AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: updating my CPU
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/22/2004 09:43 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/22/2004 09:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
0o_what_the_o0
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 02/22/2004

hi i have a duron socket A L7VMM2 motherboard i have a 1.2 mhz processor i would like to go higher i am told athlon XP2200 will go in it if any of you know anout this can you get back to me plz concered comp user by the way i built this comp from scatch i will give you some more info on my comp if that helps you at all g-force440 MX 128 mb ram , 512 ram card , 1.2 processor mmmmmmm....amything else ya need to know i need and want to go higher processor as i am on ADSL and play online games thank you JASon

-------------------------
PEACE OUT
Jason
specs:
MD: A7V 266-E, bois rev:1011
XP2200+ at 1813mhz
512 333 ram
G-force4 mx440 128mb ram
Asus burner
liteon CD, DVD rom
17" montior
:D:D:D:D:D
 02/22/2004 11:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Welcome to the forum.

If you go to this link ECSUSA' ">http://www.ecsusa.com/downloads/l7vmm2.html you can get the latest bios for your motherboard, it will let you run an AXP2600+, 266 version cpu.

Hope that helps

Later

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 02/23/2004 12:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aubrey
Senior Member

Posts: 3663
Joined: 12/03/2003

You need to visit your m/b mfg inet site and see what processors the m/b supports and what bios revision is necessary.

-------------------------
( Quote )
Possession of a powerful computer is no substitute for a working brain.
A working brain is no substitute for possession of a powerful computer.
 02/23/2004 01:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hawke
Member

Posts: 133
Joined: 12/21/2003

Hello,

What motherboard revision do you have? ECS lists 3 versions of L7VMM2. And what BIOS version?
 02/23/2004 01:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LVSeminole
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 9124
Joined: 01/06/2004

If your Mobo supports a 2200+ XP CPU, then get it, from a 1.2 duron, that will be a nice improvement. And your graphics card....Heres my suggestions for budget and midrange cards. If you are an Nvidia guy, try the 5600 or the 5600 ultra. They are about $125 and lower I think and will be a nice step up in your gaming. It isnt a good Direct X 9 card, but with Nvidias drivers, you wont notice the slowdown much I dont think. For midrange...Hands down the 5700 ultra. Thats probably the best bang for your buck card NVidia has. Its a pretty good DX9 card, and will cut through any DX8.1 game like swiss cheese. For the ATI side, budget....9600 non/pro. Thats "high-end budget', but will blow the pants off of the 5600 ultra. Its also a great DX9 card. For the midrange...9600XT. About $165, and you get a free Half Life 2 coupon. It also beats the 5700 ultra in 9/10 tests. Easily. And costs less in almost every case. But theres some suggestions....Hope it helps.

LVS

-------------------------
- AMD FX 8120
- ATI/AMD HD 7970
- Biostar TA990FXE
- 16 GB's of some flashy Crucial RAM
- Buncha HDDs sucking up way too much power
- Win7 Ultimate x64/Ubuntu x64
-A lot of other crap that I can't remember.
- Wurd?
 02/23/2004 01:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
0o_what_the_o0
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 02/22/2004

mmmmmmm...........ok next question where do i get the bois info in the motherboard it self or windows i am running XP pro
i was just told the my MD will run a Xp2600+ processor mmmmmm.......good news now all i have to is find the bois info that i need

-------------------------
PEACE OUT
Jason
specs:
MD: A7V 266-E, bois rev:1011
XP2200+ at 1813mhz
512 333 ram
G-force4 mx440 128mb ram
Asus burner
liteon CD, DVD rom
17" montior
:D:D:D:D:D
 02/23/2004 02:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hawke
Member

Posts: 133
Joined: 12/21/2003

Hello,

Download, install and run Aida32 or Belarc Advisor. You can find the information you need when you click on the Motherboard and BIOS icons.

But if you want, you can open up the case and look for revision number written on the board itself. Alternatively, the BIOS version can be read as a string of alphanumeric characters (called a bios string) when the PC boots up. Look for the set of numbers on the lower end of the monitor. You will need to hit the Pause key of the keyboard to get a good look at it. Note that you may not be able to see this string upon boot if you start your monitor cold because by the time monitor heats up and shows, boot time will be over. You'll have to restart again after booting into windows.

Get the numbers and post back here
 02/23/2004 04:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

Threads merged.
Please do not double-post or post the same question in multiple Forums/sections.
As stated in our Rules and Guidelines' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?act=boardrules:
QUOTE NO DUPLICATE OR REPEAT POSTS. If no-one answers your question or responds to your post, please "bump" it rather than posting it again. Posting the same question over and over or in every forum will just annoy people and will not get answers.

POST IN THE APPROPRIATE FORUM. Please read each forum description before posting to ensure you are posting in the correct forum. Off topic posts will be moved to the correct forum.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 02/23/2004 11:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aubrey
Senior Member

Posts: 3663
Joined: 12/03/2003

Oo read the post MD gave you a link to the m/b site and the bios download in the first post ( the green letters.)

-------------------------
( Quote )
Possession of a powerful computer is no substitute for a working brain.
A working brain is no substitute for possession of a powerful computer.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information