AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Do I need thermal grease for my cpu
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/18/2005 05:44 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/18/2005 05:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
|jay|
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/18/2005

i got a 3200 64bit amd cpu... socket 939..

on the book thingy it says i need to apply thermal grease,,

on the bottom of the heatsink it has this white pad thing.. (im guessing a thermal pad?)... so do i still need tpo apply thermal grease?
 01/18/2005 10:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Glassmaster
Senior Member

Posts: 3773
Joined: 08/18/2004

No, if you ever need to take the HSF off after having used the computer, you will need to clean it and the processor's heat spreader, and apply some thermal grease.

Glassmaster.

-------------------------
Power Supply Guide' ">http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=792566 Memtest86' ">http://www.memtest.org/#downiso Prime95' ">http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft.htm SuperPI' ">http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=36 3dmark05' ">http://www.futuremark.com/download/?3dmark05.shtml CPU-Z' ">http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php#download <
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information