Increase font size
Topic Title: Different core temps
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/15/2006 03:54 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/15/2006 03:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hot4400

I have a 4400 x2 and was wondering why my individual core temps differ by so much. I used core temp beta and found a 10 degree jump from core 0 to core 1. Here is a link to the program I am using.
http://www.thecoolest.zerobrai...orum...topic.php?t=137

Also here is a link to a screen shot of my temps.
http://img49.imageshack.us/img49/3082/desktop22or4.png

I dont think 58 degrees C is a normal operating temp at stock speed under full load. /wacko.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":wacko:" border="0" alt="wacko.gif" />

I know 100 percent that my heatsink is correctly installed. I build computers for a living and know how to install them.

Also, this explains why my computer unexpectedly crashes while gaming or doing video conversions during the hot summer months. I strongly believe this core temp difference is a manufacturing problem and that my cpu should be replaced under warranty.

What do you all think...do I have a case for a warranty exchange? thx for feedback
 11/15/2006 04:51 PM

Author Icon
MadMarky

58 degrees is fairly normal under full load, above 60 is too high. And the core temps may differ a lot, depending on the load that each core gets. If you run a game on one core, the other still is idling and should be fairly cool. However it's a bit strange that they differ so much under full load.
And what do you call a crash? Sudden reboot, system freeze, bluescreens?

-------------------------
AMD Athlon X2 4600+ @ 2.8Ghz
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
2x 1GB G.Skill PC4000
XFX GeForce 7900GT
Antec TrueBlue 480w PSU
Thermaltake Xaser III case
 11/15/2006 05:27 PM

Author Icon
Toby1

Hi!