AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Cool&Quiet and Overclocking
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/23/2007 03:44 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/23/2007 03:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
@.m.d
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 10/22/2007

Cool&Quiet and Overclocking...
I've thought if this things can be used together at the moment, ie I set higher CPU frequency and turn on CnQ as well?
Or doing so at least silly and abnormal in proc usage ?

What do you think?
 10/24/2007 11:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
grndragon57
Senior Member

Posts: 610
Joined: 10/10/2007

Everything I've read says to disable C&Q when you OC.

-------------------------
Athlon 64 X2 4800 @ 3000mhz, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Biostar 520 A2, 2x1gb G.Skill DDR2 800, EVGA 8800 GT, Corsair VX450, Cooler Master Centurion 534,

Phenom II 720 @ 3700mhz, Zigmatek Dark Knight S1283V, EVGA 730a, 2x2gb G.Skill PI-Black DDR2 1066, EVGA GTX 260, Corsair VX550, CM 690 Case
 10/25/2007 04:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

Disable CnQ while OCing.
The two are like Allies and Soviets to each-other.

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 10/25/2007 12:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fizzbang
Senior Member

Posts: 1256
Joined: 03/05/2006

Well, technically you can have CnQ on while running overclocked. The thing you have to remember is that CnQ forces your CPU's default multiplier. For example, I'm currently running my Opty 165 at 9x300 with CnQ on. Since 9x is my default multiplier I'm good. It's great because even at that 50% OC I see idling/surfing temps of only 28-30°C. What I can't do is run at 8x340 with CnQ on, because CnQ forces 9X340 = 3.06ghZ which = no boot on my machine. You do want to turn CnQ off while you're OCing just so you have fewer variables and less stuff going on.

-------------------------
939Dual-SATA2 v1.05, BIOS v2.31
Opteron 165 (CCBWE 0550UPMW) @2.7GHz, 1.35V
TWINX2048-3200C2PT 2.5-3-3-6 1T
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
ATI X1800GTO


Edited: 10/25/2007 at 01:00 PM by fizzbang
 10/26/2007 05:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
@.m.d
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 10/22/2007

ok, thank You, I've understood.
 10/26/2007 11:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
grndragon57
Senior Member

Posts: 610
Joined: 10/10/2007

Good info fizzbang thanks.

-------------------------
Athlon 64 X2 4800 @ 3000mhz, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Biostar 520 A2, 2x1gb G.Skill DDR2 800, EVGA 8800 GT, Corsair VX450, Cooler Master Centurion 534,

Phenom II 720 @ 3700mhz, Zigmatek Dark Knight S1283V, EVGA 730a, 2x2gb G.Skill PI-Black DDR2 1066, EVGA GTX 260, Corsair VX550, CM 690 Case
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information