AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Athlon 64 3200, log file on desktop
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/15/2005 11:09 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/15/2005 11:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rln54
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/15/2005

There is a folder on my desktop named "logs". In this folder there is a short discription of my cpu. The folder will appear on startup, after I delete it it will reappear once i start any kind of applicatoin. Does anyone know what might be causing this?
 07/15/2005 11:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dot_pixel651
Senior Member

Posts: 4241
Joined: 05/12/2005

did you do a clean install with latest drivers?

dot.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165
ASUS A8N-SLi Deluxe
PNY 2x512MB DDR500
eVGA 7800GT
WD 2x160 / WD 250
ASUS 16x DVD-ROM / NEC 16x DVD-RW
Samsung 1.44
Ultra X-Finity 600
 07/16/2005 03:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rln54
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/15/2005

QUOTE(rln54 @ Jul 15 2005, 09:09 PM)There is a folder on my desktop named "logs". In this folder there is a short discription of my cpu. The folder will appear on startup,  after I delete it it will reappear once i start any kind of applicatoin. Does anyone know what might be causing this?
[right][snapback]460240[/snapback][/right]


This will fix the problem, caused by WOW patch.

Log Folder Fix

Kaf's fix:

Right-click on WoW shortcut icon on desktop and select "Properties" from menu. Copy the text from "Target" box and paste into "Start in" box. Finally, edit out the program name (WoW.exe)

For example:

Target: "C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\WoW.exe"
Start in: "C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft"

---

Secondary Fix: (If Kaf's doesn't work)

1) Delete your desktop/start menu shortcut that you're using to run World of Warcraft.
2) Delete your Log folder from your desktop
3) Create a shortcut to WoW.exe from your World of Warcraft directory. (For those of you who don't know where that is, it's default installed into C:\Program Files\World of Warcraft\WoW.exe)
4) Put the shortcut onto your desktop and run the game to the login screen and exit. Problem should be fixed.

=============================================
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information