AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Help Identifying Processor
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/30/2004 04:55 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/30/2004 04:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hardbop200
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/30/2004

Hello,

I was recently given a MSI KT4 Ultra motherboard and an Athlon processor. The processor is reported by Linux to be an "Athlon XP 1150 Mhz". Currently I have my mobo set to auto-detect all system bus speeds, which defaults to 100 Mhz. I keep thinking that this processor might be capable of doing more, but I'm not well-versed enough in processors to know what to do. (One more thing - my RAM is accurately reported to be running at 300 Mhz.) Here are my questions:

1. Can you identify what kind of processor I have?
2. My mobo can support FSB speeds up to 233 Mhz...for my processor, what should I have this set at?
3. I'm also assuming I will need to know the default multiplier. What would that be?

Thanks to all for any help you can give.

Josh
 03/30/2004 07:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hardbop200
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/30/2004

Boy, it sure does help to RTFM

I've found a number of sources of information for decoding the cryptic code on the processor itself in the forums today, so I guess I'm headed home to pull the heatsink off and give it a look-see.

Again, sorry about wasting bandwidth for something that's already been addressed!



Thanks,

Josh
 03/31/2004 01:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE 1. Can you identify what kind of processor I have?
It's either an Athlon XP 2000+ or an Athlon XP 2600+.
You're currently running at 1.15GHz with a 100MHz FSB, so your multiplier is x11.5.
Both the AXP 2000+ and 2600+ have a x11.5 multiplier - however, the 2000+ has a 133MHz FSB whereas the 2600+ model has a 166MHz FSB.
QUOTE 2. My mobo can support FSB speeds up to 233 Mhz...for my processor, what should I have this set at?
There are two ways to identify your CPU:
The first and most accurate way is to find out your CPU's OPN(Ordering Part Number) - most likely, you will have to remove your heatsink for that.
Once you have the OPN, you can use this' ">http://www.amd.com/gb-uk/asset...cification_Rev_ENG.pdf to identify your processor.

The second way to identify your CPU is based on the fact that an Athlon XP 2600+ that has a x11.5 multiplier can only be a model 10('Barton' - unlike the previous Athlon XP models(model 6/8), model 10 has 512KB L2-cache.
So you could run a CPUID-utility like CPU-Z' ">http://www.cpuid.com, for example, to find out what size your processors' L2-cache is.
If it is 512KB, you will need to set your FSB to 166MHz, otherwise, set it to 133MHz
QUOTE 3. I'm also assuming I will need to know the default multiplier. What would that be?
Unless you manually changed it, your default multi should be x11.5.
Make sure you have your multiplier('ratio' set to 'auto' or 'default' in BIOS.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information