AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Yet another freezing issue...
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/30/2005 05:01 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/30/2005 05:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HellsChicken
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 12/30/2005

So I just build a brand new PC with MCE 2005, and...

My system randomly freezes. It can be while playing a game, listening to music, or just idling. The time between freezes seems to be random, between a few minutes and roughly an hour.

I have fully updated drivers for everything, and have been reading many newsgroup discussions on potential solutions regarding using older drivers (for instance, nvidia 78, but that causes some weird effects on my system too), BIOS settings/newest version, etc.. but I seem to be one of those people who isn't getting anywhere. The only thing I haven't tried is to do a fresh windows install and forcing it to use a single CPU, rather than both in the dual-core CPU (which, even if it worked, would just make the whole x2 thing a waste of money...).

I have even tried nvidia's instructions for preventing multi-threaded optimization with direct3D and OpenGL, to no avail. Also, in updaing my CPU drivers, the version on the website says 1.2.2.2, but that always shows up in device manager as 1.2.2.0.

I haven't tried the MS hotfix.. has anyone had any luck with it?

Thank you for any help you can provide!

The system:
AMD 64 4400+ x2 (latest drivers... though see the paragraph about its version above)
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (latest drivers all-round; active armor, cool 'n quiet, and the various other features not installed, latest beta bios 11 (tried the previous one too, with the same problem))
2x1024MB PC3200 Corsair Value Select in dual channel mode.
2xWD 200JS SATA2 in RAID0 with the nforce raid controller.
PNY GeForce 7800GT (currently using the 81.98 drivers released last week.. no problem solved).
Hauppage 500PVR (dual tuner)
Sound Blaster X-Fi (latest drivers)
Dlink wireless g card (currently disabled anyway).
 12/31/2005 01:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
o1die
Member

Posts: 154
Joined: 10/19/2003

What is the brand and rating of your power supply?
 12/31/2005 02:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
XaWN
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/31/2005

Please read my recent post. I think it might help you.

http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=64589' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=64589

-Shawn

P.S. You can identify it as a power supply problem using the same method as I have outlined.
 12/31/2005 01:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HellsChicken
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 12/30/2005

It is an Ultra X-Finity 600W PSU. I am hoping it is not a voltage problem, but I'm not ruling anything out at this point.

I got the microsoft hotfix (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/896256), and then downloaded AMD's power monitor. So far, it has been rocksteady at 1.350v for both cores. This has been unflinching no matter what I've been doing, so I'm not sure if that's good, or just incorrect (though likely the latter).

I've yet to have a lockup at the time of this writing, but then my system has only been on for about 10-15 minutes, which means nothing, since the random freezes can be anywhere from 10 minutes to a couple hours apart.

I'll let you know though if this ends up being stable.. but for now, I'll still be looking for more solutions!

Thanks for the advice about the voltage.. I'm going to have to find a better way of looking into that, since this unflinching voltage reading is probably wrong!
 12/31/2005 01:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HellsChicken
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 12/30/2005

Nope, that didn't do the trick...
 01/01/2006 09:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
smlmod
Member

Posts: 83
Joined: 12/11/2005

ok, random freezes in windows with an AMD 64 cpu happen when the noExecute function is on either Optin, Optout, or AlwaysON.

Set it to Always Off, any your computer will be rock stable, trust me, this is my 2nd' comp to do that to, a labby and a home use comp.
 01/01/2006 10:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HellsChicken
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 12/30/2005

Thanks for the suggestion. I turned optin to alwaysoff. The problem persists.
 01/01/2006 10:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
smlmod
Member

Posts: 83
Joined: 12/11/2005

do you have the amd driver installed?
 01/01/2006 11:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EdgE 45
Senior Member

Posts: 729
Joined: 09/03/2005

might be the sound blaster card, i,ve heard of compatible problems? Just a thought /sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' /> i,m using the 1009 bios

-------------------------
Amd 4400x2
asus a8n-sli premium
pc power 510
corsair twinx2048-3500LLpro
70gb wd 10,000x2
evga 7800gtx X-Fi Platinum
 01/01/2006 11:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
yetieater
Member

Posts: 174
Joined: 06/08/2005

Do you get any blue screens? Tried MemTest to see if it's a memory-related problem?

