AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Yes, I know this has been covered..single to dual
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/10/2006 08:34 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/10/2006 08:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bnelse92
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/09/2006

Ok, I have read almost every post I can find about upgrading from single core to dual core and haven't found an answer to my problem. I went from a Athlon XP3000 to X2 4600 and I don't think both cores are being recognized. Windows XP Pro is saying I have a Dual-core in the my Computer general tab and also in device manager and my bios sees it but task manager only shows one CPU graph. I have installed AMD dual-core driver and optimizer to no avail. I will try to install MS hotfix but I don't think that will fix this problem. I really don't want to re-install windows...just too much stuff to re-install and configure. Please...any suggestions?
 12/10/2006 09:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fizzbang
Senior Member

Posts: 1256
Joined: 03/05/2006

Go to Windows Task Manager, Performance tab. Choose View, CPU History, One graph per CPU.

-------------------------
939Dual-SATA2 v1.05, BIOS v2.31
Opteron 165 (CCBWE 0550UPMW) @2.7GHz, 1.35V
TWINX2048-3200C2PT 2.5-3-3-6 1T
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
ATI X1800GTO
 12/10/2006 09:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bnelse92
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/09/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: fizzbang
Go to Windows Task Manager, Performance tab. Choose View, CPU History, One graph per CPU.


That otion is there but it is greyed out, I can't click it.
 12/10/2006 09:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fizzbang
Senior Member

Posts: 1256
Joined: 03/05/2006

What does Device Manager report? ACPI Multiprocessor PC?

-------------------------
939Dual-SATA2 v1.05, BIOS v2.31
Opteron 165 (CCBWE 0550UPMW) @2.7GHz, 1.35V
TWINX2048-3200C2PT 2.5-3-3-6 1T
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
ATI X1800GTO
 12/10/2006 11:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bnelse92
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/09/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: fizzbang
What does Device Manager report? ACPI Multiprocessor PC?


Yes it does. And under processors it correctly identifies the x2...however, there is only one listing here for the x2, should there be two?
 12/10/2006 11:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MadMarky
Senior Member

Posts: 1240
Joined: 10/06/2003

There should be a listing for each core, two in this case.
This is quite strange behavior, my upgrade from a 3500+ to a 4600+ went totally smooth. What kind of motherboard do you have and does it support dualcore processors?

-------------------------
AMD Athlon X2 4600+ @ 2.8Ghz
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
2x 1GB G.Skill PC4000
XFX GeForce 7900GT
Antec TrueBlue 480w PSU
Thermaltake Xaser III case
 12/10/2006 04:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bnelse92
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/09/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: MadMarky
There should be a listing for each core, two in this case.
This is quite strange behavior, my upgrade from a 3500+ to a 4600+ went totally smooth. What kind of motherboard do you have and does it support dualcore processors?


Un-f'ing believable. It turns out that my motherboard does not support dualcore. Asus A8v-e deluxe. Now what....don't know if I can return processor and I don't really want to change my motherboard for another socket 939 right now. I'm screwed!
 12/10/2006 04:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Camthrax
Senior Member

Posts: 1355
Joined: 12/08/2006

them's the breaks unfortunately. you should have checked that it wsa compatible before you got it.

however, personally i would be tending to lean towards a new motherboard, as the processor you have got is quite a decent one.

bad luck dude....

-------------------------

Work requires research. thus, the Camthraxinator has returned.
AYB Proof that all your base are belong to Queen.


Proud Owner of a bass that's pickups are worth more than the bass itself.
 12/10/2006 04:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ravanger
Senior Member

Posts: 1916
Joined: 01/11/2006

wait, shouldnt the A8V series be compatible, did u try flashing the BIOS to a newer one?

-------------------------
<img src="http://img247.imageshack.us/im...7387/316515972mak2.jpg" border="0" alt="IPB Ima
 12/10/2006 04:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DoctorWHO
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Joined: 10/04/2004

Indeed I would be surprised if a Bios Flash didn't fix your problem and make your Mobo Dual Core compatible.

-------------------------
AMD 64 X2 4200+ Manchester
GA-K8NXP-SLI 939 Rev-F11
1Gig Kingston PC3200 - 1Gig OCZ PC3200
CL 2.5-3-3-6
1T+ HDD
320+250+200+(120x2)
LG DVDRAM GSA 4163B DL
Asus EN7900GS
Antec True Power Trio 550W PSU
 12/10/2006 04:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Camthrax
Senior Member

Posts: 1355
Joined: 12/08/2006

or that....

-------------------------

Work requires research. thus, the Camthraxinator has returned.
AYB Proof that all your base are belong to Queen.


Proud Owner of a bass that's pickups are worth more than the bass itself.
 12/10/2006 04:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ravanger
Senior Member

Posts: 1916
Joined: 01/11/2006

or he could just slap the comp upside its psu and scream at it until it does it by itself

-------------------------
<img src="http://img247.imageshack.us/im...7387/316515972mak2.jpg" border="0" alt="IPB Ima
 12/10/2006 04:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Camthrax
Senior Member

Posts: 1355
Joined: 12/08/2006

yeah, cause you know, that always works....

-------------------------

Work requires research. thus, the Camthraxinator has returned.
AYB Proof that all your base are belong to Queen.


Proud Owner of a bass that's pickups are worth more than the bass itself.
 12/10/2006 04:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ravanger
Senior Member

Posts: 1916
Joined: 01/11/2006

youd be surprised

-------------------------
<img src="http://img247.imageshack.us/im...7387/316515972mak2.jpg" border="0" alt="IPB Ima
 12/10/2006 04:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Camthrax
Senior Member

Posts: 1355
Joined: 12/08/2006

ill take your word for it.

-------------------------

Work requires research. thus, the Camthraxinator has returned.
AYB Proof that all your base are belong to Queen.


Proud Owner of a bass that's pickups are worth more than the bass itself.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information