AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Is my 4600 x 2 running as it should ?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/11/2006 05:35 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/11/2006 05:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sham
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/11/2006

My computer is used for running Maya. The CPU only seems to run one side at a time, when I,m number crunching< if I look in Task Manager the CPU only seems to get to 50% and just sits there . how can I change this ?
 12/11/2006 07:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DoctorWHO
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Joined: 10/04/2004

I used to have that problem with video encoding.
I looked for an update for my encoding software and found an update meant for hyperthreading in windows xp , apparently it enabled dual cpu support for the software and worked like a charm.

-------------------------
AMD 64 X2 4200+ Manchester
GA-K8NXP-SLI 939 Rev-F11
1Gig Kingston PC3200 - 1Gig OCZ PC3200
CL 2.5-3-3-6
1T+ HDD
320+250+200+(120x2)
LG DVDRAM GSA 4163B DL
Asus EN7900GS
Antec True Power Trio 550W PSU
 12/11/2006 05:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Camthrax
Senior Member

Posts: 1355
Joined: 12/08/2006

what version of maya are you running? and have you 1 graph per core, or just one graph?

-------------------------

Work requires research. thus, the Camthraxinator has returned.
AYB Proof that all your base are belong to Queen.


Proud Owner of a bass that's pickups are worth more than the bass itself.
 12/11/2006 05:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ravanger
Senior Member

Posts: 1916
Joined: 01/11/2006

well the problem is probably that the program version u have does not support more then one thread at a time, try looking on thier site for an update or something that would let u used both cores

-------------------------
<img src="http://img247.imageshack.us/im...7387/316515972mak2.jpg" border="0" alt="IPB Ima
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information