AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Killed my cpu? or mobo?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/08/2007 03:24 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/08/2007 03:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wayogzz
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/26/2007

Hi all, (building a new computer, long story short)
I left the clear-cmos jumper set (in the clear cmos setting) and reconnected the power and booted up my pc.
Now it won't boot up, not even POST; there's power to the fans, but the HDD, floppy or CD drives will not even spin. Did I kill my mobo or cpu?
I disconnected everything again and reconnected, nothing happens ; would leaving the clear-cmos jumpers set fry the board or cpu?
Thanks for your help!

PS: AMD Athlon 64 3200
 03/08/2007 03:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

If the HD does not spin the PSU at least has taken a hit. Some psu's just blow a fuse, but since some life comes to the board its possibly partial broken. Can you test with another PSU?

-------------------------
 03/08/2007 03:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wayogzz
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/26/2007

Yes, I'll try with the one in my old PC that I tore apart to build this one.
 03/08/2007 04:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

not always..........the mainbaord sends power good signal FIRST. so if board toats the hdd and other devices wont power up. The cpu fan might twitch a sec if you lucky thats all. Test psu if you can......my guess is the board is toast.

For nexdt time PROPER way to reset bios:

1-UNPLUG pc from a.c.
2-Open case, remove batt.
3-Move jumper over clrms. Wait 5 secs. Move jumpe rback.
4-Replace batt.
5-Put case cover back on and plug pc back into a.c. outlet at wall
Turn on.

Your pc bios is now reset properly.
 03/08/2007 11:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

wayogzz, you can test the PSU in the following manner, but you need a digital multimeter. If the test is ok, then the motherboard is suspected faulty.



-------------------------
 03/09/2007 09:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wayogzz
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/26/2007

quote:

Originally posted by: go_for
wayogzz, you can test the PSU in the following manner, but you need a digital multimeter. If the test is ok, then the motherboard is suspected faulty.



That's great info; I'll go get a multimeter this weekend as it's something I'd use in several other projects.
Thanks
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information