AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: XP-M 2500+
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/20/2004 06:13 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/23/2004 06:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
duckwaffle
Member

Posts: 159
Joined: 12/26/2003

Wow, I need a fan like yours!

-------------------------
New System:
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe | NVIDIA® NFORCE2 Ultra 400 + MCP-T Chipset | AMD AthlonXP 3200+ 400mhz FSB Barton Core CPU (2.2 Ghz) | Kingston PC3200 DDR RAM 512MB x 2 | 80 GB Seagate HD | GeForce 4 Ti 4200 128MB
 03/23/2004 07:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aubrey
Senior Member

Posts: 3663
Joined: 12/03/2003

http://www.newegg.com/app/View...esc....-108-020&depa=1' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/View...tion=35-108-020&depa=1
Duckwaffle there is a link to the cooler I believe it cools almost as good as the Zalman CNPS 7000 or the Thermaright SP97. I do believe it is the best heat sink that does not require the four mounting holes in the m/b. And you can mount as nasty a fan as you like on top of it.


-------------------------
( Quote )
Possession of a powerful computer is no substitute for a working brain.
A working brain is no substitute for possession of a powerful computer.
 03/23/2004 10:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ivan Andreevich
Senior Member

Posts: 2783
Joined: 10/06/2003

Try lowering the VCORE. 2.6@1.65 and then 2.7@1.85 seems too much of a jump to me!
 03/24/2004 12:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aubrey
Senior Member

Posts: 3663
Joined: 12/03/2003

Ivan I have gone back to 2500mhz working it backup slowly to make sure its completly stable as I go. I have it worked up to 2600 mhz again and Prime 95 stable 100 % load at 46 deg C. with vcore of 1.775. My computer room is a little warm 80 deg F (3 hot computers running) Its taking more vcore this time, but I believe the room temp is about 10 degrees higher than when I was running it last time. I am going to get it back down to at least 70 deg F before I try to get 2700 mhz stable.

-------------------------
( Quote )
Possession of a powerful computer is no substitute for a working brain.
A working brain is no substitute for possession of a powerful computer.
 03/24/2004 10:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ivan Andreevich
Senior Member

Posts: 2783
Joined: 10/06/2003

Alright. Feel free to let it burn in for a while. Just keep it under load (fold) It should overclock better after a while.
 03/27/2004 02:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ivan Andreevich
Senior Member

Posts: 2783
Joined: 10/06/2003

Bring me up to speed?
 03/27/2004 03:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aubrey
Senior Member

Posts: 3663
Joined: 12/03/2003

I am still cooking it. But am going to put some ice on it this next week and go from there. It has to be colder to get stability at 2700mhz. I had to work most of the week so no playing.

-------------------------
( Quote )
Possession of a powerful computer is no substitute for a working brain.
A working brain is no substitute for possession of a powerful computer.
 04/01/2004 12:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aubrey
Senior Member

Posts: 3663
Joined: 12/03/2003

My psu did not like powering the ice everthing went well untill I set it up for 2800mhz. But on air and my vcore on the m/b pegs out at 1.9v, it will not make 2800 mhz. I have not tried any fsb other than 200. Its not temp the XP sensor has not seen over 50 yet at 1.9 vcore and 100% load. Any suggestions I am waiting for a bigger(300watts is not enough) or aux power supply. The ice was keeping the cpu several degrees below ambient temps when the psu decided to throw up ( to much load on the + 12 v rail). Ivan do you think a old psu 150 watt with 6amp on the 12v rail will power a tec ok?

-------------------------
( Quote )
Possession of a powerful computer is no substitute for a working brain.
A working brain is no substitute for possession of a powerful computer.
 04/01/2004 05:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Runner30
Senior Member

Posts: 436
Joined: 12/16/2003

Let me interrupt your conversation.
I just got me a new mobo with a new chassy.(400W+stabilizer)
The 12V rail is 12A whih scared me a lot.
I asked similar question in different forums, and most of the answers I got were "get at least 16-18A at 12V rail"


-------------------------
quote:A.M.D = All Men Desire.

System:HEC 475Watt.AMD Athlon XP-M2500 IQYHA0351MPMW.
Abit NF7v2*Sp97*NB1+delta*A-DATA DDR500
MSI 'the rock' RX9800*WD800JB
*257x10@1.83V*261x10@1.9V (CPC off)
 04/01/2004 09:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skeefoo
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 03/06/2004

Hollaz,
I'm using the same setup as Aubrey (cpu an mobo)

here is a prob I'm seeing,
bios reads cpu at 2800(fsb 200, cpu cr at 14) cpu v @ 1.575,chip vol @1.6. Only thing I've done is change fsb and cr nothing else.

what I found today when I went into control pan and sys cpu spd only reads 1.4?

does the diffrence in #s matter here and which 1 do I go by?

whats a good benchmark test?

also, I took out the #3 jumper pin n lost the darn thing could this be causing the problem?

tnx

 04/01/2004 09:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skeefoo
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 03/06/2004

O ya also when I look in sys info it says Unknown cpu type?
 04/02/2004 07:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bmorgan98
Member

Posts: 21
Joined: 11/21/2003

QUOTE (Aubrey @ Mar 21 2004, 07:51 PM) (3-21-04)I cranked it up again this evening went right to 200 X 12.5  set vcore to 1.65  its running Prime 95 at 43 deg C in a room thats at 27 deg C.

