AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Issue regarding OC of AMD Black edition 5000+ on MSI K9N NEO V2
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/02/2007 12:56 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/03/2007 12:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Franco8822
Member

Posts: 46
Joined: 11/17/2007

u can add me in msn franco8822@hotmail.com.... im trying to discover the art of overclocking.....

-------------------------
My Rig:
AMD Athlon X2 5000BE @3.22ghz @1.472v
Biostar TA770 AMD 770Chipset
2 X 1GB Kingston Hyper X DDR2 @924mhz 4-4-4-12
Powercolor ATI HD 3850 256MB DDR3 PCI-E
SB Audigy value soundcard @ 24bits
ASUS Silent Knight 2
1 x 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7200rpm
1 x 250GB Hitachi Deskstar 7200rpm
1 x 20x LG super multi DVD Ram Drive
1 x 20x Benq DW2000 DVD Ram Drive
Aopen AO-700-ALN 700 watts/PFC
Coolermaster G-LITE G332 Casing
 12/03/2007 12:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kir4
Senior Member

Posts: 472
Joined: 11/14/2007

No ICQ?
I have no MSN, cause i hate MS
but i could create a account and use it with Miranda IM

-------------------------

 12/03/2007 12:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Franco8822
Member

Posts: 46
Joined: 11/17/2007

ya, i have no icq..... its being a trend singaporeans r using MSN messenger most.... Pardon me for saying..... ICQ was yrs ago singaporeans used it...... i just heard my dealer saying there is a new mobo Biostar TA770 AM2 AMD770 Chipset for sales... any suggestions or reviews on Biostar??

-------------------------
My Rig:
AMD Athlon X2 5000BE @3.22ghz @1.472v
Biostar TA770 AMD 770Chipset
2 X 1GB Kingston Hyper X DDR2 @924mhz 4-4-4-12
Powercolor ATI HD 3850 256MB DDR3 PCI-E
SB Audigy value soundcard @ 24bits
ASUS Silent Knight 2
1 x 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7200rpm
1 x 250GB Hitachi Deskstar 7200rpm
1 x 20x LG super multi DVD Ram Drive
1 x 20x Benq DW2000 DVD Ram Drive
Aopen AO-700-ALN 700 watts/PFC
Coolermaster G-LITE G332 Casing
 12/03/2007 01:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kir4
Senior Member

Posts: 472
Joined: 11/14/2007

no problem at all, i use ICQ for over 5 years or longer ^^
but not with ICQ client ofcourse with some other Programms, which can deal with any Messaging protocolls.




i don't know how much OC potentzial it has. sry it is just to new..

There is no CrossFire

-------------------------



Edited: 12/03/2007 at 01:35 PM by kir4
 12/04/2007 08:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Franco8822
Member

Posts: 46
Joined: 11/17/2007

im dealer is selling to me for $145 singapore dollars.... what do u think???

-------------------------
My Rig:
AMD Athlon X2 5000BE @3.22ghz @1.472v
Biostar TA770 AMD 770Chipset
2 X 1GB Kingston Hyper X DDR2 @924mhz 4-4-4-12
Powercolor ATI HD 3850 256MB DDR3 PCI-E
SB Audigy value soundcard @ 24bits
ASUS Silent Knight 2
1 x 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7200rpm
1 x 250GB Hitachi Deskstar 7200rpm
1 x 20x LG super multi DVD Ram Drive
1 x 20x Benq DW2000 DVD Ram Drive
Aopen AO-700-ALN 700 watts/PFC
Coolermaster G-LITE G332 Casing
 12/04/2007 01:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kir4
Senior Member

Posts: 472
Joined: 11/14/2007

Hi
I could only found one Onlineshop which sells it in Germany at the moment.
99 Euro = 210.463 Singapur-Dollar.
But this will change very quik i heard that they will sell it for 60 Euro = 127.553 Singapur-Dollar here soon!

Just like said the board is very new. and there are no OC tests avaiable!
If u ask me i would wait a bit, if possible.

-------------------------

 12/05/2007 09:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Franco8822
Member

Posts: 46
Joined: 11/17/2007

Kira, what brand would u recommend me to change for my mobo???

