AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: System won't boot
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/14/2005 11:01 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/14/2005 11:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
David Arnold
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 01/14/2005

Asus K8N-E Deluxe Motherboard
Athlon64 3400+ w/Retail heatsink

While playing Half-Life 2, the system simply rebooted. Got back into windows, started Half-Life2 and it rebooted again. Now the motherboard complains of "Boot failed due to CPU overclocking", no video, this is Asus audio reporter. Funny thing is - I don't overclock. Reset the bios by removing the CMOS battery and setting the CLR jumper - booted, got into the bios, it does report an Athlon 3400. Exited bios - the system reboots and I get the same error "Boot failed due to CPU overclocking".

So - CPU or motherboard

I do not have another socket 754 board to test the CPU with, nor another socket 754 CPU
 01/14/2005 12:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Glassmaster
Senior Member

Posts: 3773
Joined: 08/18/2004

QUOTE So - CPU or motherboard
Power supply, what brand PSU are you using, and what are the amps on the 12V rail? This information is located on a sticker on the side of the PSU.

Glassmaster.

-------------------------
Power Supply Guide' ">http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=792566 Memtest86' ">http://www.memtest.org/#downiso Prime95' ">http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft.htm SuperPI' ">http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=36 3dmark05' ">http://www.futuremark.com/download/?3dmark05.shtml CPU-Z' ">http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php#download <
 01/14/2005 01:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
David Arnold
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 01/14/2005

Antec NeoPower 480 W

2 +12 Volt Rails

Rail A is 18A
Rail B is 15A

1 -12 Volt Rail at 1A

I should add that the system has been running smoothly since Thanksgiving

EDIT: Same power supply as you Glassmaster
 01/14/2005 01:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bruneauinfo
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2823
Joined: 08/27/2004

Geesh... now I had that problem with my SK8V mobo and my FX-51. From what I can remember it had to do with improper BIOS settings or something to that nature. Have you been in your BIOS screwing around with stuff?

BTW, sweet PSU.

-------------------------
asus P6T Del V2 w/i7 920 6g ddr3 1600
Sapphire HD5770
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
Smilodon case is STILL the best ever, ever, ever!!!
 01/14/2005 01:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
David Arnold
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 01/14/2005

QUOTE (Bruneauinfo @ Jan 14 2005, 10:39 AM) Have you been in your BIOS screwing around with stuff?
Nope, only thing I did in the bios was enable the secondary SATA controller and change boot order. Have not touched power settings, clock freq, or memory timings.
 01/14/2005 01:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bruneauinfo
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2823
Joined: 08/27/2004

What graphics card are you using?

-------------------------
asus P6T Del V2 w/i7 920 6g ddr3 1600
Sapphire HD5770
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
Smilodon case is STILL the best ever, ever, ever!!!
 01/14/2005 01:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
@ssman
Senior Member

Posts: 432
Joined: 09/28/2004

Clear your CMOS, see if that allows you to reboot.

-------------------------
AMD64 3200/754
GEFORCE 6800
MB AOPEN AK86L VIA K8T800
1GB MUSHKIN PC3200
TURTLE BEACH SANTA CRUZ SOUND CARD
ALTEC LANSING 641s 200W SPEAKERS


 01/14/2005 01:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
David Arnold
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 01/14/2005

QUOTE Clear your CMOS, see if that allows you to reboot.

See orignal post - it does, until it reboots after exiting the bios

QUOTE What graphics card are you using?

ATI X800XT stock speeds w/aftermarket cooler on it
 01/14/2005 02:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
David Arnold
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 01/14/2005

OK, I cleared the CMOS again booted and got into the BIOS. About 15 seconds into checking option, boom - system shutoff.
 01/14/2005 02:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bruneauinfo
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2823
Joined: 08/27/2004

Sounds like your CPU is overheating maybe. Check your HSF installation and make sure your CPU fan is coming on during "boot up".

-------------------------
asus P6T Del V2 w/i7 920 6g ddr3 1600
Sapphire HD5770
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
Smilodon case is STILL the best ever, ever, ever!!!
 01/14/2005 06:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
David Arnold
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 01/14/2005

QUOTE (Bruneauinfo @ Jan 14 2005, 11:59 AM) Sounds like your CPU is overheating maybe. Check your HSF installation and make sure your CPU fan is coming on during "boot up".
I did, fan is running. It's been running fine for two months now and it just decides to overheat? Anyway, it's getting shipped back to AMD Monday morning - AMD tech support was pretty fast about telling me to ship it back.
 01/14/2005 07:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cwetmore(CA)
Member

Posts: 118
Joined: 06/05/2004

i had that happen to me and it was the mutiplier some how it set itself too low
mmmm now that i think about it it happened after bios update
all i did was set multiplier back and my is fine now
 01/14/2005 10:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bruneauinfo
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2823
Joined: 08/27/2004

Perhaps your CPUs have spontaneously UNLOCKED their multiplier!!!! WOW!!!! Maybe that explains why AMD wants the proc back so bad!!! Hey, I'd look into that! If you can change your multiplier higher than, what is it a 3500?? so that would be 11x ... hey you might just have an FX51jr (i.e. Junior) That thing would be worth some money man!

-------------------------
asus P6T Del V2 w/i7 920 6g ddr3 1600
Sapphire HD5770
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
Smilodon case is STILL the best ever, ever, ever!!!
 01/14/2005 11:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Glassmaster
Senior Member

Posts: 3773
Joined: 08/18/2004

QUOTE Anyway, it's getting shipped back to AMD Monday morning - AMD tech support was pretty fast about telling me to ship it back.
I would have said motherboard first, but you might RMA them both.

Glassmaster.

-------------------------
Power Supply Guide' ">http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=792566 Memtest86' ">http://www.memtest.org/#downiso Prime95' ">http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft.htm SuperPI' ">http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=36 3dmark05' ">http://www.futuremark.com/download/?3dmark05.shtml CPU-Z' ">http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php#download <
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information