AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: What should the cpu voltage be
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/12/2006 07:02 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/12/2006 07:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zuala77
Member

Posts: 57
Joined: 04/26/2006

I have this problem......i was running at 228 mhz...about 2.5.GHz my vCore was 1.40 and my ram Voltage was 2.70...i ran two instance of prime 95 along with occt..for 9 hours tempt was 48 max without a Gltch....so i went to sleep and when i woke up.......my pc could not boot up.......fully....there is this thing in my bios...Voltage at start up....so what is this...and how much should i increase my Voltage for running 228Mhz...

My specs are...Athlon X2 4200+.....512x2 kingston hyperx....k8Neo4 Platt.......

-------------------------
AMD 64X2 4200+
512X2 Kingston Hyperx
7800GTX X 2 SLI
Aquatec Liquid cooler
K8Neo4 Platinum
Ultra4 Chipset
 05/12/2006 07:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tommyk2005
Member

Posts: 132
Joined: 04/08/2006

up ur voltage to 1.42 mine at 2,5 is 1.42 but i o/c this way. i set mult to 10 fsb to 250htt to 4 and memory divider to 166 so i got 2000 hypertransport cpu 2.5 and memory at 416. maybe ur memory needs a divider?

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 170 CCBBE@2800Mhz,1.4125 Volts, Zalman CNPS9500 LED/Asus A8N32SLI-Deluxe/BFG 7800GT OC SLI 450-1100/Mushkin Redline PC4000 2x1GB @DDR510MHZ@2.75 Volts,3-3-2-7/WD 320GB and 250GB 8MB 7200RPM/Raidmax Cobra Case/Antec True Power 2 550 Watt/Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic/Altec Lansing MX5021/DcLcd 19in 8ms LCD/Windows XP 32 Bit Professional
 05/12/2006 10:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zuala77
Member

Posts: 57
Joined: 04/26/2006

Ok.....in my bios there is this cpu ratio...so is this the multiplier and how do i changed the memory divider......Just give me the Number so that i can O/c to 2.6Ghz...safely.........cos i am at 2.4Ghz without changing anything only the Fsb i have changed......my idle tempt is 29...please help

-------------------------
AMD 64X2 4200+
512X2 Kingston Hyperx
7800GTX X 2 SLI
Aquatec Liquid cooler
K8Neo4 Platinum
Ultra4 Chipset
 05/12/2006 11:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tommyk2005
Member

Posts: 132
Joined: 04/08/2006

post all ur specs all of em. go into the bios and write down all the options and let me know. the ram divider would be in memory section . mine says 100,133,166,186,200 etc. you would have to change from auto and let me know what it says. i dont wanna give u wrong ar bad advice.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 170 CCBBE@2800Mhz,1.4125 Volts, Zalman CNPS9500 LED/Asus A8N32SLI-Deluxe/BFG 7800GT OC SLI 450-1100/Mushkin Redline PC4000 2x1GB @DDR510MHZ@2.75 Volts,3-3-2-7/WD 320GB and 250GB 8MB 7200RPM/Raidmax Cobra Case/Antec True Power 2 550 Watt/Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic/Altec Lansing MX5021/DcLcd 19in 8ms LCD/Windows XP 32 Bit Professional
 05/12/2006 12:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zuala77
Member

Posts: 57
Joined: 04/26/2006

Thanks in advance................ yes my memory divider is as follows 133-166-200 and u can set it manually...
and in my core cell menu......

fsb frequency=
ht width=
ht frequency=
Cpu ratio=
Bios Shots
memory Voltage...=


quote:

Originally posted by: peters05
Thanks in advance................ yes my memory divider is as follows 133-166-200 and u can set it manually...
and in my core cell menu......

fsb frequency=
ht width=
ht frequency=
Cpu Vid=
Bios Shots
memory Voltage...=



-------------------------
AMD 64X2 4200+
512X2 Kingston Hyperx
7800GTX X 2 SLI
Aquatec Liquid cooler
K8Neo4 Platinum
Ultra4 Chipset
 05/12/2006 12:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tommyk2005
Member

