AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: amd 3200+ working too slow
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/24/2006 01:33 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/24/2006 01:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
max21jpr
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/24/2006

i have a amd k8 athlon 3200+ 64 bit processor with msi ati radeon motherboard.
it takes around 3 minutes to wake up from from hibernation and around 2 min to startup and another minute to start working .
i am using a ddr 512-400 ram on ati RS482M4 serieschipset
can anyone suggest me the possible reoson for it
i have even removed unnecessary programes from start up.
 05/24/2006 08:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

Got a single partition,large My Documents and My Pictures folders,etc.?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 05/25/2006 07:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
max21jpr
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/24/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: TLH
Got a single partition,large My Documents and My Pictures folders,etc.?


i have a 5 gb dedicated partition for win xp pro with few prog. installed even outside the drive, in another drive with no drive bigger than 20gb. i hv a 120 gb sgt. hard drive.
 05/25/2006 07:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

Is your My Documents folder stuffed full though?Windows caches all the stuff in there for faster access once your into the OS.
Also if you've had it up and running for a significant amount of time there will be all sort of redundant entrys in the registry and littered throughout the system from when you've installed and uninstalled things.If you're one hundred percent sure this is not hardware related then maybe a reinstall of the OS will solve your problem.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 05/26/2006 07:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
max21jpr
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/24/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: TLH
Is your My Documents folder stuffed full though?Windows caches all the stuff in there for faster access once your into the OS.
Also if you've had it up and running for a significant amount of time there will be all sort of redundant entrys in the registry and littered throughout the system from when you've installed and uninstalled things.If you're one hundred percent sure this is not hardware related then maybe a reinstall of the OS will solve your problem.



i have already reinstalled the os. and this does not solve the problem, also how do i confirm this is not due to a harware snag.
 05/26/2006 12:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CBI Elite
Senior Member

Posts: 1089
Joined: 06/23/2005

1) Run "msconfig" in the...um..."Run" application, and go to "Processes". If there's something there from RealScheduler or other unwanted programs, get rid of them (un-check the box). If you're unsure if it's a critical system file, Google the process' name and you will find out.

2) The easiest way...wait, I lied, it usually isn't *easy*, but you have to troubleshoot. Check to see if your RAM is good by running "memtest", or swapping it with another module. Then again, if you had another module, you'd have more RAM to start with lol.

3) Spyware is evil...'Spybot S&D" or "AdAware" can help you out with this.

4) Cookie?

-------------------------

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ E3 @ 2.6GHz/1.44V | Asus A8N-SLi V1014
eVGA 7900 GS @ 525MHz/1,450MHz | <a href="http://ww
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information