AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 9800xt and sk8n
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/25/2003 04:01 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/25/2003 04:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kilikitari
Member

Posts: 28
Joined: 10/08/2003

Well I had alot of problems getting any sort of video with the 9800xt so i took it out and put in a gforce mx 440 and it worked. But i plan on tryin agian after i install windows anyone have any advice.
 10/25/2003 04:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

hmmm..stupid question, but did you connect the 4-pin power-connector on the card?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 10/25/2003 04:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kilikitari
Member

Posts: 28
Joined: 10/08/2003

Yeh i did and i went over all the stuff with the guys over at xbit. It works with other cards but someone said that they got no video with v 1002 which is what i had so after i install windows ill try agian. Heres hopin
 10/25/2003 05:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kilikitari
Member

Posts: 28
Joined: 10/08/2003

Well it did not work. Oh well ill just send it back
 10/25/2003 05:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kilikitari
Member

Posts: 28
Joined: 10/08/2003

BTW you wouldn't happen to know a safe OC for a nvidia GForcemx440
 10/25/2003 06:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
2002CBR600F4i
Member

Posts: 99
Joined: 10/09/2003

Contact ATI. I've read of others having similar issues with ATI cards and ATI support saying that they're looking into the problem.

--Mike


-------------------------
Main Rig: 4800+X2 (AM2), Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless, 4GB Corsair DDR2-800 CAS4 EPP, dual XFX 7900GT Extreme, 4 Seagate 300GB 7200.9 SATA2 drives (RAID5), 16X Sony DVD-ROM, NEC 3540A DVD-RW, Seasonic S12 600W PSU, Thermaltake Armor Tower case, Dell 2405 FPW.

File Server/Backup Rig: Athlon 64 FX-51, Asus SK8N, 1 GB Kingston HyperX memory, GeForce2GTS 64MB, 200 GB Maxtor HD, 40 GB Maxtor HD, 20 GB Maxtor HD, 48X CD-ROM, ThermalTake Xaser III case w/ Silent Purepower 430W

L
 10/25/2003 11:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kilikitari
Member

Posts: 28
Joined: 10/08/2003

Nah it is definatley a hardware problem. Ill just send it back to newegg and they will repair it. I have to send back my audigy 2 anyways cause they sent it to me with bent pins and it didn't work...Or did i bend the pins.
 10/26/2003 05:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE (kilikitari @ Oct 25 2003, 01:30 AM) BTW you wouldn't happen to know a safe OC for a nvidia GForcemx440
You can use software like Powerstrip or Rivatuner for OCin VideoCards.
As for how much you can OC your card, you will have to try. Raise core and mem-clocks slowly(1-5MHz steps) and check stability with a benchmark(e.g. 3DMark2001) or a game. If you get artifacts/weird pictures or something, reduce clock-speed until you're back to normal...

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 10/26/2003 07:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kilikitari
Member

Posts: 28
Joined: 10/08/2003

I have powerstrip i got it to about 215/470 without problem.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information