AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Software compatibility
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/24/2005 07:07 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/24/2005 07:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CorkyCorcoran
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/11/2005

I put together an Athlon 64 3400+, A8V MB. (I'm a nosepicker, not a computer guy.) Worked fine, loaded Computer Associates EZ Armor, including EZ Antivirus. Computer started rebooting. It boots up to the desktop, then reboots again, and again, and again. Checked with Computer Associates, they emailed that I need to see if the CPU was compatible with their program.

Emailed back that the CPU worked, the program didn't, and maybe they could help. No answer.

And AMD has been less than accessible, even following their directions for contact.

Anyone know if incompatibility is a problem, and more importantly, how I can get the thing to stop rebooting.

I'd more than appreciate it.

Thanks, Corky Corcoran
 01/24/2005 07:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bvchurch
Senior Member

Posts: 8655
Joined: 06/24/2004

QUOTE (CorkyCorcoran @ Jan 24 2005, 04:07 PM) I put together an Athlon 64 3400+, A8V MB. (I'm a nosepicker, not a computer guy.) Worked fine, loaded Computer Associates EZ Armor, including EZ Antivirus. Computer started rebooting. It boots up to the desktop, then reboots again, and again, and again. Checked with Computer Associates, they emailed that I need to see if the CPU was compatible with their program.

Emailed back that the CPU worked, the program didn't, and maybe they could help. No answer.

And AMD has been less than accessible, even following their directions for contact.

Anyone know if incompatibility is a problem, and more importantly, how I can get the thing to stop rebooting.

I'd more than appreciate it.

Thanks, Corky Corcoran
You can try booting into safemode. To do this get into safemode, as soon as the bios finishes posting, then go ahead and hit the F8 key and it will give you the option to go into safe mode and remove the program. Make sure it doesnt reboot in safe mode. It does sound like the CA software just didnt install right. I dont think its a cpu issue, just a bad install.
 01/24/2005 09:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CorkyCorcoran
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/11/2005

That worked. Uninstalled the program suite, and it's screaming along once more. Thanks a lot.

Corky
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information