AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Amd FX-8150 performance
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/12/2012 11:47 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/12/2012 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Arpad
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/12/2012

I am using an Amd FX-8150 with ATI radeon 5870 with 8 Gb ram with asus M5A78L-Le on win 7 64bit and I was playing on League of legends when the game started to lag in fights and my fps fall down to 5-10 from 60 where my old cpu Intel core 2 duo e7300 2.66 Ghz with 4 Gb ram had 80 fps and never lagged in fights.
So i ran 3DMark 11 and got the following results:

Graphics Score: 1441
Physics Score: 3463
Combined Score: 1732

And this is the score what i saw on the internet:

Graphics Score: 6010
Physics Score: 6368
Combined Score: 5534

I also checked my GPU and my radeon 5870 is stronger than most of the 6000 series only 6950/6970/6990 are stronger.
So my question is why is my Cpu has such a poor performance?
 05/17/2012 03:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rmjohnson144
Lurker

Posts: 24
Joined: 12/25/2011

1. Your graphics score are based on GPU performance. You may have driver issues or even hardware issues.

2. you picked probably the worst motherboard processor. 900 series boards are the only official boards to support AM3+. You have a very old 700 series board jury rigged to support bulldozer and may be giving you issues.

Try 12.1 driver for starters. New drivers have been flaky. Be sure to uninstall old drivers first.

Luck
-=Mark=-
 05/17/2012 10:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Arpad
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/12/2012

I understand that the graphics score is for gpu and combined goes for both but still a radeon 5800
Graphics score:~3500 Physics score:~6000 Combined Score:~3500 overdid mine setup
I had that driver that youe mentioned so getting something like this would help?
http://www.gigabyte.com/produc...page.aspx?pid=3901#ov
or should get a better one from here
http://www.gigabyte.com/MicroS...images/900-models.html
 05/30/2012 10:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Speedwayaudio
Overclocker

Posts: 919
Joined: 02/13/2009

It is your motherboard. that is not a gamer bub. as the fella said above that is the old 700 series. Get a 990fx sabertooth or Chrosshair V then play. people cheap out then dont know whay there pc is not running. that board wasn't ment for gaming it was ment to run a Athlon II and do office work and emails.

-------------------------
FX 8150 X 8 4.5MHz
Asus Crosshair V
ATI Radeon HD 6950 X2
8 gb Corsair Dominator GT 9-9-9-24@ 1866mhz DDR3
Seagate 7200.10 HDD LG BluRay HD DVD
w/LightScrib
Crucial M4 128 SSD
55"Vizio LCD
Corsair HX 1000 psu
NZXT Phantom Black
Corsair H80 push/pull
Razer Death Adder VooDoo edition mouse and Keyboard.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information