-------------------------
My Rig:
AMD Athlon X2 5000BE @3.22ghz @1.472v
Biostar TA770 AMD 770Chipset
2 X 1GB Kingston Hyper X DDR2 @924mhz 4-4-4-12
Powercolor ATI HD 3850 256MB DDR3 PCI-E
SB Audigy value soundcard @ 24bits
ASUS Silent Knight 2
1 x 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7200rpm
1 x 250GB Hitachi Deskstar 7200rpm
1 x 20x LG super multi DVD Ram Drive
1 x 20x Benq DW2000 DVD Ram Drive
Aopen AO-700-ALN 700 watts/PFC
Coolermaster G-LITE G332 Casing
 12/05/2007 02:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kir4
Senior Member

Posts: 472
Joined: 11/14/2007

Hi
I am not sure which brands are avaiable in singapur.

But ASUS, Foxconn, Biostar, DFI, Saphire and normaly MSI are good brands

Asus M2N32-SLI - fast, Nforce 590SLI [150Euro]
Foxconn C51XEM2AA -very Fast; OverClocking Board! Nforce 590SLI [80Euro]
MSI K9N SLI-2F - Noiseless, good bios options Nforce570SLI [80Euro]
Abit KN9 SLI - noiseless OverClocker Board; Nforce 570 SLI [100Euro]
Foxconn Winfast 6100M2MA - Noiseless Nforce 430 [50Euro]

Sry i have not his much experience with the AMD Chips also i tryed 2 of them.
But one of them AMD 690G was just for a customer so i had no time to OC a lot but it worked as far as i tryed!
The other one is a Gigabyte µAtx board with 690V for my CarPC, i OC my AMD x2 EE 3600+ (1900Mhz) to 2700Mhz so i think the AMD chips have OC potentzial as well.

I will wirte some boards with AMD chips as well, but i must inform me before sry

-------------------------



Edited: 12/05/2007 at 03:03 PM by kir4
 12/05/2007 03:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kir4
Senior Member

Posts: 472
Joined: 11/14/2007

me again ^^

the MSI K9A2 Platinum, 790FX (dual PC2-8500U DDR2) (MS-7376-010R)
should be a good OC board with the new AM2+ Socket, at least the forerunner modell was a good one.

Our favourite: if i or my Brother would buy a board right now : Foxconn C51XEM2AA
Sound, G-LAN, FW, SATAII RAID
NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI for 79Euro

-------------------------



Edited: 12/05/2007 at 03:03 PM by kir4
 12/06/2007 08:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Franco8822
Member

Posts: 46
Joined: 11/17/2007

hi Kira..... hows ur day...?? The board u recommeded me r top end models in Singapore.. and the price is whopping expensive... hurhur.... think i will go for biostar brand....... budget constraint....... think i will go for biostar TA770 AM2+ AMD 770 chipset... singapore dollars $145.... i feel like changing my ram to higher end ram.. any brand to recommend??

-------------------------
My Rig:
AMD Athlon X2 5000BE @3.22ghz @1.472v
Biostar TA770 AMD 770Chipset
2 X 1GB Kingston Hyper X DDR2 @924mhz 4-4-4-12
Powercolor ATI HD 3850 256MB DDR3 PCI-E
SB Audigy value soundcard @ 24bits
ASUS Silent Knight 2
1 x 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7200rpm
1 x 250GB Hitachi Deskstar 7200rpm
1 x 20x LG super multi DVD Ram Drive
1 x 20x Benq DW2000 DVD Ram Drive
Aopen AO-700-ALN 700 watts/PFC
Coolermaster G-LITE G332 Casing
 12/06/2007 01:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kir4
Senior Member

Posts: 472
Joined: 11/14/2007

hi
i am doing well, i got early home from work today, and worked on my casecon and a selfmade Watercooler the whole day.

Yeah sry those where high end boards
i think the Biostar u mentioned should be fine i am looking forward to see how it works, and if it OC well

Ram ? i think OCZ; take MS (some of them are realy good and very cheap but u must know what u do if u take them); GEIL; CellShock(german, don't know if its avaible); Corsair;

how was your day?

