000LLPT (2x512MB)
2 x 160GB SATA Samsung SP80
Sapphire Radeon 9800XT
Everything cools on Air
 12/29/2004 06:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gl1973
Member

Posts: 83
Joined: 11/12/2004

sorry i am not the the one for that but there was a post a couple of days ago about this and i know none of the setting were above 2.5 and 1t at the end. try to look for that post or try sending a message to missilemaker. he is the one that gave the advice i believe. glassmaster is also very good with that so try sending either one of them a message. sorry i was not much help
 12/29/2004 07:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[SS]Fenris
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/29/2004

Hey.


Cheers mate, all help is welcome


SS

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
Gigabyte K8NSpro s754 (F8 BIOS)
Corsair Twinx 1024 PC-4000LLPT (2x512MB)
2 x 160GB SATA Samsung SP80
Sapphire Radeon 9800XT
Everything cools on Air
 12/29/2004 10:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[SS]Fenris
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/29/2004

Hey.


Still need help with this issue.

Im going to show this CPU at the seller tomorrow and try if they´ll replace it with another 3000+

Incase someone has some ideas or some kickass DDR timing advices id appriciate it.


SS

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
Gigabyte K8NSpro s754 (F8 BIOS)
Corsair Twinx 1024 PC-4000LLPT (2x512MB)
2 x 160GB SATA Samsung SP80
Sapphire Radeon 9800XT
Everything cools on Air
 12/29/2004 11:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Glassmaster
Senior Member

Posts: 3773
Joined: 08/18/2004

Missile Maker will not be around for a while. This has nothing to do with the Athlon 64 memory controller. Better motherboards, like the MSI K8N Neo Platinum can run two double sided DIMMs at DDR400 (not three though, that is limited by the memory controller). Link' ">http://www.msi.com.tw/program/...mbd_detail.php?UID=572, look in the main memory section.

Glassmaster.

-------------------------
Power Supply Guide' ">http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=792566 Memtest86' ">http://www.memtest.org/#downiso Prime95' ">http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft.htm SuperPI' ">http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=36 3dmark05' ">http://www.futuremark.com/download/?3dmark05.shtml CPU-Z' ">http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php#download <
 12/29/2004 11:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[SS]Fenris
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/29/2004

Hey there.

Thx for reply Glass.

So is this motherboard issue?

It said that it´d be able to tun with 3x400mhz DDR´s when i bought it, so in that case it would be RMA for the mobo. ( and FAST one

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
Gigabyte K8NSpro s754 (F8 BIOS)
Corsair Twinx 1024 PC-4000LLPT (2x512MB)
2 x 160GB SATA Samsung SP80
Sapphire Radeon 9800XT
Everything cools on Air
 12/29/2004 11:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Glassmaster
Senior Member

Posts: 3773
Joined: 08/18/2004

3 double sided DIMMs at DDR400 is not possible becasue of the Athlon 64's memory controller in socket 754 CPUs, 2 double sided DIMMs at DDR400 is, so long as the motherboard supports it.

Glassmaster.

-------------------------
Power Supply Guide' ">http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=792566 Memtest86' ">http://www.memtest.org/#downiso Prime95' ">http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft.htm SuperPI' ">http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=36 3dmark05' ">http://www.futuremark.com/download/?3dmark05.shtml CPU-Z' ">http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php#download <
 12/29/2004 11:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[SS]Fenris
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/29/2004

Hey.

Ok, so it seems like this is motherboard issue.

Since it says the following on their page and also on retail box:


Memory
Type: DDR400/ 333/ 266- 184pin

Max capacity: Up to 3GB by 3 DIMM slots


It wont say 512MB DDR 400 and 1GB of 333mhz

I go over to store and replace this tomorrow, lets see how it goes.

TY for your help folks.


SS

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
Gigabyte K8NSpro s754 (F8 BIOS)
Corsair Twinx 1024 PC-4000LLPT (2x512MB)
2 x 160GB SATA Samsung SP80
Sapphire Radeon 9800XT
Everything cools on Air
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information