AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: "Divide Overflow Error"
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/13/2005 07:51 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/13/2005 07:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PrinceHeart
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 01/13/2005

Hi,

I am a new user of AMD Athlon 3000 +, MB NVidia NForce3 250 GB, 1024 MB Kingston DDR RAM and Windows XP Pro SP2

I am trying to use PowerQuest Drive Image - when I am trying to run it under Windows to create an image of my second HDD - non system - it's OK -


BUT when I try to run it in dos mode - with rescue DOS disks - Caldera DOS - to create an Image of the system disk - it is always the same


" DIVIDE ERROR" or sometimes "DIVIDE OVERFLOW ERROR"



Is this so called "Enhance Virus Protection" of AMD with service pack 2 ?? and if so - can it be switched off ??

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64, 754, 3000 +
ASUS K8N-E Deluxe
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128
2 x 512 Kingston 400
2 HDD x 160 Maxtor - SATA (non-RAID)
1 HDD x 80 Maxtor - IDE
DVD-RW NEC
Dual Boot - W2K SP4 ; WXP SP2
 01/13/2005 08:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcy
Senior Member

Posts: 2029
Joined: 10/18/2003

Hi,

When you are running in DOS mode SP2 (which is an upgrade to XP) is not running, hence irrelevant.

The problem is more likely to be that DOS does not fully understand your HD.

If your HD is SATA, or if it's bigger than 120GB then that could provide problems for DOS and hence for the DOS based bootable version of DriveImage.

This issue affects other, similar programs. Norton Ghost, for instance, does work on some SATA setups, but cannot write back to a SATA mirror. It almost works, though - it writes to one of the mirrored drives, but no the other. Wunderbar.

It's worth while to think through what's going on.

1. All the utilites need to use an alternate OS because the Sytem Partiion is changing while the normal OS is running. You can't back it up in that dynamic state.

2. And they all use DOS becaue it's cheap and simple and...

3. But they need to use low level disk IO commands because they have to record things about the partion that are not normally visible.

4. Then SATA comes along. The mobo provides some sort of basic compatability so DOS just sees them as ordinary IDE drives. But we all know you actually need SATA drivers to use a SATA drive properly - XP needs them just to install or boot.

5. So we know that some features of SATA are not supported by DOS.

6. And as a result all these DOS based utilities work sometimes and fail sometimes - depending on exactly how you have set up your hardware.


Peter
 01/19/2005 08:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PrinceHeart
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 01/13/2005

Hi Peter,

Thanks for the info - but does it mean that I will never make a copy of my system to restore from DOS - what if my PC does not want to enter anything else than DOS ? To repair system via XP Disk is not ever succesible.

There are some "Make Sata disk drives" option in my installation NForce disk - is this to inform DOS about sata drivers ?

I was wandering about XP SP2, becouse on my Processor box it is written, that AMD 64 combined with SP2 makes some enhanced extra hardware virus protection ???? I dont know what this really means??

Regards

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64, 754, 3000 +
ASUS K8N-E Deluxe
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128
2 x 512 Kingston 400
2 HDD x 160 Maxtor - SATA (non-RAID)
1 HDD x 80 Maxtor - IDE
DVD-RW NEC
Dual Boot - W2K SP4 ; WXP SP2
 02/05/2006 05:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mike23
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/05/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: PrinceHeart
Hi Peter,

Thanks for the info - but does it mean that I will never make a copy of my system to restore from DOS - what if my PC does not want to enter anything else than DOS ? To repair system via XP Disk is not ever succesible.

There are some "Make Sata disk drives" option in my installation NForce disk - is this to inform DOS about sata drivers ?

I was wandering about XP SP2, becouse on my Processor box it is written, that AMD 64 combined with SP2 makes some enhanced extra hardware virus protection ???? I dont know what this really means??

Regards




I am seeing this same problem with almost the identical configuration - same processor and ASUS motherboard. When I iinstall a Samsung 160GB drive, I get the error. Have any solutions been offered?

Thanks,
Mike

 02/05/2006 05:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

http://www.ubcd4win.com/
this will allow you to run a windows environment from a CD.
it will run with no hard drives installed or no windows installed.
it comes with image and backup tools and is freeware.
copy safely copy data from a damaged hard drive, recover partitions, etc.

incredibly useful

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 02/07/2006 05:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
varianiv
Senior Member

Posts: 1254
Joined: 11/22/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: zeppelinrox
http://www.ubcd4win.com/
this will allow you to run a windows environment from a CD.
it will run with no hard drives installed or no windows installed.
it comes with image and backup tools and is freeware.
copy safely copy data from a damaged hard drive, recover partitions, etc.

incredibly useful


Great post! Been using UBCD 3.3 for a while now, did not know there was a UBCD4win

I'll definitely be getting this package soon!

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165 CCBBE (2.7GHz @ 1.35v)
DFI CFX3200-DR (07/28)
Kingston HyperX DDR500 (3-3-3-8-1T)
Asus Dark Knight Radeon 4870 1GB
Audigy 2
2x 74GB Western Digital Raptors in RAID0
500GB SATA-300 WD Drive
CoolerMaster RealPowerPro 850W
NZXT Zero full-tower case
Windows XP Pro SP2
 02/07/2006 10:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

thanks
actually check there.. you can combine both CDs onto a single CD
http://forums.amd.com/index.ph...pic=...97&#entry611297

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information