AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Cool'n'Quiet
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/06/2003 01:34 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/06/2003 01:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fishyuk
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 10/06/2003

I've seen that there is a Cool'n'Quiet driver available for Win2K/ME but is one required for XP? I've got an Athlon64 with an MSI K8T Neo board and haven't seen the processor drop under stock MHz/Voltage even under low load. There seems to be limited documentation on Cool'n'Quiet available but isn't it a little like PowerNow?

My system is running as a Home Theatre PC and I'd be interested if I could run the processor at a lower voltage/frequency for general playback/TV viewing and just have it clock up for games/encoding.

Cheers

Alex
 10/06/2003 11:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xUNREALNEOx
Member

Posts: 149
Joined: 10/06/2003

sounds interesting...

-------------------------

14,434 9600Pro' ">http://wijzr.url.cjb.net/ 12,415 Ti200' ">http://batey.url.cjb.net/ 4,029 9600Pro' ">http://mgzue.url.cjb.net/
.:Team cpucity:.' ">http://www.cpucity.co.uk
:: MadOnion
 10/07/2003 04:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sake
Member

Posts: 83
Joined: 10/06/2003

Isn't it the same way as with a laptop.....
WinXp has built in powernow support, where Win2K/ME has not.

So for Win2k/ME you need additional software and not for WinXP.
In WinXP just adjust the the powermeter. It's the way I do with my NX9005 (mobile AXP)

So to test this:
Set the powerscheme to portable/laptop and see if the CPU frequency has dropped.
If powernow is enabled on this combo then the frequency will be instantly lower. Check with WCPUID for instance.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon64 X2 Dual-Core and AMD Turion Mobile Technology entered the building
 10/07/2003 10:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fishyuk
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 10/06/2003

Nope, tried it but I haven't seen a drop in frequency. The MSI supposedly supports Cool'n'Quiet but they only really document their automatic overclocking features.

AMD documentation on Cool'n'Quiet also seems thin on the ground (is anyone from AMD reading this?).

Perhaps it'll activate in a later MSI BIOS release or something. Tried briefly to get an answer on the MSI support forums but they couldn't get their heads around the fact I was actually wanting to lower the frequency rather than overclock!
 10/07/2003 04:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
StormPC
Senior Member

Posts: 548
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (fishyuk @ Oct 7 2003, 06:28 AM) Nope, tried it but I haven't seen a drop in frequency. The MSI supposedly supports Cool'n'Quiet but they only really document their automatic overclocking features.

AMD documentation on Cool'n'Quiet also seems thin on the ground (is anyone from AMD reading this?).

Perhaps it'll activate in a later MSI BIOS release or something. Tried briefly to get an answer on the MSI support forums but they couldn't get their heads around the fact I was actually wanting to lower the frequency rather than overclock!
I don't recommend "Cool and Quiet" or any other type of CPU throttling unless you have a really poorly ventilated or small case. It's not necessary and only slows down your system.
 10/07/2003 04:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Deadlocked
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/07/2003

I don't think it slows down the PC.
PowerNow! doesn't do it too, or does't do it so that you would notice it...
 10/08/2003 07:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fishyuk
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 10/06/2003

I was looking at the MSI support forum and saw a post from Seranko. There are details on how to enable cool'n'quiet here

http://www.msi.com.tw/html/e_s...eche...6702/page11.htm' ">http://www.msi.com.tw/html/e_s...column/6702/page11.htm

I have followed these and they do not work on my system. In fact the implication is from the instructions that my Athlon64 does not have Cool'n'Quiet enabled as its model number does not end in a "0". Both Seranko and I have the following model number on our Athlon64s:

ADA3200AEP5AP

Is this an "engineering sample?", if it is I'll be livid as this was a boxed processor bought after the launch. One of the main drivers for getting the A64 was Cool'n'Quiet. Please if there is anyone from AMD out there can you let us know the score on this.



 10/08/2003 07:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dagalidis
Senior Member

Posts: 243
Joined: 10/07/2003

Cool'n'Quiet also supported by ASUS K8V Deluxe Board but i will leave it disabled...

-------------------------
ATHLON64 3200+@2380(238X10) 1.644 Vcore Cooling By AMD Stock Heatsink ASUS K8V Deluxe (VIA K8T800 Chipset) 256x2 TWINMOS PC3700 5-3-2-2.5 at 2.8V Sound Blaster AUDIGY 2 Sound Blaster Megaworks Speakers 2.1 250D THX / 300 WRMS LEADTEK FX5900 128MB My ViVo
<span style='co
 10/10/2003 12:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
carrmic
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/10/2003

Hi fishyuk,

I saw your postings over at Ace's Hardware' ">http://www.aceshardware.com and wanted to give you some information about mine. I haven't gotten "cool 'n quiet" working yet but I just started putting the system together.

