AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD FX 8120 Black Edition Problems.
Topic Summary: Problems..
Created On: 03/13/2012 01:37 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/13/2012 01:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Emperor_Nick
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/13/2012

Ok, so recently I just finished my first computer build.. and everything went well. Two weeks later or so, my computer starts freezing every few hours, for period of up to 3 seconds or so.. What happens is.. My CPU usage Hits 100%, and all the cores (8) Hit 100% as well. Then they go back to what ever the CPU was at before the spike. During that time the sound becomes choppy/looped and my mouse and screen lags/freezes. I did some reading online, and it said it may be heat problems due to not enough Thermal Compound on the CPU. So i reopened the computer, Cleaned the old Thermal compound off, and reapplied new compound (about the size of a pea). It still does the freezing i mentioned above, but now every once in a while my computer will completely freeze up, and need to be reset.. or it will instantly shut off at random times. I also did a Memory Test to see if my RAM was broken/corrupt, None Was. All my drivers and my BIOS are UP TO DATE.

My Build Consist of...

CPU = AMD FX 8120 Black Edition 3100 Mhz
MotherBoard = Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphic Card = NVIDIA GeForce GTX 570
Ram = G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3
Powersupply= COOLER MASTER Silent Pro M700 RS-700-AMBA-D3 700W
HardDrive = Seagate Barracuda ST31000524AS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s

IF anyone has heard anything like this, or has had similar problems, please let me know.. and if you fixed this problem, please tell me!.

Thanks

Edited: 03/13/2012 at 01:57 AM by Emperor_Nick
 03/14/2012 02:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
toolspaz
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/14/2012

what are your bios settings?,are you using manual memory timings or predefined motherboard settings? does your cpu show that it is running hot?have you installed the windows hotfixes? does windows processes in task manager show any program using 100% CPU usage when your CPU usage spikes? I'll try to help but a little more info would be helpful
 04/10/2012 09:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Titanshammer
Lurker

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/10/2012

I am starting to get the same lag spike issues where my computer freezes for 1-3 seconds and my cpu maxes out at 100% on all 8 cores. I have default bios settings, all drivers and bios is fully updated. I download both Windows 7 hotfixes and still get the issue mostly when playing games or opening IE. I will look through bios settings tonight and see if there is anything im missing.

Specs:
OS = Windows 7 Ultimate 64
CPU = AMD FX 8120 3.1ghz black edition 125w 8core
HSF = Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo with Arctic Silver 5
MB = MSI 970a-g46
GPU = SPARKLE Nvidia Geforce GTX 460
RAM = G.Skill Ripjaws Z Series 16gbs (4 x 4gb) 240 pin DDR3 2133
PSU = Thermaltake Black Widow W0319RU 850w
HD = Western Digital 500gb 7200rpm Sata 6.0gb


Edit: It is not a heat issue on my end, cpu is staying below 32c under load, heatsink and fan was changed from the stock one to a cooler master hyper 212 evo and still having the lag spike. I also noticed that when my cpu maxes out like that my gpu also spikes.

Is anyone else having this issue and are you also running an Nividia graphics card?

Edited: 04/11/2012 at 12:52 AM by Titanshammer
 04/12/2012 03:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Titanshammer
Lurker

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/10/2012

After alot of time going through the bios and things I found that nothing has helped so far. I did however find out the the spikes mainly occur during me streaming videos or using Ventrilo
 04/12/2012 04:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Look to see what Task Manager (processes tab) is stating is using all of your CPU up during these lag spikes. That will tell you where your issue is coming from, then we can research and help fix it.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 04/14/2012 12:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Titanshammer
Lurker

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/10/2012

It seems when I have the task manager open, I do not get the spikes, I can however close it and get one within about 5-10 minutes. I have had the task manager open now for about 20 hours.

Edit: Ok I can make it happen 100% of the time with opening Click Bios II for my MSI motherboard. It makes Services.exe skyrocket on my processes and it capping my cpu out. I don't know for sure if this is the same on capping out when I don't open the bios but this one does it when I open the bios.

Edit 2: It just happened again when I hit update message and Perfmon.exe capped my cpu out.

Edited: 04/14/2012 at 12:47 AM by Titanshammer
 04/21/2012 07:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Titanshammer
Lurker

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/10/2012

Found my fix, cpu was defective and sent it back, Also MSI came out with a new bios version today which helped alot with the cpu aswell.
 04/25/2012 12:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Emperor_Nick
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/13/2012

I also sent mine back aswell, but with my new one i recieved, I am still have the same problem. My bios is up to date with update 6 from Gigabyte
 04/25/2012 02:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Try Process Explorer, it should reveal what is taking up all capacity of processor when it happens :

http://technet.microsoft.com/e.../sysinternals/bb896653

-------------------------
 05/13/2012 02:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alucke2
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 05/13/2012

I have a new build. GA-990FXA-UD3 updated to F6 bios, Amd FX-8120, Corsair vengeance 4x4gb 1600 ram, 850 watt power supply, ATI Radeon HD 4480, 2 TB Sata3 hdd. I put everything together and the problem I am having is, I tried to install Win7 Ultimate x64 and my new build constantly freezes during the install process. I have done everything I can think of to remedy this problem, so now I am gonna contact Newegg.com and RMA this processor and get a replacement.
 05/17/2012 03:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rmjohnson144
Lurker

Posts: 24
Joined: 12/25/2011

I had issues of lag and such and it turned out to be APM was throttle system too soon. I disabled from others suggestions and all is fine. It was under advanced menu options with cool and quiet and c-states and such. Should be easy to find.

@alucke2 you need to start a new thread for help. you don't have this issue so you probably aren't going to get much help here.

you sound like you have memory incompagibilty issues or some configuration issues.

-=Mark=-
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information