AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: CPU Issue?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/10/2006 06:17 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/10/2006 06:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zunit
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 04/10/2006

I've recently invested in a whole new computer putting it together myself. I've had it running for a while and then one while it waiting on the XP login screen i got a BSOD 0x0000009c(0x00000004, 0x805405f0, 0xb2000000, 0x00070f0f), Machine check exception. I restarted but then i didnt even get the BIOS screen, so i restarted again and during the win XP boot screen same BSOD. Now no matter what when i turn it on i get no picture, and sometimes the CPU fan stops running. Heres my specs

AMD 3800+ X2 64
Asus A8N SLI32 Deluxe
1GB of OCZ dual channel RAM (x2 512)
Geforce 7600 GT
Enermax 530 PSU
100GB sata maxtor 7200 RPM
40GB IDE maxtor 7200 RPM

nothing is overclocked or anything like that but this isnt the first time I've had an issue with it. when i first to get XP the machine it gave me a BSOD everytime until i put in the 40GB then it installed fine cept i had to tell which HAL to use so my dual core would work. Now im completly lost and i dont even where to trying to fix it. BTW all drivers are installed and i have the latest BIOS revesion.
 04/10/2006 06:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dot_pixel651
Senior Member

Posts: 4241
Joined: 05/12/2005

have you done a clean install of windows? also, run memtest (in my sig if you need it) and make sure your ram is ok. could be windows is currupt or memory is bad. i would test your ram first.

dot.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165
ASUS A8N-SLi Deluxe
PNY 2x512MB DDR500
eVGA 7800GT
WD 2x160 / WD 250
ASUS 16x DVD-ROM / NEC 16x DVD-RW
Samsung 1.44
Ultra X-Finity 600
 04/10/2006 07:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zunit
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 04/10/2006

Would the only way to test the memory be to put into another comp because right now it doesnt get to the BIOS screen to boot and run memtest. Same goes for fresh install of windows unless i move the harddrive. I can move the harddrive no problem but i dont think the RAM will work in the only other comp i have due to the fact thats it really old
 04/10/2006 07:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zunit
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 04/10/2006

UPDATE: im now thinking that maybe i shorted the board cause when i turn it on the keyboard light dont blink and the mouse light doesnt turn on but maybe the usbs ports are messed but the CPU hasnt stopped spinning anymore. Ive tryed different USB ports none work and the keyboard is a PS/2 one.
 04/10/2006 10:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
muanda
Member

Posts: 118
Joined: 05/27/2005

Try removing one of the ram sticks, sometimes this helps to identify if the problem is ram related or something else...

-------------------------
Asus A8V Deluxe
AMD Athlon 64 FX-55 "San Diego"
2x512 MB Corsair XMS Pro Series 400DDR RAM
<
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information