For more infos just write

-------------------------

 12/06/2007 02:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Franco8822
Member

Posts: 46
Joined: 11/17/2007

How do u find patriot ram??? In singapore there are only few brands available.... CORSAIR, KING-MAX, KINGSTON, KINGSTON HYPER-X, PATRIOT, TWINMOS, CRUCIAL, OCZ AND GEIL.... which would u recommend??? Is the AMD 6000+ processor a problematic processor???

My day was fine.. only busy with work lately.... sigh...

-------------------------
My Rig:
AMD Athlon X2 5000BE @3.22ghz @1.472v
Biostar TA770 AMD 770Chipset
2 X 1GB Kingston Hyper X DDR2 @924mhz 4-4-4-12
Powercolor ATI HD 3850 256MB DDR3 PCI-E
SB Audigy value soundcard @ 24bits
ASUS Silent Knight 2
1 x 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7200rpm
1 x 250GB Hitachi Deskstar 7200rpm
1 x 20x LG super multi DVD Ram Drive
1 x 20x Benq DW2000 DVD Ram Drive
Aopen AO-700-ALN 700 watts/PFC
Coolermaster G-LITE G332 Casing
 12/08/2007 09:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kir4
Senior Member

Posts: 472
Joined: 11/14/2007

I heard of patriot nothing bad, but i never have tested them.
Why should the AMD 6000+be a Problematic one?
The problems are between RAM and Motherboard, but there should be no Problems if u take a good RAM brand.

I would recommend OCZ GEIL CORSAIR. but i don't know all kind of RAMs >_<

I bought OCZ lately, good for OC and life-time-warrenty and everything for a quite good price.

If possible look at the Biostar Homepage which Rams are compatible and pretested for this board.
I have not much time lately sry. i must go to a skill enhancement in work for one week so i will be off until saturday next week. sry
have a good time
i will add u in MSN after this

-------------------------



Edited: 12/08/2007 at 09:07 AM by kir4
 12/08/2007 10:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Franco8822
Member

Posts: 46
Joined: 11/17/2007

Hi kira..... i was just wondering to change to patriot ram..... im using Corsair ram nw but the ram speed is only 667mhz..... can't really overclock the ram to a higher level with value selected ram...... so i was thinking of changing to patriot to boost the performance a little........

-------------------------
My Rig:
AMD Athlon X2 5000BE @3.22ghz @1.472v
Biostar TA770 AMD 770Chipset
2 X 1GB Kingston Hyper X DDR2 @924mhz 4-4-4-12
Powercolor ATI HD 3850 256MB DDR3 PCI-E
SB Audigy value soundcard @ 24bits
ASUS Silent Knight 2
1 x 160GB Hitachi Deskstar 7200rpm
1 x 250GB Hitachi Deskstar 7200rpm
1 x 20x LG super multi DVD Ram Drive
1 x 20x Benq DW2000 DVD Ram Drive
Aopen AO-700-ALN 700 watts/PFC
Coolermaster G-LITE G332 Casing
 12/21/2007 01:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
notorious
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/21/2007

Hi guys,

I found this topic with google and i hope i didn't post on the wrong tread, there might be a tread for my question but this tread looks like it can help me.

I also wanted to get the AMD X2 5000+ Black Edition for it's overclockin potential, and a MSI K9N SLI Platinum to go with it, any comments on this board? I think i read somewhere the voltage can go up to 1.45, i think that's all i need to overclock this to the max but i guess i won't be doin that, just wanna know how this board's BIOS do with 5000+ black edition, all i need is adjustable multiplier and voltage for this baby i think, but also how well it does with this black edition. Maybe someone here have experience with this setup.

I also thought of the new MSI K9A2 Platinum but their site shows that the 5000+ black edition is still under testing, Do you think i should take the risk?

thanks alot.
 12/24/2007 07:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kir4
Senior Member

Posts: 472
Joined: 11/14/2007

Hey notorious

The MSI K9N SLI Platinum is a good board. but u can't change the RAMemory VDimm.
This isn't a perfect match if u wanna OC your Memory as well as your CPU
With the Bios-Version 1.00 u can go up to 1,3 CPU Vcore.
PCI-Express Frequenzy 100 - 200 MHz
possible FSB: 200 - 425

Newest Bios Version: Version 1.10 Update Date 2007-10-04
But i can't find anything that Memory Vdimm is changeable nor about higher CPU Vcore.

