AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Games Run Fine then they hang or freez for a few seconds ASUS M2N-MX, Problem Solwed !
Topic Summary: ASUS M2N-MX Games hanging poroblem Solwed !
Created On: 05/10/2008 04:03 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/10/2008 04:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fida_Pr
Lurker

Posts: 9
Joined: 03/16/2008

After long inwestigating i finaly solwed the Hang problem while Gaming with an ASUS M2N-MX, in my case in combination with Athlon64 6000+.

===The broblem is at the Voltage regulators of the motherboard ===
They get to hot and there is no cooling for them and has nothing to do with your CPU or RAM. (As long as the temps are fine of course).

SOLUTION:
Find a Fan that fits between your CPU and your LTP (Printerport) and place it above the Voltage regulators of the motherboard to cool down the Regulators.

I self used Double Sided Ducktape to fasten the Fan on the back of the LTP so it can blow air in to the copper shielded Regulators (these get very hot)

See the Photos how i did it, sinds than my pc does not hang anymore.
For any other questions just ask.

http://img230.imageshack.us/my...image=topicfanji7.jpg
http://img230.imageshack.us/my...image=topicfanji7.jpg

Cheers, Fida_Pr

-------------------------
ASUS M2N-MX
Athlon 6000+ X2 (Artic Freezer64 Heatpipe Cooler)
2GB Geil 800mhz 4-4-4-12
600Watt Powersupply
ATI HD3870 512MB
Creative SB Live!
USB & Firewire
Floppy & CD/DVD Drive
 05/10/2008 04:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fida_Pr
Lurker

Posts: 9
Joined: 03/16/2008

Here is the link one more time


http://img230.imageshack.us/my...image=topicfanji7.jpg

http://img230.imageshack.us/my...image=topicfanji7.jpg


[URL=http://img230.imageshack.us/my.php?image=topicfanji7.jpg][IMG=http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/2179/topicfanji7.th.jpg][/URL]

-------------------------
ASUS M2N-MX
Athlon 6000+ X2 (Artic Freezer64 Heatpipe Cooler)
2GB Geil 800mhz 4-4-4-12
600Watt Powersupply
ATI HD3870 512MB
Creative SB Live!
USB & Firewire
Floppy & CD/DVD Drive
 05/12/2008 06:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bebet
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/04/2008

Nice Job !
 05/23/2008 04:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
piter_ml
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 05/23/2008

Thank you very much Mr. Fida_Pr,

I have an Asus M2N-Mx Se and was getting the same problem. This was driving me crazy...
So, the same solution for M2N-MX SE and AMD 6000+,

Thank you again!
 05/25/2008 09:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
inevi
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 05/25/2008

I had the same problem with the asus m2n-vm dvi.

This fixed it thanks, seems to be a problem with the asus boards, not tested thoroughly ?
 09/01/2008 07:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thomas090
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/01/2008

Fida_Pr you made alot of seeking people happy.. i thought i was the only one with this problem and my low end board Asus M2n-vm DVI but after testing it out it worked.. so i'm very thankful

altough i did buy a new CPU cooler, new graphic graphic card, a new heatsink that didnt fit on the MCP chip with a FAN, i could have just bought a better Mobo, but hey. it works now

i took two screenshots how i made the adjustments with the fan


http://img58.imageshack.us/img...416/asusscrew1jo3.jpg

http://img98.imageshack.us/img...623/asusscrew2jh9.jpg

so its the fan at top left thats blowing down air to the regulators.. pretty sick problem. oh well thx again!
 09/15/2008 08:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
denis_413
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/15/2008

i've got the same problem and it's driving me crazy. does anyone know a motherboard i could buy that supports the athlon 64 X2 3000 that is good and will avoid this problem?
 09/15/2008 11:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

If the cause of the problem is the same, I would imagine it is easier to place a cooling fan than to go trough the hassle of replacing the motherboard and potentially a fresh OS reinstall. Or at least it could be tested whether that is the actual problem before swapping the motherboard.

BTW, what is an athlon 64 X2 3000, does not seem to exist?

-------------------------


Edited: 09/15/2008 at 12:03 PM by go_for
 09/16/2008 06:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
denis_413
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/15/2008

yeah i know, i just don't like the idea of being at the mercy of the fan. what if the tape runs out and it falls off???

anyway i ended up putting my old athlon 2400 fan over it and it works awesome. thanks so much for fixing this problem. you are a genious fida_pr.

my cpu is an AMD Athlontm 64 6000+AM2 Processor Retail Dual Core AM2. sorry if i typed it wrong before, i just forgot the name of it.

thanks again, solved a major headache of mine.
 09/16/2008 12:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Glad you got it solved. Maybe you can think of a more reliable solution than ducktape.

