AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Random restarts
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/25/2006 04:17 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/25/2006 04:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Flux
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/25/2006

My computer likes to randomly restart when I play a certain MMORPG; World of Warcraft.

I don't know why... i'm thinking maybe because it is over heating? I notice my temperature going to around 111F

My specs are

AMD 4200 X2 dual core processor
ABIT Fatal1ty Motherboard
2 gigs of Corsair Ram
Nvidia Geforce 6800 GS
Soundblaster X-treme soundcard
Antec Smart Power supply 500w

It restarts randomly... sometimes it never restarts, and sometimes it'll restart 3-4 times a day. It's really annoying.
 01/25/2006 07:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dot_pixel651
Senior Member

Posts: 4241
Joined: 05/12/2005

check out my quick guide on some common dual core issues in my sig.

dot.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165
ASUS A8N-SLi Deluxe
PNY 2x512MB DDR500
eVGA 7800GT
WD 2x160 / WD 250
ASUS 16x DVD-ROM / NEC 16x DVD-RW
Samsung 1.44
Ultra X-Finity 600
 01/25/2006 01:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Flux
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/25/2006

QUOTE(dot_pixel651 @ Jan 25 2006, 06:16 AM)check out my quick guide on some common dual core issues in my sig.

dot.
[right][snapback]604610[/snapback][/right]


thanks for trying, but blah... none of that worked.
 01/25/2006 09:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Flux
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/25/2006

QUOTE(Flux @ Jan 25 2006, 12:14 PM)thanks for trying, but blah... none of that worked.
[right][snapback]604796[/snapback][/right]


I got the problem down... but I don't know how to fix it. I took off 'automatic restarts' and now instead of my cpu restarting, I get an error that says "bad_pool_caller".

But I have no idea how to fix that, if anyone here can help... please :/
 01/25/2006 09:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

ms knowledge base hits http://support.microsoft.com/s...faul..._caller&x=4&y=8' ">http://support.microsoft.com/s...ad_pool_caller&x=4&y=8

it can be a bad or corrupt driver..

any errors than can give a clue in Event Viewer?

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 01/25/2006 09:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Flux
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/25/2006

QUOTE(zeppelinrox @ Jan 25 2006, 08:25 PM)ms knowledge base hits http://support.microsoft.com/s...faul..._caller&x=4&y=8' ">http://support.microsoft.com/s...ad_pool_caller&x=4&y=8

it can be a bad or corrupt driver..

any errors than can give a clue in Event Viewer?
[right][snapback]605294[/snapback][/right]


Hm... where would I check for errors in event viewer?

It seems to randomly do this when I play games (World of Warcraft).
 01/25/2006 09:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

in control panel, there is Administrative tools. and in there... Event viewer..

assuming you have windows xp /tongue.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tongue.gif' />

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 01/25/2006 09:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Flux
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/25/2006

QUOTE(zeppelinrox @ Jan 25 2006, 08:45 PM)in control panel, there is Administrative tools. and in there... Event viewer..

assuming you have windows xp /tongue.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tongue.gif' />
[right][snapback]605315[/snapback][/right]


Ah, yeah, I do.

I meant while in event viewer, what am I looking for?
 01/25/2006 09:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

ah..well do u see any errors..

red x's or yellow yield signs when you click on Application or System on the left side

you would double click any of them for more information/detail

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 01/25/2006 10:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Flux
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/25/2006

QUOTE(zeppelinrox @ Jan 25 2006, 08:57 PM)ah..well do u see any errors..

red x's or yellow yield signs when you click on Application or System on the left side

you would double click any of them for more information/detail
[right][snapback]605328[/snapback][/right]


Ah, I have a few. They all talk about net working and TCP / IP.
 01/25/2006 10:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

it may not be that.. unless you are playing the games online?

if you arent playing the games online then it may be corrupt drivers

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 01/25/2006 10:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Flux
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/25/2006

QUOTE(zeppelinrox @ Jan 25 2006, 09:06 PM)it may not be that.. unless you are playing the games online?

if you arent playing the games online then it may be corrupt drivers
[right][snapback]605339[/snapback][/right]


I am playing the game online actually. It's an MMORPG. But i dunno, would a tcp / ip / net working problem cause my cpu to restart automatically randomly?
 01/25/2006 10:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

what do the errors say?
are the times on the errors the same as when your computer restarts?

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 01/25/2006 10:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Flux
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/25/2006

QUOTE(zeppelinrox @ Jan 25 2006, 09:10 PM)what do the errors say?
are the times on the errors the same as when your computer restarts?
[right][snapback]605346[/snapback][/right]


Windows saved user \Owner registry while an application or service was still using the registry during log off. The memory used by the user's registry has not been freed. The registry will be unloaded when it is no longer in use.

This is often caused by services running as a user account, try configuring the services to run in either the LocalService or NetworkService account.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp' ">http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

Another is..

TCP/IP has reached the security limit imposed on the number of concurrent TCP connect attempts.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp' ">http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

and another is:

The IP address lease 192.168.1.102 for the Network Card with network address 00508DD93BDA has been denied by the DHCP server 192.168.1.1 (The DHCP Server sent a DHCPNACK message).

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp' ">http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.


as for these going off at the same time as restarts.. im not sure
 01/25/2006 10:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

well for the sake of ruling out a TCP problem.. 2 things
Run these 2 programs.
1. Advanced Windows Care http://www.iobit.com/WindowsCare.htm' ">http://www.iobit.com/WindowsCare.htm
this will fix dozens of settings that are often messed up, including networking settings.
2. then run TCP Optimizer http://www.speedguide.net/downloads.php' ">http://www.speedguide.net/downloads.php to make your internet connection faster as well as home network. Just hit Optimize, apply changes, and reboot

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 01/25/2006 10:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Flux
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/25/2006

QUOTE(zeppelinrox @ Jan 25 2006, 09:24 PM)well for the sake of ruling out a TCP problem.. 2 things
Run these 2 programs.
1. Advanced Windows Care http://www.iobit.com/WindowsCare.htm' ">http://www.iobit.com/WindowsCare.htm
this will fix dozens of settings that are often messed up, including networking settings.
2. then run TCP Optimizer http://www.speedguide.net/downloads.php' ">http://www.speedguide.net/downloads.php to make your internet connection faster as well as home network. Just hit Optimize, apply changes, and reboot
[right][snapback]605357[/snapback][/right]


well my cpu just restarted again... but I see no errors in the event log.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information