If u don't want to oc to much this is a nice board with a fast Chip

K9A2 Platinum is with the new High End CHIP from AMD® : 790FX
4 PCI Express 8x which means up to 8 GPUCores in the future.
A good Layout and all features u need.
Your CPU should work, perhaps there are some problems with the free Multi but they will be solved within a small amount of time, if they exist at all.

Athlon 64 x2 5000+ (G2, 65W) 200 13 SINCE 1.0
Athlon 64 x2 5000+ (G2, 65W) Black Edition 200 13 UNDER TESTING
don't know why they are testing this for so much time.
Perhaps a eMail to the MSI Support will solve this.

If u are interested in this board i will come with a Preview or anything like this, if i can find one

-------------------------



Edited: 12/24/2007 at 07:42 AM by kir4
 01/01/2008 11:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
notorious
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/21/2007

Hi kir4,
I finally got the MSI K9N SLI Platinum but i have a problem building it, i also purchase Corsair TWIN2048x6400 DDR2-800 2GB, AMD Athlon X2 5000+ Black Edition and Zalman CNPS9700 NT.

Here's what i did, i didn't fix the motherboard in a case yet, just to test it out first. I basically fix the CPU, cooler, RAM and some graphics card, i also use a 480W PSU, using a jumper to start the system, the system started but nothing happen, the monitor looks like in standby mode, and there was no beep (i wonder if i need to plug in a chassis speaker to hear the startup beep). Didn't get to BIOS at all.

Anyway, this board includes a D-bracket 2, so i've use it to see what was the problem. The LED shows that it hangs at 1=red, 2=green, 3=green, 4=red, in the manual this means:

Processor Initialization
- This will show information regarding the processor (like brand name, system bus, etc...)


Not sure what it does here, but it didn't pass this, so there's no BIOS shown i guess. I've remove everythin and attach everythin again with the same results, I tried many RAM combinations, using 1 RAM only in DIMM 1 most of the time for troubleshootin purpose. When i remove RAM and power up, there's some beeps and bracket shows somethin is wrong with RAM, so i guess RAM is good. Hmm funny thing is with or without a graphics card, the problem will be the same, since this board doesn't have a build in graphics, removing the graphics card should give me some beeps too right? but i guess it didn't because the boot didn't pass till that.

Anyway maybe this question is hard to answer with limited info, but what you think went wrong if it hangs at Processor Initialization? Some say the motherboard is faulty some say it's the CPU, i don't have any extra motherboard or CPU to comfirm this, maybe you can guess?

Thanks
 01/05/2008 05:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jonathan1271
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/05/2008

I actually have the exact same problem. I'm running an MSI K9N SLI Platinum with the AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Black Edition (65nm), the Zalman CNPS9700 and 4GB of DDR2-800 RAM, and mine hangs on Processor Initialization. Anyone have any ideas? Is it the board? Is it the processor?

Please let us know!! Thank you!
 01/14/2008 08:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lysander
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/14/2008

I'm having exactly the same problem as the other two guys in this thread; MSI K9N SLI Platinum mobo running an AMD 5000+ black edition processor and Patriot 1.8v DDR-800 RAM.

At first I thought the problem was my Crucial RAM, because it was 2.1v, but now I have exactly the same Processor Initialization problem as the other users. Is the chip fried? Is the mobo fried? Is there an easy fix before I send them both back and buy something else?

Thanks!

Edited: 01/14/2008 at 08:53 PM by Lysander
 01/14/2008 11:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jonathan1271
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/05/2008

You need to get an older version Socket AM2 processor and flash your bios to the current version. You can use MSI's Live On-Line Update, but when you search for drivers, search for all availabler versions. My MS-7250's latest AIM bios only showed up when I searched for all versions. Now the Black Edition processor works fine in there.

I picked up a Sempron POS AM2 at a local computer store for $44.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information