AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD 3000A Pro
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/19/2004 02:13 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/19/2004 06:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Runner30
Senior Member

Posts: 436
Joined: 12/16/2003

Like they do :

"Sticky!!!!111oneone"

Now seriously.

I noticed there are no stickies other than formal ones.

I understand it's not a forum where you can get official AMD tech support, and it's being moderated by independant crew, but having this one sticked on forums.AMD.com I think is a good idea for the good name of AMD.

Although it's a good idea to stick the whole thread with eplies, you can also stick 1 locked post, the one our wise member -Milt- wrote .

Thinking again - there could be a winning case for the court.
Taking advantage of "unclear" "+" mark AMD PR system has, changing it to "pro" or similar is indeed misleading.



-------------------------
quote:A.M.D = All Men Desire.

System:HEC 475Watt.AMD Athlon XP-M2500 IQYHA0351MPMW.
Abit NF7v2*Sp97*NB1+delta*A-DATA DDR500
MSI 'the rock' RX9800*WD800JB
*257x10@1.83V*261x10@1.9V (CPC off)
 07/29/2004 06:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dotcommandos
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/29/2004

Let me start off with: You may not like what you are about to read.

I recently purchased a Mercury 740CFDMx barebones kit w/ integrated Duron 2200 Pro*, 56x cd-rom, keyboard, mouse, speakers, and 300 watt Mercury X2 mid tower case.

TigerDirect clearly stated that it was an 850 overclocked. The motherboard has onboard audio, video, and LAN. I've built many computer systems (all AMD). I would NEVER use this as MY system, but this is perfect for my girlfriend. She's going to grad school, and I figured I'd build her a quick little computer.

For the board, processor, heatsink, cd-rom, kb, mouse, spkrs, and tower, I paid $180 + S&H. I have $110 of rebates to cash in.

$70 (ok, $90 w/ the S&H) for all of the above is incredible. I added a stick of Corsair 512MB DDR266 PC2100 for $84, and threw in my "old" 120 GB Western Digital 7200 RPM HDD w/ 8 MB buffer & my "old" 40x12x48x Lite-On CD burner.

This computer will serve its purpose - school work, mp3z, internet access, some older games, etc. It's definitely NOT an upgradable system, but trust me, not everyone needs a top of the line system. You get what you pay for. Some of the ads are misleading, but that's their purpose (to catch your eye). It's your job to do some research and realize that you aren't going to get an Athlon 3000+ XP for x amount of dollars.

On a side note, I have noticed that with many of the cheaper motherboard manufacturers (Mercury/Kobian, ECS, etc.), you need to replace the CMOS battery. I'm sorry that people feel they are getting scammed, but a class action lawsuit [which really only benefits the lawyer(s)] isn't gonna make anyone feel better. (The lawyers were probably already involved with the original advertisements!

Sorry for the long post. I'm new.
 07/29/2004 06:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Well, if you had the skills, you could remove the embedded cpu, find a dead socket A board, remove and resolder the socket A socket onto the mercury board, then pop in another socket A cpu...this is real junkyard wars stuff here...Problem is, will the bios recognize the new cpu...

Later

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 07/29/2004 09:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

Debatable, normally I'm a SiS fan, but that 740 chipset was garbage from the beginning.

Also, yes, Tiger Direct did say what it was, however, that's not the problem, it's the fact that, out of every company selling these embedded cpu boards, Tiger was the only one I've ever seen say what it really is.

-Adam
 07/30/2004 11:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

PCChips now has the speed ratings posted at the USA website...maybe they got a bit of a spanking from AMD's legal dept....Who knows?

For the most part they have the VIA KM266 & VIA KM266Pro chipset...

Later

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 07/30/2004 08:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CaptainNewbie
Member

Posts: 28
Joined: 05/17/2004

QUOTE (MD Willington @ Jul 30 2004, 07:23 AM) PCChips now has the speed ratings posted at the USA website...maybe they got a bit of a spanking from AMD's legal dept....Who knows?

For the most part they have the VIA KM266 & VIA KM266Pro chipset...

Later

MD
*shrug*

This sort of scam is why AMD started locking down processor frequency multipliers. I say you go beat the stuffing out of the guy who sold you that chip

-------------------------
Captain Newbie - Resident Smart-Aleck
The opinions expressed herein are not necessarily those of anyone cool...except for me, of course.
The Keys to Knowledge are found in Books.
 08/05/2004 02:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aesthesia
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/05/2004

Hi.

