Increase font size
Topic Title: Your opinion sought on my problems
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/18/2006 06:14 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/18/2006 06:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
details

Good Morning and thanks for reading.

I have an issue with a self build PC that I completed recently. I would welcome opinions on whether the CPU can really be at fault for the failure or if you think I have been given the run around by the mobo manufacturer.

Spec is Athlon 64 X2 4400+, Gigabyte K8N Pro SLi, Antec P180 case and TruePower II 550W PSU, 3 x Samsung 1Gb DDR 400Mhz memory, 300Gb SATA II Maxtor DiamondMax +10, 7900GTX 512 Club 3d card, Creative Xfi, optical and floppy / 7 in 1 card reader. System is connected via Monster Power hub for protection.

I am an IT Consultant and have undertaken a self build before with no issues. The system itself was put together on the 18 / 19th May and performed superbly from day one. I checked CPU temp and general running every day for 2 weeks and did two 24hr soak tests, nothing went wrong. Average CPU temp after running HL2 was 32 C, peak during gaming, downloading and virus scan was 37 C. The mobo is on the recco list, I used the AMD heatsink, had 2 other fans in the main case, 2 fans on PSU case itself and one other in lower section of case to cool hdd and PSU.