Posts: 132
Joined: 04/08/2006

for 2.4 fsb to 240 htt to 4x set memory to 166. lower multiplier to 10.. dont worry ur memory will run at 400 with this o/c. i recommend runnin i need 1.40-1.41 to run at this setting. 2.5 fsb 250 htt to 4x memory at 166. lower mult to 10. i need 1.42 volts for 1.42. ur memory will run at 416 mhz at this setting. r u on stock cooling? i recommend running 2.4 and testing extensivly first watch m/b cpu temps. run 3d games prime 95,memtest 86 etc. RUN AT 2.4 FIRST. im at 2.5 but with extentive tests first and a zalman 9500 fan.edit runnin on a 166 memory divider i dont think u need to up ram voltage

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 170 CCBBE@2800Mhz,1.4125 Volts, Zalman CNPS9500 LED/Asus A8N32SLI-Deluxe/BFG 7800GT OC SLI 450-1100/Mushkin Redline PC4000 2x1GB @DDR510MHZ@2.75 Volts,3-3-2-7/WD 320GB and 250GB 8MB 7200RPM/Raidmax Cobra Case/Antec True Power 2 550 Watt/Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic/Altec Lansing MX5021/DcLcd 19in 8ms LCD/Windows XP 32 Bit Professional
 05/12/2006 01:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zuala77
Member

Posts: 57
Joined: 04/26/2006

Hi again....................
I changed as follows.my fsb to 240 then memory divider to 166 Cpu ratio to=10x HT frequency to 4x and Voltage to 1.43 to 1.45 it could not boot up and i changed the multiplier to 10.5x and it booted up bot it did not run prime 95 ofr even a minute.my temps was 29...........please suggest again

-------------------------
AMD 64X2 4200+
512X2 Kingston Hyperx
7800GTX X 2 SLI
Aquatec Liquid cooler
K8Neo4 Platinum
Ultra4 Chipset
 05/12/2006 02:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

Best advice.........put it back to stock and work SLOWLY up till it fails. You dont just crank it up man then try to stabilise it then. lol. Its time to start over IMHO.
 05/12/2006 02:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tommyk2005
Member

Posts: 132
Joined: 04/08/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: peters05
Hi again....................
I changed as follows.my fsb to 240 then memory divider to 166 Cpu ratio to=10x HT frequency to 4x and Voltage to 1.43 to 1.45 it could not boot up and i changed the multiplier to 10.5x and it booted up bot it did not run prime 95 ofr even a minute.my temps was 29...........please suggest again


lower mult to 10, fsb to 240 htt to 4x htt to 4x is VERy important.memory to 166. u could probably run ur memory at stock for 2.4. try memory divider at 200 for 2.4. my memory is 2.6 volts. try lowerin cpu voltage also 1.41 for 2.40. if u did all thuis u shuld be runnin 2.4 no prob. try memory at 3-3-3-8 timmings if 1 t doesnt work try 2t. 240x4=960hypertrans. 960x2-1920. at 2.5 ur at 1000 or 2000 hyper... shuld work what are COMPLETE SPECS CPU M/B MEMORY,VIDEO,AND POWER SUPPLY. hope this helps. try pm me after u try this it will be easier to talk

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 170 CCBBE@2800Mhz,1.4125 Volts, Zalman CNPS9500 LED/Asus A8N32SLI-Deluxe/BFG 7800GT OC SLI 450-1100/Mushkin Redline PC4000 2x1GB @DDR510MHZ@2.75 Volts,3-3-2-7/WD 320GB and 250GB 8MB 7200RPM/Raidmax Cobra Case/Antec True Power 2 550 Watt/Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic/Altec Lansing MX5021/DcLcd 19in 8ms LCD/Windows XP 32 Bit Professional
 05/12/2006 09:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xelink
Senior Member

Posts: 225
Joined: 03/03/2006

try keeping startup a little higher, it won't really affect CPU lifespan due to the fact that it's not at that voltage long and because it barely has time t get hot, I personally keep my startup voltage .05V higher than normal running voltage(then again I undervolted...)

-------------------------

--C2D e6400@3.2GHz 1.264V; 2Gb DDR2-800 RAM 4-4-3-6; 250GB seagate baracuda w/ PRM; GeForce 7600GT(620/800)
--AMD Athlon 64 3000+; 512mb DDR400 ram; GeForce 6100, 80GB seagate baracuda 7200rpm 8mb cache
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information