-------------------------
 10/18/2008 04:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
keepitcool6000
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/18/2008

Hi there, didn't see how old this post is but i've got to say this: I had the same ***** problem!!! I saw many posts like urs and some changed motherboard or cpu, some with success others not. Well I solved this ***** problem and by simply buying an arctic cooling freezer pro 64 to replace the stock fan/heatsink and applying the right amount of thermal paste. You've got to install it to get the fan face the front of your tower. The fact is: m2v-mx se and some motherboards when challenged by athlon 6000 and the likes overheat and I solved before the problem to 90% by placing a small fan standing in front of the upper left corner of the motherboard like you did but in some games with time the problem came back, not as often. Now with a better heatsink for the cpu : 100% resolved!!! Spread the word, been raging to death to solve this! It works!
 02/24/2009 03:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fida_Pr
Lurker

Posts: 9
Joined: 03/16/2008

Yes thanks, but it's about the Idea. If you dont like the ducktape way than you try to wire it or what ever, i wrote how i did i my case.

-------------------------
ASUS M2N-MX
Athlon 6000+ X2 (Artic Freezer64 Heatpipe Cooler)
2GB Geil 800mhz 4-4-4-12
600Watt Powersupply
ATI HD3870 512MB
Creative SB Live!
USB & Firewire
Floppy & CD/DVD Drive
 03/27/2009 04:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
trenmost
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/22/2008

@ Fida_PR
million thanks for finding this out. i gonna try it, this should solve my problem
however i'm disappointed in asus...they are'nt used to do such mistakes like this

Edited: 03/27/2009 at 04:21 PM by trenmost
 05/23/2009 07:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tjapser
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 05/23/2009

i got an fan but it's to big to put it on my mobo because my cpu cooler is to big

can't find a smaller one... how big are the fans here that are been used on the mobo?

have seen the picture with the fan and the mobo and did exactly the same.

my fan is about 3,1 inch so...
 11/27/2010 02:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ric-82
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/27/2010

Hi,

I have the same problem of freez, and I'm very glad to know that ther's a solution for this. Now, my question is: I understand that I need a fan to cool the voltage regulators and I find on the Artic Cooling site this "Freezer Xtrem rev. 2" (http://www.arctic-cooling.com/...hp?cPath=1_43&mID=246) that promises to cools not only the CPU but also the RAM, north bridge and voltage regulators.

Do you think this will work as well as add an extra fan between the CPU and the LTP, as you suggest?
 01/28/2011 07:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fida_Pr
Lurker

Posts: 9
Joined: 03/16/2008

Hi Ric-82,

This is a very old topic and i am back now for the first time in years.

If your motheboard is the same as i had (ASUS M2N-MX) than i am pritty sure you are gonna have to place a little fan on the Voltage regulators.

But, i would strongly recommand you to buy a new Motherboard as those are also pritty Old and not the best quality. (I am talking about the ASUS M2N-MX)

With the money of the PCU cooler, you can get a much better Motherboard.

I dont want to mind your business but you dont realy need such a big cooler anyway.

Succes !

-------------------------
ASUS M2N-MX
Athlon 6000+ X2 (Artic Freezer64 Heatpipe Cooler)
2GB Geil 800mhz 4-4-4-12
600Watt Powersupply
ATI HD3870 512MB
Creative SB Live!
USB & Firewire
Floppy & CD/DVD Drive
 01/29/2011 04:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ric-82
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/27/2010

Originally posted by: Fida_Pr

Hi Ric-82,



This is a very old topic and i am back now for the first time in years.


A very old topic for a very old motherboard, you know



If your motheboard is the same as i had (ASUS M2N-MX) than i am pritty sure you are gonna have to place a little fan on the Voltage regulators.


Yes, it's the same


But, i would strongly recommand you to buy a new Motherboard as those are also pritty Old and not the best quality. (I am talking about the ASUS M2N-MX)


Not a bad idea, but I could use a little help installing it, so this is why I was interested in a new stand-alone fan, easy to install, that would care of everything by itsown. Netherless, I appreciate your advice: do you have any suggestions about a good (and relatively cheap) motherboard I could buy, that will work with my AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6000+ ?

Thank you so much for your help
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information