AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: slow performance AMD64 FX-55
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/15/2005 03:25 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/15/2005 03:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
infidel
Member

Posts: 121
Joined: 10/18/2004

AMD64 FX-55
Asus K8n SLI deluxe
2x1024 Corsair cmx1024re-3200 ECC/Registered 3,3,3,8 @2T DDR400
Audigy4 Pro
2x120 seagate SATA150...not in RAID
x850 XT

I am helping a friend here, those are his specs.

He told me he was getting a new card...2 actually, because Battlefield2 was giving him video lag problems.
This came as a huge surprise to me because I am running BF2 maxed, with full AA with zero problems...on a much slower comp(3200 Venice/x800 XL, 2 gig ram). In fact, it runs perfectly.

We checked his CPU speed, correct at 2.6ghz, memory is correct at 200 and in Dual Channel as verified by CPU-Z 1.30...everything checks out OK. Oh, he was at 2T command rate, but as of this writing he hasn't changed it yet(I suggested he does, unless you shouldn't on FX-55's w/ECC/Reg?).

So, I decided to check the performace he has against 3 other lesser machines I have thoroughly tested, the results were not what they should be.

All tests were done in:
1024x768
highest settings
highest AA
highest AF

Doom3 timedemo demo1: low 70's after multiple runs of course
HL2 Source Stress: low 60's

The AMD64 Venice 3200+'s with 2x1024, x800 xl's I tested against it got:
Doom3: mid 70's
HL2 high 90's -102

Now as anyone can see, this should NOT be happening. That FX-55 with 600 more mhz and an even better video card should have scored about 30% higher than the Venice's results.

Could it be the Audigy4 making this happen? Could it be the ECC/Reg ram? Help please.
 08/15/2005 05:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NeVaDa74
Member

Posts: 189
Joined: 11/30/2004

Have all the correct drivers for motheboard, video and sound card been installed correctly?


-------------------------
 08/15/2005 05:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NeVaDa74
Member

Posts: 189
Joined: 11/30/2004

sorry for two posts ...
But are there any background processes hogging the cpu or memory?
Does he have an antivirus and spyware program installed on his pc?

-------------------------
 08/15/2005 06:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zir_blazer
Code Warrior

Posts: 2840
Joined: 03/19/2004

I agree with NeVaDa74, be sure than there is no Spyware or anything else eating resources in the background. Though the Memory Modules that he uses are slower than conventional Unbuffered Memory Modules, it shouldn't drastically lower the performance and should still be noticeabily higher than yours with such a better Processor and Video Card...
 08/15/2005 07:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
infidel
Member

Posts: 121
Joined: 10/18/2004

runs Firefox...like me and the 3 lesser comps, runs adaware to remove the zero spyware found(yay Firefox).

Runs Norton 2005...like me and the other 3 lesser comps. I always leave Norton Internet 05 running, and live update. That is not the problem nor has it ever been for me.

All same same.
.
.
.
small update: We uninstalled his Cat 5.7's with regular 5.6's with clean install...no changes to video card settings in panel at all.
And it turns out he was running 1280x960 during his HL2/Doom3 tests. His new corrected to match 1024x768 resolution scores are:

Doom3: 80's mid-high
HL2: 140's - 160's

Which sound normal when compared to the other 3 lesser comps! Yay, so far so good.

But...Battlefield 2 is still giving him strange lag. We tried this on our community server just recently(nobody on it except us). He pinged a rock steady 52, which is fine.
I am still getting better frames by almost 30% in some cases, and identical in others. But most importantly, I experince ZERO lagginess. Even if the frames were identical, he would still have the lag issue to worry about.

So it is my theory that BF2 does not like a specific piece of his hardware, seeing as that is the only game giving him problems.
.
.
.
You mentioned processes? Well he did have an incredible excess of those(54 at startup!, which I helped him clean thoroughly.
He will continue to run Norton and small stuff like AIM, crossfire, teamspeak...perhaps it is a combination of those internet connection programs doing it?

It is very late and I am going to render myself unconscious at this time. Thanks for replying and I will post more results when they are given to me. WOPR must thrive!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information