I recently went to a local Tigerdirect store looking for something exactly like the Mercury 740CFDMx. I am building a new gateway/NAT/firewall using OpenBSD' ">http://openbsd.org, so speed is not a huge concern. I have the RAM, HDs, NICs, everything but the mainboard and cpu. So basically I was looking for a decent, cheap, motherboard and cpu. I saw the Mercury and since i knew nothing of them or the advertised "2200 Pro Chip" (which, for the record was advertised as a 2200 Duron, and I did not see an actual specifications sheet listing the real cpu anywhere around there) I first decided to look around for some more information on them, and after reading this thread, I am quite glad I did.

Basically my first question is, to anyone who has this board, is it reliable? Have any problems with it? I am having definite trouble finding any sort of review of it. My other question is, would it be possible to underclock the chip to the point of using only passive cooling? The machine wouldnt be used for much processing, and a quiet machine is a bigger priority. I have been looking into using a VIA C3 chip on a socket 370 motherboard, but finding a small form 370 board with on board video for a cheap price has been a real pain.

Sorry for the rambling post, and thanks in advance for replies.
 08/05/2004 05:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

aesthesia,

Another AMD Forum member is attempting to do much the same thing with her 850 Duron Morgan Mobile / ECS K7SOM+ 7.5c (µATX, on-board vid, Duron 850, sound, LAN)
Her name is Angelica, and you can read all about it in this thread...
http://forums.amd.com/index.ph...pic=...=0&#entry171654' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.ph...0548&st=0&#entry171654

As they come from the factory, most of these mobos (with the on-board chips), have very poor cooling solutions.
This CAN be changed, and improved, but it is sometimes a pain to do.

For anybody considering any mobo that has a 'Pro' rating for the processor in the advertisement... forget it!
All of the 'C' or 'Pro' version mobos, from several different manufacturers, have various, old, obsolete Durons, Palominos, or T-bred 'A's soldered directly to the mobo.

And they all use a very special "Pro BIOS" which lies to you on the very first POST screen...
Here is what we currently know about the 'processor naming conventions' that ONLY Amptron, ECS, Kobian, Mercury, and PCChips uses, and ONLY for these 'Pro' BIOSs

Duron 750 -----> Pro1000+
Duron 800 -----> Pro1100+
Duron 850 -----> Pro1200+
Duron 900 -----> Pro1300+
Duron 950 -----> Pro1400+
Duron 1000 ----> Pro1500+
Duron 850 -----> Pro1500+ (Angelica's 850 Morgan Mobile on K7SOM+ v7.5C)
Duron 1100 ----> Pro1600+ (Duron 1200 also reported)
Duron 1200 ----> Pro1800+
Duron 1300 ----> Pro2000+
Palomino 950 --> Pro2000+ (Flo's Mobile Palomino)
Athlon 1.2 ------> Pro2200+ (Amptron K7- 810GLM2+)
Duron 1400 ----> Pro2300+
Duron 1600 ----> Pro2500+
Tbred 1.2M ----> Pro2600+ (Kelly's PCChips M825LU)
Pally 1500+ ----> Pro2700+
Duron 1800 ----> Pro2800+
Pally 1800+ ----> Pro2900+
TbredA 1.7M --> Pro3000+ (wildbill's PCChips M825LU V 7.2C)
Unknn 2000 ----> Pro3100+A (on Ginny's PCChips M825LU)
Unknn 2000 ----> A3100+ (Amptron K7- 825GLM31+ v7.2C )
Duron 1800 ----> Pro3600+ (on MERCURY Model KOB KM266FDMx-L )

If you flash one of these 'C' or 'Pro' version mobos mobos with the corresponding BIOS for the 'regular' board (same model, but without a 'C' in the suffix), then the first BIOS screen will 'tell the truth' about what CPU is actually installed.

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 08/05/2004 05:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

How about the Amptron boards? they're rebadged PCChips K7- 825GLM31+ v7.2C (Athlon XP 2000+) Called an "A3100+". The Amptron "A2200+" is a rebadged K7- 810GLM2+ (Athlon 1.2G)

DOH

MD



-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 08/05/2004 07:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

Hi Matt,

I've edited my post above yours, and added your new info into the list.
Please check that I've got it correct, okay?

Do you have any further details as to which "Athlon XP 2000+" or which "Athlon 1.2G" is being used... i.e. a 'Mobile' Athlon 1.2G ???

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 08/05/2004 07:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JHawk56
Elite

Posts: 1084
Joined: 07/27/2004

QUOTE (MD Willington @ Aug 5 2004, 04:34 PM) How about the Amptron boards? they're rebadged PCChips K7- 825GLM31+ v7.2C (Athlon XP 2000+) Called an "A3100+". The Amptron "A2200+" is a rebadged K7- 810GLM2+ (Athlon 1.2G)
You're right, MD. My Amptron K7-810DLM4 v. 5.2C is a PCCHIPS M810DLU, with Duron 850 "Pro1400+."