OMG OMG!!! i bought the 2500+m and if i want to get 2600mhz i need to pump the vcore up to 2.0 how do you guys manage this? is it my board?

-------------------------
Athlon 64 939 3500+ 90nm
1gb Corsair 3200xl pro
Abit AV8 3rd eye bios 19
Deskstar 250gig + samsung 160gb + 2 74 raptors in raid0
liteon 16x (1673s)
liteon 8x (832s)
Asetek waterchill full kit.
Ati 9800xt
Lian-li PC60 midi tower
Zalman 400B-APS
And the other standard stuff
 04/02/2004 07:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Runner30
Senior Member

Posts: 436
Joined: 12/16/2003

It may be your board.AN7 does not excell on extreme overclockign settings.

-------------------------
quote:A.M.D = All Men Desire.

System:HEC 475Watt.AMD Athlon XP-M2500 IQYHA0351MPMW.
Abit NF7v2*Sp97*NB1+delta*A-DATA DDR500
MSI 'the rock' RX9800*WD800JB
*257x10@1.83V*261x10@1.9V (CPC off)
 04/02/2004 09:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bmorgan98
Member

Posts: 21
Joined: 11/21/2003

QUOTE (Runner30 @ Apr 2 2004, 03:16 AM) It may be your board.AN7 does not excell on extreme overclockign settings.


i just hate that

oh well how about the asus a7n8x-e? it any good?

-------------------------
Athlon 64 939 3500+ 90nm
1gb Corsair 3200xl pro
Abit AV8 3rd eye bios 19
Deskstar 250gig + samsung 160gb + 2 74 raptors in raid0
liteon 16x (1673s)
liteon 8x (832s)
Asetek waterchill full kit.
Ati 9800xt
Lian-li PC60 midi tower
Zalman 400B-APS
And the other standard stuff
 04/07/2004 07:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aubrey
Senior Member

Posts: 3663
Joined: 12/03/2003

The Asus should handle that XP-M with outout any problems.
http://www.nforcershq.com/forum/index.php' ">http://www.nforcershq.com/forum/index.php
Check out the Asus section when you have a chance:

-------------------------
( Quote )
Possession of a powerful computer is no substitute for a working brain.
A working brain is no substitute for possession of a powerful computer.
 04/07/2004 08:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Runner30
Senior Member

Posts: 436
Joined: 12/16/2003

NF7-S with D23-SUBZERO BIOS and Volt-mod will take you to new neights.

AN7 is a great overall board, lots of features, you can sell it and get the NF7-S plus a good HSF for the money.

But imho it's not worth getting extra 100Mhz.

-------------------------
quote:A.M.D = All Men Desire.

System:HEC 475Watt.AMD Athlon XP-M2500 IQYHA0351MPMW.
Abit NF7v2*Sp97*NB1+delta*A-DATA DDR500
MSI 'the rock' RX9800*WD800JB
*257x10@1.83V*261x10@1.9V (CPC off)
 04/28/2004 11:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pro Kid
Senior Member

Posts: 5241
Joined: 10/08/2003

QUOTE (Runner30 @ Apr 7 2004, 07:04 PM) NF7-S with D23-SUBZERO BIOS and Volt-mod will take you to new neights.

AN7 is a great overall board, lots of features, you can sell it and get the NF7-S plus a good HSF for the money.

But imho it's not worth getting extra 100Mhz.
Indeed, I wanted to go and get an NF7-S as well. But I got a good mobo now and it just wouldn't be worth the time for the little results I would of gotten.

-------------------------
Life is hard you know this $hit gets taxin,
Thats why when ya find me Ima be relaxin...
 04/29/2004 05:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Runner30
Senior Member

Posts: 436
Joined: 12/16/2003

It may also be your psu.
A stable psu is the key for stable overclock.
"Highly poverclocked CPU is vulnerable for any slight pertrubation."
Read more ( a lot more) about it here.
LINK' ">http://www.ocforums.com/showth...7088&highlight=burn+in

-------------------------
quote:A.M.D = All Men Desire.

System:HEC 475Watt.AMD Athlon XP-M2500 IQYHA0351MPMW.
Abit NF7v2*Sp97*NB1+delta*A-DATA DDR500
MSI 'the rock' RX9800*WD800JB
*257x10@1.83V*261x10@1.9V (CPC off)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information