AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: DDR400 Ram drops down to DDR200
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/21/2007 11:45 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/21/2007 11:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DeadlyApostle
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 02/21/2007

I'm using the Abit AN8 FATAL1TY SLI motherboard with the AMD Athlon 64 3700 processor. I'm not overclocking anything.

I'm using two different sets of Corsair duel channel DDR 400 pairs of ram; the TWINX2048-3200PT and VS1GBKIT400, for a total of 3gb of ram. The problem is that with duel sided mods the timing speed should drop down to DDR333 naturally but instead it drops down to DDR200 2.5CAS 2t duel channel running at 100.5 MHZ. No matter how I arrange the ram it slows down to ddr200. When I try to manualy change the settings it won't get past POST. The sticks when running in their respective pairs go up to ddr400 fine.

BIOS and MB and Processor drivers are all up to date.

My question is this, is there a possible work around to get it to get up to atleast ddr333 if not all the way up to ddr400? And if not, is it better to just stick to 2gb of DDR400 over 3gb DDR200/333?
 02/22/2007 12:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

stick with the 2gb DDR400
even if it worked with all 3 gb in there, at DDR400 at 2T(1T is a no go when all slots are filled), the difference would be negligible and may even be slower than using 2gb DDR400 at 1T


-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 02/22/2007 12:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DeadlyApostle
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 02/21/2007

Uhg... I'm trying to squeeze everything out of my system to Run Vanguard with higher FPS since im poor. I guess thats 100$ wasted on the two sticks of 512mb.
 02/22/2007 01:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Camthrax
Senior Member

Posts: 1355
Joined: 12/08/2006

if your incredably worreid about fps, as oppposed to quality, then try turning down some of the settings.

-------------------------

Work requires research. thus, the Camthraxinator has returned.
AYB Proof that all your base are belong to Queen.


Proud Owner of a bass that's pickups are worth more than the bass itself.
 02/22/2007 02:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DeadlyApostle
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 02/21/2007

FPS for the PvP Side of things, not hitching when I suddenly turn about is key as I play a melee class in the game. At the same time I don't want to turn my settings down to "Gumbi". Just trying to strike a balance between FPS and quality with the limited money and parts I have.
 02/22/2007 11:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Knox
Uhg... I'm trying to squeeze everything out of my system to Run Vanguard with higher FPS since im poor. I guess thats 100$ wasted on the two sticks of 512mb.


what graphics card do you have.. that's probably the bottleneck.
you can always sell the ram and upgrade the gpu

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 02/22/2007 03:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DeadlyApostle
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 02/21/2007

I'm using the ATI x1950 PRO. The bottleneck for the system is the CPU most likely. The code for the game isn't perfected yet either so its using more resources than it should.
 02/22/2007 04:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

ah.. i do know enough to know that it's probably not the card..

what fps/quality are you getting, anyway?

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 02/22/2007 04:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Knox
I'm using the Abit AN8 FATAL1TY SLI motherboard with the AMD Athlon 64 3700 processor. I'm not overclocking anything.

I'm using two different sets of Corsair duel channel DDR 400 pairs of ram; the TWINX2048-3200PT and VS1GBKIT400, for a total of 3gb of ram. The problem is that with duel sided mods the timing speed should drop down to DDR333 naturally but instead it drops down to DDR200 2.5CAS 2t duel channel running at 100.5 MHZ. No matter how I arrange the ram it slows down to ddr200. When I try to manualy change the settings it won't get past POST. The sticks when running in their respective pairs go up to ddr400 fine.

BIOS and MB and Processor drivers are all up to date.

My question is this, is there a possible work around to get it to get up to atleast ddr333 if not all the way up to ddr400? And if not, is it better to just stick to 2gb of DDR400 over 3gb DDR200/333?



AMD chipset requires DDR333 for 6 or more sides of RAM. So 3+ sticks will need to be set to DDR333.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 02/22/2007 05:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DeadlyApostle
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 02/21/2007

I'm running balanced quality settings and I get anywhere from 15 to 40 FPS depending on if I'm in a town or not.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information