AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6000+ ASUSTeK M2N68-CM
Topic Summary: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6000+ Overheating
Created On: 03/21/2011 01:23 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/21/2011 01:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theVikrant
Lurker

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/21/2011

I've
ASUSTeK M2N68-CM Motherboard
With
CPU AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6000+
Cpu Socket Socket AM2 (940)

I use SIW and CoreTemp to monitor Fan Speed and CPU temprature.
Average Temperature is 45-55 and cpufan speed 4650.
While Video Converting (HandBreak , DIVX) or Playing games Like EA Sports Cricket Fifa or NFS temperature raise to 100+.

Here is details of temp and speed.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/...qo19erg8mp/Before.txt

http://www.mediafire.com/file/...c4dhylzbicl/After.txt

http://www.mediafire.com/file/...0Processor%206000.xls

xls file contains two sheets.

Plz help.

-------------------------
Regards
Vikrant
 03/30/2011 01:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theVikrant
Lurker

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/21/2011

Plz advice.

-------------------------
Regards
Vikrant
 03/30/2011 10:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

If it the CPU core really is 100'C +, I would expect it to shutdown automatically.

What CPU temp does BIOS report after while of heavy load?

-------------------------
 03/30/2011 01:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theVikrant
Lurker

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/21/2011

Thanks for the reply.

I checked temp till 100 only once.I've kept shutdown temp at 80.
Still it's annoying that after 2-minutes of gaming or Video rendering/Converting temp raises high.Can't use my PC at full pace.

-------------------------
Regards
Vikrant
 03/30/2011 03:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

I guess the ambient temp in the room is high. A stock fan might not suffice. At least try to clean and reinstall heat sink and fan, then make sure the air flow within & thorough the computer case is optimal.

-------------------------
 03/31/2011 01:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theVikrant
Lurker

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/21/2011

I live in West coast of India.Temp is always higher than expected
I clean heat sink and stuff every now and then.
Still I'll do it once again and reply.

-------------------------
Regards
Vikrant
 03/31/2011 01:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

If it is a 125Watt TDP 6000+ X2 you have in there, I will be difficult to
let it run cool with stock HSF if the ambient temp is high.
If you enable "C1E" and CnQ, it might help a little bit.

A safe solution would be to swap the CPU to a 45Watt TDP part.

e.g like Athlon II X2 250e, Athlon II X3 415e, Athlon II X4 600e, 605e, 610e.

http://www.cpu-upgrade.com/mb-ASUS/M2N68-CM.html

-------------------------
 03/31/2011 02:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theVikrant
Lurker

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/21/2011

So I need to buy another stuff to cool down CPU?

Few months ago CPU was running superb.
I used to play games , rip DVDs n convert video at the same time for hours.
Now few minutes of gaming n overheating....

I guess I am switching back to Intel.

Still ur help is appreciated.

-------------------------
Regards
Vikrant
 03/31/2011 10:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006



well, if it has been running superb before and nothing else has changed in the system
the heat is likely caused by one or few of following :

-Thermal paste dried up, evaporated or missing after reinstalling heat sink
-misalignment of heat sink when reinstalling it
-Dust within the heat sink fins *
-Dust in the case air intakes and outlets
-Dust in the power supply air intake and outlet
-Dust in the VGA card cooler/HSF
-minor overvolting of CPU due to substandard power supply
-thermal paste dried up under NB and SB heat sink

*) Usually cannot see the amount of dust within the CPU heat sink,
remove heat sink, remove its fan. Then rinse the heat sink with water.
reinstall, fan, heat sink with fresh thermal paste.

Hope this helps. Good luck!

-------------------------
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information