John

-------------------------
My ECS/PCCHIPS/Amptron PCs<br>ASRock K7VM2
 08/05/2004 08:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JHawk56
Elite

Posts: 1084
Joined: 07/27/2004

I have to give my vendor credit. They described the motherboard as having an embedded Duron 850. I'm not sure they even mentioned the "Pro" garbage. But they only sell to resellers and white-box builders, so they'd have gotten a ton of them back if they'd misled anyone.

I shudder to think what some of the white-box builders may have done with them, though.

Mine had been RMA'd previously, probably by someone that couldn't install XP without it overheating. I paid US$46 (over a year ago), put on an old Tornado II, and use it every day. It is what it is, but it's stable as can be.

John

-------------------------
My ECS/PCCHIPS/Amptron PCs<br>ASRock K7VM2
 08/05/2004 08:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

-Milt-

The website I saw was not specific on the details of the cpu's other than what I posted...but it is known that Amptron sources from PCChips....

Sorry...

A3100+ http://www.amptron.com/html/MB-K7-825GLM31+.html' ">http://www.amptron.com/html/MB-K7-825GLM31+.html

A2200+ http://www.pcimicro.com/.sc/ms...7412...10GLM2%2B%20%20' ">http://www.pcimicro.com/.sc/ms...K7-%20810GLM2%2B%20%20

JHawk56

Good to hear that your vendor is honest about what he is selling, their are tons of "snakes" on ebay selling these to ignorant buyers...

Later

Matt

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 08/14/2004 06:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
papalexo
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/14/2004

hi everyone,

I was very glad to read this forum before rushing to buy the "offer":

http://www.pc-euro.com/produit.php?PFID=11#17' ">http://www.pc-euro.com/produit.php?PFID=11#17

MB PCchips M825 PRO 3200+ intégré , VGA / USB 2.0
KM266/8235 chipset
-AMD Athlon CPU onboard
-333 MHz
-1AGP 4X / 2PCI / 1CNR slot
-Micro ATX Form Factor

Anyone knows with what the 3200+ Pro compares? Is is like a 2GHz XP?


thanks,
George


 08/14/2004 07:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

Hi George,

Here's a bit of an update to the list on the previous page, that should help a bit...

Tbred 1.2M ---> Pro2600+ (Kelly's PCChips M825LU)
Pally 1500+ ---> Pro2700+
Duron 1800 ---> Pro2800+
Pally 1800+ ---> Pro2900+
TbredA 1.7M --> Pro3000+ (wildbill's PCChips M825LU V 7.2C)
Unknn 2000 ---> Pro3100+A (on Ginny's PCChips M825LU)
Unknn 2000 ---> Pro3100+A (on Amptron K7- 825GLM31+ v7.2C )
Duron 1800 ---> Pro3600+ (on MERCURY Model KOB KM266FDMx-L )

So a 'Pro3200+' can apparently be damm near anything you like, according to these new 'rules'!

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 08/16/2004 01:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Milt, just got a pm from a guy with a "FOXCONN" board sporting a "3000 Pro"..turns out it's a 1500 or so. I asked him to post in the forums regarding it, so keep an eye out...

PPChips sometimes OEMs for Abit and others so amybe they are doing it for Foxconn too...lol, getting crazy...

MD

PS

Cleaned house at the demo derby...
http://photobucket.com/albums/...illi...ston%208-14-04/' ">http://photobucket.com/albums/...76/Lewiston%208-14-04/

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 08/18/2004 03:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

Matt,

Have you seen anything more of this guy with the "FOXCONN" board sporting a "3000 Pro"... I've been watching, but maybe I missed him.

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 08/18/2004 05:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

No he bugged out when I asked him to post in the forum...
Oh well?

I did some web searching and couldn't find anything on it...foxconn usually makes cables or connectors, they make the PC connectors for most mainboards, may the guy that PM'd me mistakenly identified the connector as the board manufacturer...

Sorry, but I'm really kicking myself in the pants for deleting his PM...DOH DOH DOH

Guess it's a non-issue till he gets back ???

Matt.

PS did you see my derby post at the rebs "rants & everything else"?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 08/18/2004 05:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

Matt,

If you are referring to this one, then yes!
http://photobucket.com/albums/...illi...ston%208-14-04/' ">http://photobucket.com/albums/...76/Lewiston%208-14-04/

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 08/18/2004 06:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JHawk56
Elite

Posts: 1084
Joined: 07/27/2004

In have also seen Foxconn cases and there was a very popular CPU fan with that name.

If you looked inside my boss's Compaq, you might think it was a Foxconn. The label on the fan is the most notable marking. But then, the "Pro" boards say "ProXXXX+" on the fans.

-------------------------
My ECS/PCCHIPS/Amptron PCs<br>ASRock K7VM2
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information