AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: will 29amps power 36amp needs
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/30/2006 03:07 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/30/2006 03:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greymattertripp
Member

Posts: 174
Joined: 08/27/2006

The combined draw on my 12v rail is only 29amps yet I powered a x1900xtx which requires 30amps with this PSU with no problems. Could I run the X1950XTX assuming it runs 36amps (which I'm not sure it does) and assume it would be safe????Any advice would be helpfull.

-------------------------
[Inappropriate content removed.TLH]
ASUS A8N 939 NVIDIA NFORCE 4 at the southbridge
Powered by a Venice AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (2.4Ghz) processor
1GB DDR 400(PC3200)Dual Channel RAM (soon to be 2Gb: dual channel Corsair XMS 1GB)
200GB 7200RPM SATA HDD
ATI Radeon 512MB X1900 XTX (650Mhz) smooth as a baby's bottom
500W PurePower ThermalTake PSU WR0100RU (revised unit with a stable 12v 2.0 rail)
 09/30/2006 03:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

if the video required that much you wouldnt have anything left for other devices including cpu....lol you mean they recomend a psu with 30amps on the 12v rail right? Not that it uses that much just for video. I would think a 500watt would be able to handle a x1950xtx...What does ati recomend?
 09/30/2006 03:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greymattertripp
Member

Posts: 174
Joined: 08/27/2006

They say 30amps for the x1900xtx and I have one short 29amps which I am sure is not a problem like you said it doesn't actually use all of the wattage or the amps that it suggests but what I've been reading is that 12v rail requirement is 36amps for the X1950XTX but that was on a forum post I Googled so I'm not sure, to be honest with what I'm reading about the driver complications and from reading an xbit piece on the comparison of the X1900XTX to the X1950XTX I'm not sure its worth it to risk on the new technology, I've already tested the X1900XTX and it works like a dream I don't want to have to deal with new problems if the difference is 60 to 72 fps then either will work fine so I'll take the one which has less complications. The GPU is the same and the benches show that the higher mem clock of the DDR4 RAM shows itself at higher resolutions. But then again I still am undecided and need to decide by tommorow morning...its gonna be a long night of reading.

-------------------------
[Inappropriate content removed.TLH]
ASUS A8N 939 NVIDIA NFORCE 4 at the southbridge
Powered by a Venice AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (2.4Ghz) processor
1GB DDR 400(PC3200)Dual Channel RAM (soon to be 2Gb: dual channel Corsair XMS 1GB)
200GB 7200RPM SATA HDD
ATI Radeon 512MB X1900 XTX (650Mhz) smooth as a baby's bottom
500W PurePower ThermalTake PSU WR0100RU (revised unit with a stable 12v 2.0 rail)
 09/30/2006 06:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greymattertripp
Member

Posts: 174
Joined: 08/27/2006

Found out that the X1950XTX is the same as far as amps so I would be able to power it but for the cost to performance from what I've seen on the web on benchmarks playing games the X1900 is a better deal. Bang for buck wise anyways. And the X1950 seems to just be middle passage between this generation and the next which will no doubt have DDR4 integrated into their design. For now I'll stick with the stable X1900XTX for $50-$100 less.

-------------------------
[Inappropriate content removed.TLH]
ASUS A8N 939 NVIDIA NFORCE 4 at the southbridge
Powered by a Venice AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (2.4Ghz) processor
1GB DDR 400(PC3200)Dual Channel RAM (soon to be 2Gb: dual channel Corsair XMS 1GB)
200GB 7200RPM SATA HDD
ATI Radeon 512MB X1900 XTX (650Mhz) smooth as a baby's bottom
500W PurePower ThermalTake PSU WR0100RU (revised unit with a stable 12v 2.0 rail)
 10/01/2006 02:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

sounds like a smart choice.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information