AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Read Brisbane Temperature?
Topic Summary: Can't find an accurate program
Created On: 05/31/2007 01:52 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/30/2007 04:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Toby1
Member

Posts: 39
Joined: 10/31/2006

Yep, thanks.

See also:
http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.g...thermo/refrig.html#c1

Although internal energy will not spontaneously flow from a cold region to a hot region, it can be forced to do so by doing work on the system. Refrigerators and heat pumps are examples of heat engines which cause energy to be transferred from a cold area to a hot area. Usually this is done with the aid of a phase change, i.e., a refrigerant liquid is forced to evaporate and extract energy from the cold area. Then it is compressed and forced to condense in the hot area, dumping its heat of vaporization into the hot area.

Cheers
 08/31/2007 12:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

Take the average of both temperature readings? You know AMD will come up with a program to do the calculations for you on the fly

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 12/31/2007 11:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rickgtx
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/28/2007

Put me on the list of a bad Brisbane temperature readings for 4800 X2.

The tempetures are not consistent.

In BIOS it always shows CPU 40C
In SandraLiteXI: Board 31C, CPU 15C, Power 47.5C
In Core Temp: Core#1 -2C, Core#2 10C
In SpeedFan: System 31C, CPU 24C, AUX 47C, Temp1 31C, Core 10C, Core 51C, and Ambient 0C.

Using SpeedFan, I think I got more accurate results. The CPU temp with SpeedFan goes from 28C to 45C and back down based on load. This happens in a second or less. Isn't that too fast? My experience with other CPUs is temp rise and lowering is more gradual.

The System board goes up to 32C. The other readings are false. Except for Core 2 is my video card temp. I attached an extra case fan to the power and directed it at the video card. The temp dropped 15 degrees. I expect I have no over temperature protection from the BIOS. So I plan to use SpeedFan to give me the correct temp. There seems to be no accurate way to get the core temperatures.

Other discussions:
http://forums.amd.com/forum/me...tid=22&threadid=90238
http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=587688
 01/22/2008 05:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
piserol
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/22/2008

Dear Dan,

I have the same problem on my Amd Athlon X2 4000+.
When i use the core temp it says core 0 : 16C and core 1 : 21C also I tryed sensor view and I ve got 16C. At the same time my system temp is 49C and hdd temp is 32C

My system is;
Amd Athlon X2 4000+ Scoket AM2 Brisbane
MSI K9N NEO-F V2 NFORCE 520 DDR2 800MHZ AM2
Asus Chasis 350W Case
Ati Radeon HD2900 GT
WD 250 Sata2 16Mb Cache

Please let me know the stuation about this.

Thanks
Piserol





Originally posted by: Dan in Saint Louis

* Type of processor (Ordering Part Number) E.g. "AMD Athlon XP 3200+" or "AXDA3200DKV4E" = Athlon X2 4400+ socket AM2 "Brisbane"

* Brand, model and revision of the motherboard including BIOS revision = ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe, BIOS 0702

* Brand and model of the heat sink = Zalman CNPS 9500 AM2 RTL

* Brand and model of the power supply = Antec EA500

* Operating System = WinXP Pro/SP2, all MS updates

* Detailed description of the problem:



How can I read the temperature of the CPU chip? Every program I have tried (the mother board BIOS, ASUS PC Probe II, FanSpeed, CoreTemp, Topaka SIW, and more) gives a different answer. ASUS Probe II, for example, reports the CPU temperature is 8C!



Is there a solution for correctly reading the temperature of this chip?



Thank you.
 01/23/2008 01:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zenfrog
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/23/2008

Guess I'm in the club too...

4000 X2 Brisbane
 01/23/2008 02:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Maverick_1
Senior Member

Posts: 202
Joined: 10/12/2005

Toss me into the mix to except I'm only seeming to get false Asus bios readings :S 40-50c idle using a Koolance CPU330 and Custon 1/2" tubes with a stock gigabyte Galaxy 1 pump and radiator... I don't think so :S other thing is I noticed the other day that my Asus probe every once in a while shoots back and forth from Proper temprature to 40-46 :S I'm barely overclocking with the memory and CPU. this should be insane. also Please keep in mind that I have a Coolermaster Stacker TC-01 Case and I've removed the front plate covers where the fan installs on top and improved airflow to that section considerably. more properly I think the theory should be "why does amd let processors leave it's facilities with possibly faulty or partially faulty sensors? This could be a manufacturing defect they didn't catch and did NOT have time nor could they afford to just pull the chips and market them at a different level.
 01/24/2008 09:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sepultribe
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/01/2008

hi guys
im running amd athlon 64 x 2 4800+ on asus m2n-e nforce 5700 ultra cooling swiftech compact h2o 120 kit
4 blower and 3 exhaust fan
using nxsensor it reads system 39c & 41c CPU reads 33c -> 35c idle full load up to 45c
is this temp normal or should it be lower?
still confuse on amd reading

Edited: 01/24/2008 at 09:57 AM by sepultribe
 01/25/2008 09:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sasuto
Member

Posts: 157
Joined: 01/05/2008

EasyTune5 seems to report a correct temp 31 C on my Brisbane, and CoreTemp, Speed Fan and some other program all report like 7 ~ 11 C. ......

-------------------------
 04/11/2008 03:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Therian86
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 04/11/2008

Yeah this problem is pissing me off the problem I have is MB can't even find the temps so it is using default fan speed when I am gaming thus its getting WAY to hot.

And after tech support claimed it was my fault I am going intel with my next PC. I have been a fan of AMD for 8 years but they lost my business now.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information