AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: "Max temp 63 degrees" says amd
Topic Summary: does this mean both core temps ?
Created On: 03/18/2008 07:21 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/18/2008 07:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
igw202
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/18/2008

Hi all, think the topic pretty much sums this one up but i'll go into a little more depth:

i have a 6000+ cpu, and after its loaded for 10 minutes using everest the "core 1 temp" is close to maximum at 62 degrees. but the "CPU temperature" stays at about 58 or 59 max.

So question is, when amd say 63 is the maximum do they mean its the maximum for both cores or just the cpu sensor? its not very clear. if they are referring to both cores, should i be concerned that its right on the limit?

thanks
 03/19/2008 12:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Adam F
Senior Member

Posts: 1093
Joined: 01/11/2008

well at stock it might work. but at my clocks mine will not run if core 1 goes over 52c. My CPU temps have to be 43c or lower to run stable. If it hits 45c I get blue screens.
 03/19/2008 01:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
igw202
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/18/2008

so your saying is temperature is irrelevant if everything is stable? chip isnt overclocked at all, running @ 3000mhz
 03/19/2008 01:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Adam F
Senior Member

Posts: 1093
Joined: 01/11/2008

for the most part YES. I would not ever let it pass that 63c they quoted you thou.
 03/19/2008 10:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
igw202
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/18/2008

they didn't quote it me, thats just the info on the specs page. I still don't understand whats not supposed to pass 63 degrees - the "CPU temp", "Core 1 temp" or "Core 2 temp". Or all 3 of them?

under load :-

Core 1: 62 deg
Core 2: 59 deg
Cpu temp: 58

if amd are referring to just the overall cpu sensor then i wont really be worried about this issue, however if they mean both core 1 and core 2 need to be <=63 then i might have to look into better cooling as its right on the limit.

does anyone have any idea which is the important probe i need to take notice of?
 03/19/2008 10:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ebear2100
Senior Member

Posts: 339
Joined: 09/06/2007

HI, Just my opinion but all three of those temps are too high regardless of what they refer to. I built a system for my wife using that processor and it never goes over 50. I would look into better cooling.

Have you got good intake and exhaust airflow in you case (front intake, rear exhaust)

Look at a better cooler, I have heard this one http://www.newegg.com/Product/...x?Item=N82E16835185125 is good for the price, and there is now a new series of them also http://www.newegg.com/Product/...?Item=N82E16835186134

Hope you get it sorted, those temps aren't deadly in the short term, but they will be.

John

-------------------------
 03/19/2008 01:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
drumma777
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 03/06/2008

I just had an episode with a hot processor too (see my post). I learned that you can't use too much thermal compound or it could seep down under the processor and that's exactly what happened to me. Read my post if you think that could be your problem as well.

drumma777

Edited: 03/19/2008 at 01:01 PM by drumma777
 03/19/2008 02:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
igw202
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/18/2008

thanks for the replies

have got a zalman cps 9500 cpu cooler but didnt quite install it correctly the first time, as i was thinking i had to cover the entire heatspreader with thermal paste. After finding it was too hot i took it off and tried to clear up as much of the old grease as i could, then put some as5 on it (just a pea sized amount in the middle). I believe there are a few very small bits of the old grease left on the sides of the cpu, and there is a little on the pins of the cpu underneath (first removal got a little messy) but i dont see how that would effect the temperature.

i've got 2 120mm fans in sequence for the intake on the front of the case, and two 120mm exhaust fans (one on the top of the case and one on the back near the top end). have heard people getting much lower temps with this hsf so im not sure what im doing wrong. have already dropped the voltage of the chip to 1.34v to cool it more, which is 0.01 underneath what it should be.
 03/19/2008 03:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Adam F
Senior Member

Posts: 1093
Joined: 01/11/2008

As a rule of thumb I never allow any of my processors to pass 52c max load and 43c idol. Thats my wall that i stick with. I use the appropriate cooling to achieve this.
 03/20/2008 08:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
drumma777
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 03/06/2008

Just for "kicks", did you take the CPU out of the socket and see if there was any thermal compound that may have inadvertently gotten underneath? If there is make sure you clean the socket and the underside of the CPU with some Isopropyl alcohol and you can use a soft toothbrush to get in the nooks and crannies. Just be careful not to bend any pins on the CPU. The alcohol should dry pretty quick, but you can blow on it to make it evaporate quicker. After it's all cleaned as best you can, put the CPU back in, use a small drop (size of 1 rice grain) of thermal compound, and place the CPU cooler/heatsink back on and fire 'er up! Report the results please. Thanks! I only tell you this because I had a similar problem and didn't think that the TIM under the CPU could have caused so much trouble. Just trying to help! Read my post if you think that could be your problem as well.

drumma777
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information