I have the Asus K8V Deluxe. This board came with the mounting bracket and backplate installed (I think you asked about that at one point). I have a retail A64 3200+ which also came with the backplate and bracket. The model number looked similar to the one you posted at Ace's (ended with a P not a 0). I'll post the exact model tonight for you.

My BIOS has an option for "cool 'n quiet" in it enabled. However I have a little issue with the processor driver not showing up in Windows XP. Supposedly a beta BIOS will fix this. I'm going to update that tonight and see if the cool and quiet works. I'll post back with anything I find out.
 10/11/2003 01:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Templar
Member

Posts: 82
Joined: 10/11/2003

Is there any way of getting to know the batch number on my CPU without taking the cooler off?

I'm one of the early birds too and I think I have a sample where CoolNQuiet doesn't work.


Simon

-------------------------
Here lies one
who's name is
writ in water.
"Keats".
Gaming Rig:
[FX-55][Asus A8N SLI Deluxe][1GB CorsairXL 22211T1][ATi X850XT PE][4x160GB SATA+200GB Maxtor Ext. Firew.][NEC DVD-RW 3500][Audigy2@Cambridge THX 500W 5.1][PCPowerAndCooling 510W][TT Xaser 3 alu][22" Mitsubishi SuperBright][Zalman Reserator+MCW50]
Labtop (work):
[ECS G551 Centrino 1400MHz][512MB PC2700 ECC][M9 Radeon9000 64MB][15.1&quo
 10/12/2003 03:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
carrmic
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/10/2003

Ok, I got Cool 'N Quiet working on my system. I have the Asus K8V Deluxe motherboard which had an enable Cool 'N Quiet option. However the 1002 BIOS didn't report the processor to Windows XP so I had to flash to the latest beta 1003.012 so I could install the processor driver from AMD. After doing this and re-enabling the cool 'N Quiet feature and setting the power saving mode in windows to minimal it worked! I used wcpuid's realtime clock reporter to check it out. Very slick feature. My fan speed didn't go down while I was watching it but it is already very low (and quiet), around 3200 RPM most of the time.

Here are the first two lines of info on my processor (retail A64 3200+) for comparison (I don't know what they all mean):
ADA3200AEP5AP
CAAKC 0333XPMW

I think this is probably a BIOS problem and not a processor problem for you guys.
One note on the beta BIOS, apparently it broke the motherboard temperature reporting in the Asus PC Probe utility for Windows. Not a big deal right now.
 10/12/2003 03:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fishyuk
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 10/06/2003

Good news, looks like MSI's original Cool'n'Quiet info was incorrect (about the model numbers ending in 0). I have the same model number as you so hopefully when MSI get off BIOS rev 1.00 it will be enabled.

Thanks

Alex
 10/24/2003 09:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sake
Member

Posts: 83
Joined: 10/06/2003

Beta BIOS v1.14 has the Cool 'N Quiet option.
Flashed my MSI K8T NEO and it's working now.

http://www.msi-computer.de/pro...oduk...IOS&Prod_id=317' ">http://www.msi-computer.de/pro...Seite=BIOS&Prod_id=317

-------------------------
AMD Athlon64 X2 Dual-Core and AMD Turion Mobile Technology entered the building
 10/24/2003 10:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
infiltrator
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4334
Joined: 10/08/2003

Thanks for the Link - Hope it don't turn my BIOS into a German one!

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 10/24/2003 12:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Templar
Member

Posts: 82
Joined: 10/11/2003

it's an English language BIOS but the bat file and readme are German. I don't get it why MSI international hasn't posted this BIOS...

-------------------------
Here lies one
who's name is
writ in water.
"Keats".
Gaming Rig:
[FX-55][Asus A8N SLI Deluxe][1GB CorsairXL 22211T1][ATi X850XT PE][4x160GB SATA+200GB Maxtor Ext. Firew.][NEC DVD-RW 3500][Audigy2@Cambridge THX 500W 5.1][PCPowerAndCooling 510W][TT Xaser 3 alu][22" Mitsubishi SuperBright][Zalman Reserator+MCW50]
Labtop (work):
[ECS G551 Centrino 1400MHz][512MB PC2700 ECC][M9 Radeon9000 64MB][15.1&quo
 10/24/2003 07:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
infiltrator
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4334
Joined: 10/08/2003

I Was wondering about that too. I've loaded the BIOS and it seems my RAID is more happier Not sure if I need Cool' and Quiet - but I always prefer the latest BIOS (mostly always good )

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information