AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD compatability with .net framework and programming
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/04/2006 04:58 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/04/2006 04:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_commando
Overclocker

Posts: 843
Joined: 01/11/2006

hi i have a neighbor who plans to buy my cmputer and i was wonderin he said something about a .net framework issu with amd he said that intel supports it and amd doesnt he said its around 4-5gb size and he is a programmer


amd a64 3700
asus a8v-e se
768mb ram
8gb maxtor
enermax liberty 400
dvdrom,burner
stock cooling
bfg 7800 gt

now im keeping the video card, dvdrom,burner but selling everything else and he will only buy it if it works does anyone know what my neigbor is talking about or if anyone here who is a programmer can u tell me if it is compatible with AMD cpus

-------------------------
I7-975 at 4.2ghz//noctua ND-H14//Gigabye X58-UD5// Gskill 6gb ddr3 at 2ghz// intel x25 80gb// 1 1TB seagate hdd// antec tpq 1200 watt psu// CM stacker 832 case/ ECS GTX 460 1GB black edition



Opteron 165 at 2.2ghz 1.4Vcore//Asus formula HD4770//2gb OCZ platinum 2-3-2-5//Asus A8VE-SE//Seagate 2x 250gb SATA2 RAID0// thermalrock dragon gaming case 5 90mm fans// XP pro SP2//
 03/04/2006 05:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

well you can goto microsoft and install the .net framework and show him that it works just fine

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 03/04/2006 05:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_commando
Overclocker

Posts: 843
Joined: 01/11/2006

he said its not that typeof framework this is some special [content edited] used for programming

i just found out is

visual studio .net compatible with amd

-------------------------
I7-975 at 4.2ghz//noctua ND-H14//Gigabye X58-UD5// Gskill 6gb ddr3 at 2ghz// intel x25 80gb// 1 1TB seagate hdd// antec tpq 1200 watt psu// CM stacker 832 case/ ECS GTX 460 1GB black edition



Opteron 165 at 2.2ghz 1.4Vcore//Asus formula HD4770//2gb OCZ platinum 2-3-2-5//Asus A8VE-SE//Seagate 2x 250gb SATA2 RAID0// thermalrock dragon gaming case 5 90mm fans// XP pro SP2//
 03/04/2006 05:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

 03/04/2006 05:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_commando
Overclocker

Posts: 843
Joined: 01/11/2006

so that means it will wrk rite?


im kind of a noob in all this
first time ever building a custom computer outside off school for my personal use

-------------------------
I7-975 at 4.2ghz//noctua ND-H14//Gigabye X58-UD5// Gskill 6gb ddr3 at 2ghz// intel x25 80gb// 1 1TB seagate hdd// antec tpq 1200 watt psu// CM stacker 832 case/ ECS GTX 460 1GB black edition



Opteron 165 at 2.2ghz 1.4Vcore//Asus formula HD4770//2gb OCZ platinum 2-3-2-5//Asus A8VE-SE//Seagate 2x 250gb SATA2 RAID0// thermalrock dragon gaming case 5 90mm fans// XP pro SP2//
 03/04/2006 05:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

well that article is all about developing 64 bit apps, with visual studio .net, on AMD computers in 64 bit windows..

so.. the dots are all connected to form the letters Y, E, and S

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 03/04/2006 05:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_commando
Overclocker

Posts: 843
Joined: 01/11/2006

lol thanx im an idiot and im a noob at this maybe i shud stop playing my 2hrs worth of gaming and go do some homework

appreciate the help

-------------------------
I7-975 at 4.2ghz//noctua ND-H14//Gigabye X58-UD5// Gskill 6gb ddr3 at 2ghz// intel x25 80gb// 1 1TB seagate hdd// antec tpq 1200 watt psu// CM stacker 832 case/ ECS GTX 460 1GB black edition



Opteron 165 at 2.2ghz 1.4Vcore//Asus formula HD4770//2gb OCZ platinum 2-3-2-5//Asus A8VE-SE//Seagate 2x 250gb SATA2 RAID0// thermalrock dragon gaming case 5 90mm fans// XP pro SP2//
 03/04/2006 05:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

 03/04/2006 05:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_commando
Overclocker

Posts: 843
Joined: 01/11/2006

now i can sell my single core and buy dual channel ram and and a dual core

-------------------------
I7-975 at 4.2ghz//noctua ND-H14//Gigabye X58-UD5// Gskill 6gb ddr3 at 2ghz// intel x25 80gb// 1 1TB seagate hdd// antec tpq 1200 watt psu// CM stacker 832 case/ ECS GTX 460 1GB black edition



Opteron 165 at 2.2ghz 1.4Vcore//Asus formula HD4770//2gb OCZ platinum 2-3-2-5//Asus A8VE-SE//Seagate 2x 250gb SATA2 RAID0// thermalrock dragon gaming case 5 90mm fans// XP pro SP2//
 03/04/2006 05:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

hey cool.. thats gonna be really nice

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 03/04/2006 06:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1524
Joined: 12/03/2004

First of all. Both AMD and Intel uses the same set of instruction for their chips, so I can not see why there would be any software that couldnt work on either as far as they support the same base of instruction.

Yes, there are some AMD chips that have not been made with SSE2 support, but that are for the older generatiion of Athlon64 and Semprons.

But in general all x86 compatible software should be able to run and x86-64 are the added instruction for 64 bit. You can use CPU-Z (google to find it) and see what kind of support your CPU chip have.

-------------------------
Abit AT8-32X (Xpress3200)/Athlon64 X2 4200+@stock/Corsair VS 2GB/Samsung SATA II 2x 250 GB/Club3D X1950XT GDDR3 256MB+ PowerColor Theatre 550 pro (PCIe x1)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information