-------------------------
OCEANBLUe | AMD64 3800+ Venice | 1GB Corsair XMS | Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
Seagate SATA Barracuda 200GB | Lite-On DVD±RW | Sapphire ATi Radeon X800XL Ultimate Edition
Logitech MX500 Optical Mouse | Samsung SyncMaster 910MP
DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D 6-23 OFFICIAL BIOS | ThermalTake Silent PurePower 480W PSU
3DMark2001SE: 26713 | 3DMark2003: 11921 | 3DMark2005: 5490

blog.
 01/01/2006 11:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EdgE 45
Senior Member

Posts: 729
Joined: 09/03/2005

From what Ive read ,freezing is often is caused by memory or video card related problems. Have u set the memory timings in the bios ,mabe loosen them up and see what happens /ph34r.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='ph34r.gif' />

-------------------------
Amd 4400x2
asus a8n-sli premium
pc power 510
corsair twinx2048-3500LLpro
70gb wd 10,000x2
evga 7800gtx X-Fi Platinum
 01/02/2006 01:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HellsChicken
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 12/30/2005

-I have the AMD driver installed, though I can only get it to come up as 1.2.2.0, not 1.2.2.2 (don't know if it matters). However, I tried getting rid of it completely and just running off the MS one, which did not solve the problem.
-No blue screens. I ran memtest overnight.. went through 6 full testing cycles, error and problem free.
-Haven't loosened the mem timings.. but if it was fine in memtest, would it matter? For the vid card.. strangely, the comp is at its most stable while playing games, which leads me to believe (though possibly incorrectly) that the vid card is alright.

The x-fi i will look into, if you heard it is having problems.

Thanks for all the suggestions, please, keep them coming! /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />
 01/02/2006 01:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
yetieater
Member

Posts: 174
Joined: 06/08/2005

Very strange. If I have stability problems, I get BSODs. What happens when the computer freezes? Does the screen go black? No image displayed on the monitor? If so, then it's likely to be a video card problem.

Nothing's wrong with the processor driver version. I installed the 1.2.2.2 and it shows up as 1.2.2.0.

-------------------------
OCEANBLUe | AMD64 3800+ Venice | 1GB Corsair XMS | Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
Seagate SATA Barracuda 200GB | Lite-On DVD±RW | Sapphire ATi Radeon X800XL Ultimate Edition
Logitech MX500 Optical Mouse | Samsung SyncMaster 910MP
DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D 6-23 OFFICIAL BIOS | ThermalTake Silent PurePower 480W PSU
3DMark2001SE: 26713 | 3DMark2003: 11921 | 3DMark2005: 5490

blog.
 01/02/2006 02:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HellsChicken
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 12/30/2005

Actually, when it freezes, it just stops accepting any interaction and processing new things. If a song is or video is playing, it will continue to do so. When it finishes, I'll have to hit the reset button. Occasionally I can hit alt-tab to bring up that little window, though it doesn't process the change. For anything else, like if it freezes when clicking a link on the web, it won't go through with it, it just freezes there. I can always move the mouse cursor around, but that is all. Ctrl-alt-dlt does not respond.
 01/02/2006 07:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EdgE 45
Senior Member

Posts: 729
Joined: 09/03/2005

Strange ,When my computer freezes any time ,Like in a game ,I can be in the middle of a fight ,the pic just stops ,mouse wont move, cant bring up task manager,(that little box)lol And then i have to hit reset .Only in bf2 when it has froze before,the music will still play(like on a loop) :unsure:Almost sounds like and incompatibility problem ,Have u run msconfig and unchecked every thing (except anti-virus) click apply and reboot? This will stop al the other process's running in the back ground ,will also have faster boot and help run a little faster

-------------------------
Amd 4400x2
asus a8n-sli premium
pc power 510
corsair twinx2048-3500LLpro
70gb wd 10,000x2
evga 7800gtx X-Fi Platinum
 01/02/2006 10:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mrbeefy
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/14/2005

have you thought of hdd corruption? i had a few bad sata drives and my pc would freeze off and on at real random times but would come back to life eventually. come to find out i had corrupted info on my sata's. most hdd companies have software to check this you might try that.
 01/03/2006 06:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HellsChicken
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 12/30/2005

Thanks for all the help everyone. I solved the problem... though I am not sure WHY this solved it...

I reinstalled Windows (again), except this time, rather than doing a format and clean install, I at first tried a repair install.

This failed, because about halfway through the install, for some reason, the installer stopped being able to read the files off the CD (quite bizzarre, since when the box pops up asking you to locate the file, and you hit browse... it's right there, clear as day, yet it would not read it. I could even copy and paste the file to my hard drive, and then tried pointing the installer to the file there, but it just wouldn't accept it).

With that not working, I did a "fresh" install without formatting.. I opted to hit "L" to delete the current windows folder.

Now I'm back up and running with the same software and drivers I had running the previous times, except no freezing!

Weird, but I'm not complaining...
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information